We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but over-hyped”

The Hardware Societe
Ranked #11 of 4,039 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but over-hyped”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went here due to the overwhelming number of recommendations that I kept getting from friends for The Hardware Societe - didn't meet my high expectations.

Food was good but not the level of amazing-ness I was lead to expect from the experience of dining here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceciburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    357
    86
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some of the best food I have ever had!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I went to this restaurant for brunch with three friends, as it had been recommended on tripadvisor. We were told the wait would be around 35-40 minutes, but it was in fact only 15 minutes. The decor inside is lovely and the atmosphere is great. Food arrived promptly but drinks did arrive a little after the food. Every one of us said the food was exquisite, and we paid around $22 each, which was great value for the quality of the food. Would love to go here again for a different meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words can't describe how much I love this place”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

MOST AWESOME BRUNCH EVER.

Had a croque madame and cafe mocha at Hardware Societe and have been craving for it ever since (says how delicous the food is). Price was alright, not too expensive by Melbourne standards.

Do expect a wait though as the queues were really long when I got there at 1030am (trust me its worth it). Thankfully I was alone so was seated pretty quickly.

I will definitely go back again when I visit Melbourne!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Got there at the right time and didn't have to wait for a table. Amazing Spanish breakfast - kept us filled for the day. Best hot chocolate I have ever had. Cozy place with long tables and small tables outside - worth looking for down the alleyway

Helpful?
Thank Cjbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Tasty spanish”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We found the restaurant on Tripadvisor because it got many great reviews and it was right, the restaurant was easy to find. It is located near our hotel. We had our food with local Spanish food. The food was amazing and delicious. The atmosphere were nice. it was not too expensive, would be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoongling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hardware Societe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Hardware Societe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing