We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, noisy location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home at The Mansion
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good facilities, noisy location.”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I came here after staying at another hostel in Melbourne, and I preferred the previous place. This hostel has good facilities however. Nice places to sit around and relax with a good book or watch dvds on a nice TV. The dorm rooms were fine, no issues there. Kitchen good size and nice space to eat your food. Don't leave alcohol in the fridges though, ours went walkabout after just 3 hours of being in there!!

I didn't like where it was situated. It claims to be in Fitzroy, but it's a good 20 minute walk down to the heart of everything on Brunswick Street, so for me it was not a walk I liked doing on my own at night. The hostel is situated on Victoria Parade, a very busy main road, so there is a lot of traffic noise all hours of the day. Plus, there is a common area outside which is fab for socialising, but any times when you do need an early night to get up for an early flight etc, you will have a very disturbed sleep. You can hear EVERYTHING that goes on outside downstairs.

The staff are pleasant and very friendly and helpful. In terms of hostels, it is certainly better than some, but it was not my favourite.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    24
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
16
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The location is excellent, near melbourne CBD, the staff is super helpful.

But there was too much noise from other hostel resident & outside traffic. i stayed there for one 8 nights, i could never have a complete nice sleep. most other residents slept late and still making terrible noise from the common area at 2am

All hostel window is facing Victoria Parade, a main road for traffic coming to downtown from east. lots of car flew by at midnight.
no free wifi. kitchen and common area is small

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The first reason I picked this Hostel to stay during my trip is all about Location. The hostel is in the mid of city, you can either walk to Queen Victoria Market , Carlton Gardens or Fitzroy Gardens. The room rate is quite reasonable compare to the room and facilities, plus the service is really great. Staffs are very friendly and helpful , they're willing to give you any insight detail about your trip. If I have chance to come back to Melbourne, I'd decide to stay in this hostel again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soithanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The building itself is beautiful! Just inside it could use a bit of updating/renovation. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The showers and toilets are perfectly clean, as is the kitchen. The location is very good, it's a nice neigbourhood and you can walk to the center (about 20 minutes). There were not many common rooms, and the ones that are there are very small. That's why this place in my opinion lacks a bit of social interaction. Worst thing was the dorm! I stayed in a 7 bed dorm that was definately not big enough for 7 beds! It had the size of a 4 bed dorm! It was one big mess, probably because it was just too small to store 7 backpacks and daypacks in a normal way. The lockers were very small.. The first night I didn't have a pillow (probably someone else had taken it, but they were all asleep when I came in late in the evening). The dorm was quie hot and dampy as well. The window could be opened I guess, but then you had to step on one of the beds (so actually the person that sleeps on that bed should open the window, which he/she didn't do)..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I went to Melbourne last March with my 2 friends and we booked 3 beds for 3 nights in this place. Whenever I write my reviews, I usually say the pros & cons so here it goes:

Pros:
1. The staff are so incredibly helpful. I sent them a lot of emails and they never got tired of answering every single question I had. I even sent them last minute request to leave our luggage overnight because we were going for a 2-day tour. They were so kind to accommodate the request with no extra charges.

2. The place is very close to the tram stations. There's literally a station just across the road. If you wanna take cab, you can just hail one right outside of the place.

3. The place itself is clean. What I like the most is their bathroom. It looks "cozy" for a backpacker place. :)


Cons:
1. The room that we booked was a 5-bed dorm. The room configuration had 2 bunk beds and 1 single bed. Surprisingly, there was only 1 stand fan in the room! It was summer in Melbourne when we came so you can imagine how hot it is, even at night. I can barely sleep because of this.

2. Since the place is along the road, you can hear the cars from the road outside. There was one night where I was awaken due the noise of a fire truck.

3. Our room was located in the 3rd floor, so we need to "drag" our heavy luggage up & down the stairs... though the staff were so nice to offer assistance.

4. The lockers on the room where we stayed were a bit shabby. It may need to be replaced.

5. I find the place clean, but there were mosquitoes at night.

6. They're a bit disorganized when it comes to the room 'coz they don't give you any number to say that "this is your bed", though the beds have numbers on it. My two friends had to literally transfer each night 'coz whenever there's a new guest, they just take any bed that they want although it's so obvious that someone's already occupying it.

I understand that Melbourne is not usually hot so I can't blame them for having just 1 fan. Maybe they can add some more fans during summer. :)

Anyhow, we enjoyed our stay in Melbourne and thanks to the staff here for being so friendly and helpful. You guys are the reason why this backpacker place stays #1 in TripAdvisor! You guys rock!

Room Tip: Choose a room opposite of the roadside for lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cariephoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Really impressed. Stayed there for 5 nights in March. The staff are really great, very friendly and are always ready to help to matter what the problem. Matias at the front desk even helped me break the lock off my suitcase after I locked myself out of it, thanks mate! Staff are very knowledgeable about the area and will help you plan your trips with ease.

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was very spacious, with a lovely high ceiling and vintage windows. The room was very clean, linen excellent and beds good quality. The floor is very creaky though, so be careful when getting back from a night out at 2am and try not to wake your roomies! When I saw there was no A/C I wasn't too happy, but the large windows and spacious room made sure it wasn't too warm in there. Fans were provided also, just in case.

Security isn't the tightest, but in a good way. The hostel is small enough to be very cosy and staff seem to know who's there. I prefer swipe card access, but only because a key is easier to lose. Easy access to the front door after 11pm using your room key.

Bathrooms were very clean and near all rooms. Plenty of laundry facilities available.

Location is good, very close to the tram and easy walking distance to the CBD. The VHA shuttle bus to-and-from the airport is very cheap at $15 and is well worth it.

Definitely staying here again next time I'm in Melbourne. Paid $34/night, very reasonable for the space and facilities available. And they even let you bring your own alcohol!

Room Tip: Very quiet on the first floor, no problem sleeping at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElTigreDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Ill be honest, when I first walked into my room I considered going back to reception,cancelling my reservation and trying some place else. I am SO glad I didn't,, this hostel is clean (I actually saw someone cleaning the baseboards on their HANDS and KNEES). Staff is super friendly and it's in an AWESOME location. One of my best hostel experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
536 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#10 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#29 of 136 in Melbourne
410 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home at The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home at The Mansion

Property: Home at The Mansion
Address: 80 Victoria Pde, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NOW FREE WI-FI** Voted Most Popular Hostel in Melbourne - 2012, 2013, 2014 & nominated for Best Medium Size Hostel in the world! 'Located within a grand, heritage building, this is one of Melbourne's few hostels with genuine character” says the Lonely Planet. Situated right next to Brunswick St, the free city circle tram-line, Carlton Gardens and just minutes from China Town, Federation Square and the MCG you won't find a better spot! We pride ourselves on being Melbourne's friendliest hostel and with just 16 rooms and 94 beds we offer a more personal experience. If you are a lone traveller our brand new cafe bar Victoria's Secret is the perfect place to meet fellow travellers. This is not a normal hostel, this is The Mansion Here’s what we’ve got... -free Wi-Fi in all rooms and communal areas -free tea & coffee -amazing outdoor cafe/bar with happy hour at all times for guests -free sausage tuesdays -free wine and cheese Wednesdays -killer darts mondays (the world’s lowest standard of darts) -pristine bathrooms (mostly individual) cleaned 3 times a day! -alfresco themed communal kitchen & dining area all equipment provided! -playstation chill-out area with games -dvd area with over 100 dvds available -large sunny courtyard -guest laundry -free luggage storage -free book exchange -24 hour reception -jobs board for those looking for work most importantly…..the BEST staff in melbourne!!!!!! The rooms….. 16 spacious rooms, with high ceilings, stain glass windows and loads of natural light. We have 12, 7, 6, 5, 4 bed dorms and also 2 Double Private rooms. Each room features: • security lockers for every guest • flatscreen television • spotlessly cleaned twice daily • thick comfy mattresses with all linen provided • heaters and fans Please note that we strictly do not accept guests under the age of 18 unless agreed with hostel management in advance. All guests must provide photo ID upon check in. Management reserves the right to refuse entry upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Home at The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing