We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange... in a good way!”

Secret Recipe Melbourne Central
Ranked #3,196 of 4,062 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Asian
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
814 reviews
495 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Strange... in a good way!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A rather odd fusion of European and Asian specialties, mixed with a Viennese coffee shop and American Hamburger joint. Sounds like it won't work but surprisingly, it does! You wouldn't describe the flavours as 'authentic' but they are certainly tasty.
It's a rather 'hip' environment and the service is both efficient and friendly. All in all a good spot for an inexpensive coffee and cake or a satisfying (and rather filling) lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this one”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is conveniently located within the Melbourne central shopping centre. Its a nice cozy corner with comfortable seating. We ordered a Spaghetti bolognese and Black pepper chicken. Both arrived fairly quickly and tasted amazing. Finished off with a piece of Black forest gateau cake from their bakery which was so yummy, it was heaven with every spoonful. They also have a versatile menu of asian and some seafood as well as burger and steak. For fellow travelers looking for Halal food, this outlet of theirs is 100% Halal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuraSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the 'facon'!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

The service was friendly and efficient and I was able to recharge my laptop while I was eating too (they have many power points available obviously catering to the students that frequent the area).

Spaghetti bolognese was sooo yummy and as they seem to uphold a no pork products ethic I was really interested in trying the beef 'bacon' on my friends burger and I must say it was awesome!

Very decent prices too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blogdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Amazing food with alot of variates, Asian, Chicken, Pasta, Fish, soups and starters. The chicken parmigiana is amazing. The grilled black pepper chicken is good also. The catch of the day fish and the pan-grilled fish are great. The pan-grilled fish is better with a mash potato under the fish, nice taste.
After that you finish with a great cake. They have more than 10 different cakes and they are FRESH and tasty.
The kids menu also is nice for the little once.

The size of the food is very good ans sometimes large and more than enough. Good value for money.

The staff are good and the service is fast.

Over all is one of the best in Melbourne specially in CBD and they have 6 branches in Melbourne. I really recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hietham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
847 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Awesome Asian classics and you can finish with some super cakes.”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We saw the advertisement while visiting Melbourne in one of the weekly publications. This place was inside a shopping center, hard to find at first. It sure was worth the effort though.

We ordered the penang fried kuay teow -- flat rice noodles wok fried with servings of seafood, fish cake, seasonal vegetables, bean sprouts and spring onions, served with Malaysian sambal paste. Also the curry seafood laksa with home-made curry gravy with seafood and noodles. Both were delicious.

Finished the dinner off with chocolate indulgence -- creamy and rich coverture chocolate and white choclate filling, absolutely a luscious, luxurious, sinfully rich chocolate lover's dream. What a way to cap the awesome dinner! Only wish we had more room to have another slice of cake.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secret Recipe Melbourne Central also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Secret Recipe Melbourne Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing