We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome What More can I say” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Sports Tours

Melbourne Sports Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.50*
and up
Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne
Ranked #69 of 241 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne Sports Tours offer interactive and fun guided tours of Melbourne and its sporting culture. Tours include Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne incorporating Melbourne Cricket Ground Tours (Behind the scnese of the MCG), National SPorts Museum, Rod Laver Arena Tours (Behind the scenes of The Australian Open Tennis Championships), Flemington Racecourse (Home of The Melbourne Cup) and many options including PLay Tennis, CUB Brewery, Eureka SkyDeck.. Horses, Wine & Beer Tour - Relax and let our tour host drive while you enjoy the view and a few... Meet famous horses and enjoy morning tea in the historic homestead at ‘Living Legends’; a Parks Victoria retirement village for our favourite retired Champion racehorses. Enjoy lunch and wine tastings at Gisborne Peak and beer tastings at the Holgate Brewery in Woodend. AUSSIE RULES FOOTBALL with a local host Your local host will explain all the rules, bumps and bruises of our unique game during this private tour experience enjoying the best seats in the house. Meat Pie, Beer, Competitions, Club Scarf, Club Songs, Rules Sheet, Football Souvenir Record included at The MCG or Etihad Stadium. Private Tour for 1 to 100 people. Ask about a skills coaching session; learn to handball, kick, mark
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome What More can I say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Out family of 3, 2 adults and an 11 yo boy booked a morning MCG tour and then extended this to the afternoon session as well as the morning doesn’t include the MCG Sports Museum – the tour guide for this Anthony what an amazing guy – he didn’t only take us to the destinations, as he drove around he pointed out other sporting and interesting facts, grounds and buildings – what a memorable tour one anyone interested in sports should look at doing - the tour included lunch

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thought it would be more personal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went on the horses, wine and beer tour. Tour guide was good and on time picking us up from the hotel. Went to Living Legends first for morning tea - which was yummy! Then went on the horse tour to meet the racing horses. Thought this tour would just be our group, however, there were public people who had only paid $10 (when we had paid a lot more than that) on the tour as well, so was hard to take photos and pat the horses as there were too many people. I asked the Living Legends guide and she said there are public tours at 11 and 2 daily and they book in private tours around it. I wonder why after booking with Melbourne Sports Tours we were put on the 11am public tour rather than having our own private tour booked???? That would have made more sense.
We then went to a winery for lunch. Lunch was nice.
Then off to a brewery to taste beers. We thought we might have had a tour of the brewery included, but no we just sat in the pub tasting 8 different beers.
Everyone was ready to leave 30-45 minutes before the tour was meant to finish, but had to sit around waiting as the tour guide didn't really want to leave yet.

If I had my choice again, I would just go to Living Legends myself for the public tour costing only $10 instead of $150 with Melbourne Sports Tours and skip the rest of the day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Krys1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbSportsTours, Manager at Melbourne Sports Tours, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Krystal,
Thanks for taking the time to review your tour with us. Honest feedback allows potential guests to have a more realistic and balanced view of the tour they might take, so we would like to offer the following, in fairness, in response to your review.
Firstly, we'd be lying if we said we weren't disappointed that the tour didn't meet your expectations, as we believe that we did do everything our brochure, website, and external promotional material includes in the itinerary.
Living Legends operates as a not-for-profit enterprise. Although they do ask all visitors to make a minimum donation of $10, we make a contribution in excess of that on your behalf, as well as including coffee with scones, jam & cream for morning tea. On the particular day you visited, it was an busy day at the farm for the time of year, but not excessively so where there may have been limitations on all guests being able to pat the horses, or have photos with them. We realise that this is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for many of our guests, so our host is there to make sure this happens, as long as you let him/her know. On traditionally busier dates or where we have larger groups, economics allows us to have our private guide for our groups.
Nb. there is no public transport to Living Legends. The closest thing is a taxi, which is $75 one-way from Melbourne's CBD.
Glad you enjoyed the winery. The wines are diverse, and we find most guests find a favourite they like to have a glass of with their home-made, wood-fired pizza.
The Brewery offers a different experience. It is not advertised as a tour of the brewery, as it is a very small operation in comparison to pubs/breweries that do offer tours of their site. The pub/Brewery has, however, knocked out a few of their brick walls, and replaced them with windows, to allow guests to look in to the Brewery from the pub. We have always found the staff knowledgable on all aspects of the Brewery, brewing process, and the end product.
We have a pre-determined and agreed on departure time so that all guests can explore the country town or have an extra beer, allowing for our timely return, as advertised.
Regards,
Melbourne Sports Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Interactive and great tour by the older people there. really enjoyed it, there are many activities for you to do and also many sports such as cricket and Olympic sports

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank micos1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent most of the day at the MCG, doing the guide tour and spending time in the museum. A fantastic day out for any sports lover . Great for families, absolutely a must for any cricket or AFL fan

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MVP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Really informative and great value. Melbourne is the mecca of Australian sport and facilities. The guides were knowledgable and really made the tour fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank macca5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne Sports Tours also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Sports Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing