We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Comfortable Hostel With Old School Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home at The Mansion
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very nice hostel. Well located. Short walk to the heart of Melbourne. Convenient shuttle services to the airport. The rooms were good. Large, bright, airy dorms. LOTS of clean, hot showers and toilets. A wide mix of interesting, friendly guests. Nothing special, but could not find a thing wrong. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you're looking for a backpackers which is out of the hub of the city, this is the one. By Melbourne standards this hostel is pretty reasonable in price and has more quirks than other backpackers in the city which often are quite sterile. There are quirky nooks inside where you can chill out and read or a big lounge where you can easily socialise. The kitchen is pretty average. Everything is clean, although the double rooms are pretty small so don't have any big expectations. Everyone was very helpful. Would consider this again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I wasn't expecting a lot from this hostel but I was very impressed. The room was clean, as were the bathrooms and linen.

The reception staff were super friendly and always made a point to say good morning or hello.

Other guests were friendly too but they all seemed to be long term guests and made a lot of noise at night - one night it continued until well after 4am.

The location was really good - only a 15 minute walk to Federation Square and even closer to Melbourne Central.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I came here after staying at another hostel in Melbourne, and I preferred the previous place. This hostel has good facilities however. Nice places to sit around and relax with a good book or watch dvds on a nice TV. The dorm rooms were fine, no issues there. Kitchen good size and nice space to eat your food. Don't leave alcohol in the fridges though, ours went walkabout after just 3 hours of being in there!!

I didn't like where it was situated. It claims to be in Fitzroy, but it's a good 20 minute walk down to the heart of everything on Brunswick Street, so for me it was not a walk I liked doing on my own at night. The hostel is situated on Victoria Parade, a very busy main road, so there is a lot of traffic noise all hours of the day. Plus, there is a common area outside which is fab for socialising, but any times when you do need an early night to get up for an early flight etc, you will have a very disturbed sleep. You can hear EVERYTHING that goes on outside downstairs.

The staff are pleasant and very friendly and helpful. In terms of hostels, it is certainly better than some, but it was not my favourite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgal187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The location is excellent, near melbourne CBD, the staff is super helpful.

But there was too much noise from other hostel resident & outside traffic. i stayed there for one 8 nights, i could never have a complete nice sleep. most other residents slept late and still making terrible noise from the common area at 2am

All hostel window is facing Victoria Parade, a main road for traffic coming to downtown from east. lots of car flew by at midnight.
no free wifi. kitchen and common area is small

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The first reason I picked this Hostel to stay during my trip is all about Location. The hostel is in the mid of city, you can either walk to Queen Victoria Market , Carlton Gardens or Fitzroy Gardens. The room rate is quite reasonable compare to the room and facilities, plus the service is really great. Staffs are very friendly and helpful , they're willing to give you any insight detail about your trip. If I have chance to come back to Melbourne, I'd decide to stay in this hostel again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soithanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The building itself is beautiful! Just inside it could use a bit of updating/renovation. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The showers and toilets are perfectly clean, as is the kitchen. The location is very good, it's a nice neigbourhood and you can walk to the center (about 20 minutes). There were not many common rooms, and the ones that are there are very small. That's why this place in my opinion lacks a bit of social interaction. Worst thing was the dorm! I stayed in a 7 bed dorm that was definately not big enough for 7 beds! It had the size of a 4 bed dorm! It was one big mess, probably because it was just too small to store 7 backpacks and daypacks in a normal way. The lockers were very small.. The first night I didn't have a pillow (probably someone else had taken it, but they were all asleep when I came in late in the evening). The dorm was quie hot and dampy as well. The window could be opened I guess, but then you had to step on one of the beds (so actually the person that sleeps on that bed should open the window, which he/she didn't do)..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 162 in Melbourne
382 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#12 of 147 in Melbourne
808 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 147 in Melbourne
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 147 in Melbourne
426 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 147 in Melbourne
421 reviews
North Melbourne
Melbourne Metro YHA
Melbourne Metro YHA
#56 of 147 in Melbourne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home at The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home at The Mansion

Address: 80 Victoria Pde, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £19 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NOW FREE WI-FI** Voted Most Popular Hostel in Melbourne - 2012, 2013, 2014 & nominated for Best Medium Size Hostel in the world! 'Located within a grand, heritage building, this is one of Melbourne's few hostels with genuine character” says the Lonely Planet. Situated right next to Brunswick St, the free city circle tram-line, Carlton Gardens and just minutes from China Town, Federation Square and the MCG you won't find a better spot! We pride ourselves on being Melbourne's friendliest hostel and with just 16 rooms and 94 beds we offer a more personal experience. If you are a lone traveller our brand new cafe bar Victoria's Secret is the perfect place to meet fellow travellers. This is not a normal hostel, this is The Mansion Here’s what we’ve got... -free Wi-Fi in all rooms and communal areas -free tea & coffee -amazing outdoor cafe/bar with happy hour at all times for guests -free sausage tuesdays -free wine and cheese Wednesdays -killer darts mondays (the world’s lowest standard of darts) -pristine bathrooms (mostly individual) cleaned 3 times a day! -alfresco themed communal kitchen & dining area all equipment provided! -playstation chill-out area with games -dvd area with over 100 dvds available -large sunny courtyard -guest laundry -free luggage storage -free book exchange -24 hour reception -jobs board for those looking for work most importantly…..the BEST staff in melbourne!!!!!! The rooms….. 16 spacious rooms, with high ceilings, stain glass windows and loads of natural light. We have 12, 7, 6, 5, 4 bed dorms and also 2 Double Private rooms. Each room features: • security lockers for every guest • flatscreen television • spotlessly cleaned twice daily • thick comfy mattresses with all linen provided • heaters and fans Please note that we strictly do not accept guests under the age of 18 unless agreed with hostel management in advance. All guests must provide photo ID upon check in. Management reserves the right to refuse entry upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Home at The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing