We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tour of Melbourne and it's sporting heritage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Sports Tours

Melbourne Sports Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.20*
and up
Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne
Ranked #69 of 241 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne Sports Tours offer interactive and fun guided tours of Melbourne and its sporting culture. Tours include Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne incorporating Melbourne Cricket Ground Tours (Behind the scnese of the MCG), National SPorts Museum, Rod Laver Arena Tours (Behind the scenes of The Australian Open Tennis Championships), Flemington Racecourse (Home of The Melbourne Cup) and many options including PLay Tennis, CUB Brewery, Eureka SkyDeck.. Horses, Wine & Beer Tour - Relax and let our tour host drive while you enjoy the view and a few... Meet famous horses and enjoy morning tea in the historic homestead at ‘Living Legends’; a Parks Victoria retirement village for our favourite retired Champion racehorses. Enjoy lunch and wine tastings at Gisborne Peak and beer tastings at the Holgate Brewery in Woodend. AUSSIE RULES FOOTBALL with a local host Your local host will explain all the rules, bumps and bruises of our unique game during this private tour experience enjoying the best seats in the house. Meat Pie, Beer, Competitions, Club Scarf, Club Songs, Rules Sheet, Football Souvenir Record included at The MCG or Etihad Stadium. Private Tour for 1 to 100 people. Ask about a skills coaching session; learn to handball, kick, mark
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour of Melbourne and it's sporting heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a FANTASTIC time on our full-day tour. Huge thanks to Simon for being such an informative guide, not just about the sporting venues we were visiting but about so many other Melbourne landmarks and tourist spots. Would highly recommend the tour for any visitor to Melbourne, you definitely do not need to be a sporting fan to enjoy the day, but fans will absolutely love the behind-the-scenes look and information as well. Highly recommend it to everyone!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Junior-Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a great time on this tour. My 13 year old son enjoyed seeing all the different sporting areas. We were taken to the race horse track, Formula 1 track, lunch at Etihad, Rod Laver arena and MCG. Our tour guide, Simon, was informative and answer questions about the sports. He even offered to take photos so we all could be in them together.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AprilS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Insight into a Sports City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a brilliant day when we went on the Sports Tour, which included a trip on the Melbourne Sky Deck.

This was a trip my husband was keen to do and although would not have been my first choice but what a great day.

It was my husband and myself plus another 2 people on the tour and the guide had an amazing knowledge that just blew us away.

We went to Flemington Park, MCG, drove round the Grand Prix track and had lunch at etihad stadium (food was gorgeous).

At MCG we had a great tour guide who gave us an interesting insight into the history of the ground.

I would highly recommend this tour as it was just great value for money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A MUST FOR ANY SPORTS FAN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hi I would like to review the Melbourne sports tour.
I have done this tour twice now once with friends and once with my brother and what can I say:
I am a huge Premier League football ( soccer to you guys ) fan and I visit St James Park Newcastle on a weekly basis which is a football stadium that

Holds 52,000 people every game so I shouldn’t be amazed by a sports tour by trust me I was.
We were picked up from our hotel by Simon who is a brilliant tour guide ( apart from being a Leeds fan ha ha ) he was very knowledgeable knew all there was

To know about the area about the stadiums etc..
We visited Flemington Race Course followed by the MCG which is a must for any sports fan then we went for lunch at the Ethiad Stadium this was where Simon

Used his skills of persuasion to sell us tickets to go and see Charlton play an AFL game which is another brilliant tour operated by Melbourne sports tours.

We finished our tour off with the Carlton Brewery which has to be the perfect day out for Boys Stadiums and Beer what a way to your heart.

The whole tour is ran so perfectly and well rehearsed it’s a fantastic well ran day out, a must for any sports fan

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneSportsTours, Front Office Manager at Melbourne Sports Tours, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are glad you had a great day and that Simon impressed you with his knowledge of all things sport!

We love to be able to show Melbourne off and hope you enjoyed your game of "footy".

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“morning tour with melbourne sports tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

i live in melbourne always wanted to do the mcg tour so i finally booked with melb sports tour. wonderful! did the flemington racecoarse, mcg, grand prix and had lunch at edihad statidum. if you are lucky enough to have simon as your tour guide your in for a great and informative morning. simon showed us all the interest of melbourne and his information on all sports and melbourne is incredible. well worth the money. so if your coming from overseas or live locally you have to do this tour. i highly recommend it. :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank toni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne Sports Tours also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Sports Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing