We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
169 Drummond Street
Ranked #1 of 23 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fab location, super host, lovely little dog Daisy, and great room. Ian has great recommendations for things to do and see, and is there when you need him but not at all in your face. Brekky is a self serve which is really nice, as you can grab it when you feel like it, just like at home. The room was super quiet and very comfortable. It is about 12 mins to mid-city at brisk pace and walkable from all aspects of the city centre. We hired a car for the last couple of days, and even though Ian offers parking, we never needed it as we found a park right outside each time. Bumped into lovely people when grabbing morning coffee and there were always friendly and intelligent short conversations.
Can highly recommend this as the perfect b and b experience.
We will be back.
Nina and Carlos

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neenish2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at 169 Drummond this February for almost 2 weeks. This place is terrific. Great location near Carlton Gardens, the city and good restaurants. Ian, the host is welcoming, friendly, and makes great coffee. We stayed in a room with a small garden out back. The beds were comfortable, the place was immaculate and even though it was 107 degrees out, we were cool. The other guests, who came from around the world, were relaxed, easy to be with and very interesting. I can't say enough good this about this B&B. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

... I really want to keep the secret. However, Ian, Daisy and their beautiful residence at 169 Drummond St deserve my praise and your patronage.

169 Drummond St is the absolute best place to stay in Melbourne. Ian and Daisy are wonderful hosts and their home is perfectly situated. On the edge of the city, just a street over from Lygon Street, a short walk to Brunswick St, close to public transport, a block from Carlton Gardens and the Melbourne Museum and all on a quiet street that means you get the best of all worlds.

169 Drummond is a treasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. The room on the top floor at the front has a wonderful balcony and face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ian and his elderly dog Daisy are your hosts here, and they are excellent at it. It's mostly gay clientele, but that just shows that we've got good taste :-)

A fab old Victorian town house, full of character, well equipped rooms and good self service breakfast at a big table that you may or may not share with the other guests if they get their backsides out of bed to go and do some sightseeing.

Go stay here before he decides to retire - it's completely unique and brilliant.
.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tidds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were welcomed into Ian's home and treated wonderfully during our 5 days in Melbourne. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Ian even turned on the air conditioning for us when he knew we were coming back in 44 degree weather. His restaurant recommendations were great. The location was superb for our needs. Overall, we came in as strangers and left as friends. We couldn't ask for anything more.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at 169 Drummond St. for two nights in mid-November. We had driven along the coast from Sydney over 5 days, and wanted to spend a day in Melbourne before continuing west on the Great Ocean Road.

We arrived around 5:00 P.M., mainly because our host, Ian, had warned us that parking would become difficult to find on Saturday evening due to the proximity of many restaurants. We easily found a place at a broken meter just around the corner, and when we got to the house there was a space right by the gate. However, when we left to eat a little later it was obvious that people were driving around looking for parking.

It’s a comfortable old house in an attractive area on the north side of downtown.The street is wide with a grassy, treed median and not a lot of traffic. We had a room toward the back on the ground floor, which had a small French door on one side opening onto the garden behind the house. The room was large and comfortable and had a good-sized, modern en-suite bathroom. Aside from a raft of hair and dust on the bathroom floor that appeared to have been overlooked, the room and the bathroom were perfectly clean and everything worked well. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet at night, so we slept well.

In the ground floor room at the front of the house, there is everything you need for breakfast. The room is open all the time and can be used for snacks or simple preparation of your own food. It’s well stocked for breakfast, with fruit, cereal, milk, yoghurt, bread, jams, and a French press coffee pot to make coffee. Other guests prepared food and drinks there and took took back to their rooms. Ian has made it flexible so that it meets people’s needs and it seems to work very well.

The location of 169 Drummond couldn’t be much better. It’s quiet, but it’s right next to downtown and there are lots of restaurants just a block to the west on Lygon Street and many of its cross streets. We spent our day in Melbourne walking our feet off more or less following two walks north and south of the Yarra (from the National Geographic Australia guide book) and 169 Drummond was perfectly situated for this. It was also easy to get back on the M1 to head west when we left and we didn't encounter any traffic tieups.

Melbourne is certainly worth more than the day we gave it and we can highly recommend 169 Drummond Street as a pleasant, comfortable, convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cdnguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We picked this based on past tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. It's #1 for a reason. We stayed in large front room which was clean and spacious as past guest advised. It also had benefit of balcony over front of house which is a sun trap in the mornings. Ian is a great host, dry sense of humour, very welcoming and helpful. Ok bed is not made - not a problem and if it is stay elsewhere. Breakfast is help yourself & put dishes in dishwasher, but plenty of choice. Simply not pretentious but everything we needed and a great location. Fridge available to share with other guests outside room.
Ian will do anything asked and has a wealth of knowledge of good local restaurants etc. About a 30 minute walk to Federation Square or 20 mins to centre of city but trams available from 5+ mins if that is preference.
Ian has pretty much 100% occupancy which says it al and at rates well below all others by keeping things simple. Excellent.
I hope that this is the start of similar accommodation experiences as we now travel first down Great Ocean Road to Port Campbell then back via Melbourne up to Blue Mountains and then Sydney. We will report all on trip advisor

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,127 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 169 Drummond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 169 Drummond Street

Address: 169 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing