We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day spent!”

Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.26*
and up
Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour
More Info
US$121.71*
and up
Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Gold Mining Town Day Trip From Melbourne
More Info
US$73.95*
and up
Half-Day Melbourne City Tour Including Yarra River Cruise From Melbourne
Ranked #37 of 269 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours is Melbourne's premium sightseeing operator offering a comprehensive range of half and full day tours to the regions best sights and attractions. We offer 24 hour reservations via phone, email and our website. Gray Line Melbourne offers premium coach travel with free Wi-Fi included on all tours. We are the local expert offering unique tour inclusions as standard that others don't. Join us to experience the difference and see the best that Melbourne and Victoria have to offer!
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great tour had! Bus driver Geoff was very interesting and welcoming but didn't go over the top and talk to much! He was very organised and time schedule was just right! Would highly reccomend this to anyone wanting a civilised fun day out!

1  Thank rhearst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 of 5 star review rhearst01! Geoff will be very pleased to receive your compliment 'quality commentary without talking too much'! Please join us next time you're in Melbourne. Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 646 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a wonderful tour, was picked up at our hotel on time. Driver was friendly and informative about the area. Bus was comfortable double decker with toilet on board. The great ocean road is really beautiful and even in winter and small shower in the afternoon we had a wonderful time, had plenty of time to do all the lookouts and got some beautiful photos. Highly recommend this tour to others.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Tania M. Thank you very much for your 5 of 5 star review and your high recommendation! It sounds like you had a really great day. We hope you travel with Gray Line next time you are in Melbourne. Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The trip was awesome, driver David was awesome instruction was clear and he was a very good guide and kind, very professional, been in Sydney, Perth and Melbourne but being with GrayLine was the best. Citadines Hotel recommended us on GrayLine. We just fell in love with the snow, driving to mt Buller is so good

1  Thank Manjubandara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

G'day Manjubandara! Thanks for your 5 of 5 star review of Gray Line's tour to Mount Buller. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your day so much and you loved the snow! We will pass your very nice compliment onto David. He will be very pleased.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We went for a day trip with Gray Line to Mt Buller yesterday. I would definitely recommend this trip. Not having to worry about driving ourselves was a big relief, especially because I have heard horror stories about people driving up the mountain. Our driver John was great. Very friendly and approachable. He shared interesting tidbits about the history of the areas we drove through and was extremely patient with all of the Travellers. I was worried about taking two 6 year olds on the bus but John was lovely and very understanding (small children need a lot more toilet breaks). It is a super long day driving up and back so be prepared for that but it is a great way to sight see and have a small snow adventure. The only let down was dealing with the tourists on the bus. They were we extremely messy and inconsiderate of others. The fact that John didn't lose his temper says a lot about how great at his job he is. This issue however I am only mentioning to give you an honest idea of what you might have to deal with but this is not something Gray Line is at fault for in any way. No matter where you go or who you go with there will be rude tourists. I couldn't be happier with the service we recieved on the day. Thanks John. :) Oh and one small complaint would be that I was told by other travellers that we were supposed to have access to free wifi on the bus but this was not available to us for whatever reason and that would have been helpful with keeping the children occupied.

2  Thank Ashlea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your tour to Mount Buller Ashlea M! We are pleased you had a great day.
I will pass your lovely compliment onto John. He will be very pleased.
I do apologize for the Wi-Fi not working, there obviously was a problem. I will pass your feedback about it being unavailable to the appropriate person. It would have been very handy for entertaining the little ones!
Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Bus was comfortable. Drivers professional and entertaining. Wi-fi in bus. Took the bus to Buller and Healsville.

Buller and Healsville worth the visit.
Phillips island was a let down. hardly saw 50 penguins.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank David3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello David3030
Thank you so much for your 5 of 5 star review! We really appreciate it!
It's good to read you enjoyed your 3 tours with Gray Line. It's a shame you didn't get to see a lot of Penguins. I'm sure you learnt about how in the winter the penguins go out for days at a time as they don't have babies to come home to. But never the less, we all wish we could see heaps of them! Next time you come to Melbourne, come in December! That's the month when there are the most. The warmer months are the best for Penguin numbers.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Melbourne.
Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Gray Line Melbourne Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing