We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 169 Drummond Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
169 Drummond Street
Ranked #1 of 18 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Ian, the owner, is the sort of person who you feel would make a wonderful friend. He is welcoming and helpful. The house is lovely, and you come and go as you please. Very comfortable. Once we had had the opportunity of seeing most of Melbourne we were so pleased to have chosen Carlton as our location, by far the most vibrant and cosmopolitan of all the areas we saw, and all of this (together with the free tourist bus) just a few minutes from 169. Excellent.

Room Tip: We had the front room which has a balcony looking out onto the street. Nice to sit out, have a drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbirTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
61
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Ian, the owner, cannot be more welcoming. The guest house has only 4 rooms, but it really feels like home, you make your own breakfast with lots of choices. One street away and you're in the middle of the hustle and bustle of vibrant Lygon Street, with thousands of restaurants - thai, italian, greek, vietnamese, one next to the other, you name it, they have it! Perfect! The guest house is in a really quiet area of town (Carlton), but within walking distance of the CDB (city centre), the amazing Queen Victoria Market and other attractions; I'd recommend this guest house - great value for your money. It does not have a feel of a hotel, more like home, if that's what you're looking for, look no further. Book with Ian.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I have stayed at Drummond street for 7 nights and I could have stayed longer. It is comfortable. It is clean. It is perfectly located to see Melbourne and a few blocks from wonderful Italian places to eat, the best bakery and a wonderland of Italian cookies, pastries,etc. (Brunetti's). What you can expect is a very comfortable place to sleep with a private bath, in a nice house on a very nice street. Ian keeps the place spotless. There is a little kitchen alcove upstairs and downstairs with a refrigerator, a pot to make tea or coffee , choice of teas and cookies for midnight snacks. The breakfast is self -serve, There are yoghurts in the fridge, toast, serials, fruit. It made my time in Melbourne a pleasure, because coming "home" in the evening was so cozy and comfortable. That is where I want to stay if I am in Melbourne again. Thank you Ian.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a 2 night stay here. We chose this stay based on favourable Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We arrived early and Ian and his faithful dog, Daisy, welcomed us and showed us around. Our room was a twin bed one on the ground level - very comfortable, very clean, with a modern bathroom and opened onto a small garden courtyard. The well equipped dining room was appreciated. Ian supplies a nice selection of provisions to enable guests to prepare their own breakfasts - cerials, yoghurt, fruit, milk, juice, breads and spreads as well as a wide selection of teas and lovely plunger coffee. There is also a range of reading materials and local tourist information. Ian also gave us some tips on local restaurants which we took advantage of and visited. One of it's greatest assets is it's location. A quiet street so handy to Lygon Street and the Carlton Gardens with its Museum and Royal Exhibition building. We walked to the Markets and the free City Cirle Tram is a short walk away too, as is the Free Tourist Shuttle Bus that does a hop-on/hop-off loop past all the touristy places. There are so many cafes and restaurants within a five minute walk. I would certainly stay here again and recommend to others (note, although this accommodation is mostly aimed at gay clients, it certainly welcomes guests, like ourselves, who are not gay but open-minded and who looking for quality accommodation at realistic prices).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripmode33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

169 Drummond St is a charming terrace B &B ,close to all Melbourne has to offer....Restaurants,shopping ,sporting ,theatre ..
Clean , warm and comfortable,.....Ian and Daisy are great hosts!!!
Great gay friendly accommodation .....Highly recommended.

Mick and Dave

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This B&B is in a lovely old Melbourne terrace house in the inner city suburb of Carlton. It is an ideal location to see Melbourne from. It is in walking distance to Lygon St and the city and the trams run nearby if you wish to go further afield. The rooms are quiet and exceptionally clean and well maintained. Ian is a charming host who made my stay very enjoyable. The any time, informal, help yourself breakfast was ideal for me and my relaxed schedule! For the position and facilities it is excellent value for money. The shuttle bus took me to and from the airport. Definitely will stay there again. And how cute is Daisy (Ian's dog)!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My partner and I spend 2 days and wish we had planned more time. The B&B is outstanding - clean, friendly and newly renovated. Location could not have been better and Ian is an outstanding host. He made us feel very welcome and was helpful in planning our time. Melbourne turned out to be a great city and we hope to head back there and get to know it better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 169 Drummond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 169 Drummond Street

Property: 169 Drummond Street
Address: 169 Drummond Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing