We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really fantastic meal ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Fields - CLOSED

Golden Fields
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
511 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Really fantastic meal ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Hello to all ,if you are going to melbourne I highly recommend to try Golden Fields wonderful Chinese eatery in St Kilda further up Fitzroy operated by Aussie chef of the moment Andrew Mcconnell.
The lobster roll are simply too delicious! Be prepared and warned , it is not a cheap place quite the contrary but the food , modern Asian , is fantastic !

Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We traveled to Melbourne from Sydney for the weekend and friends had recommended we go to Golden Fields. We weren't disappointed. The cuisine is modern Asian, designed to be shared. The best dish was the pickled/corned Wagyu in Sechwan sauce. Brilliant! Great wine list too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Always on my itinerary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

When visiting (or living in) Melbourne, a dining experience at Golden Fields is a must.

Whatever you order, don't forget to add the soft shell crab roll, or lobster roll to your plate. Your taste buds will never forget the experience.

Recommended dessert: peanut butter parfait, salted caramel, and soft chocolate is always a win in my books.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorn
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best meals I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Whatever you do, don't miss out this place. It's asian tapas style food and stunningly good. The restaurant is in St. Kilda, its simply furnished and the service is great. Order a good selection of food, the sticky chicken is delicious, but so was everything else. I don't think you could make a mistake whatever you ordered. There were four of us so we were able to order a lot of dishes, but they will advise you. They ensured there were four pieces on each dish. Just amazing - try it! We drank prosecco with the meal which complimented it perfectly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum, but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

A deposit required to make a booking? What the? And the place wasn't even full. If you can handle the toss-factor the food is fabulous, but terribly expensive, as is the grog. Sit outside if you can as the views to Melbourne are great. Definitely a once in a while kind of place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwelodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Fields also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing