We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arden Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arden Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenience at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have stayed at The Arden several times now. Unlike many people who have higher expectations of everything they see, do and visit these days, I'm happy with simple value for money. The Arden offers that.
For me, it's not about what era the decor appears to be from, it's about comfort, price and convenience of location.
The Arden is tidy and clean, the rooms are comfortable, the service is good and friendly and you're a hop skip and jump away from most things people come to Melbourne to see. Not to mention there's car parking, which many city motels don't offer, and the staff are more than happy for you to leave your car in the car park on the day of check out if you still have a last minute shopping trip to do.
Cheaper than so many city motels. If you're after pools, spas, buffet breakfasts and modern decor... five star accomodation? Then you won't be spending $90 a night. But if you want somewhere comfy and affordable to call base camp while you're staying in Melbourne then I highly recommend The Arden.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EDayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    37
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
18
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Unscheduled 2 day trip to Melb during OZ open on a tight budget. Basic clean accommodation short 15 min walk out of the city, everything there that should be, clean towels, tea, coffee, light breakfast as advertised. Room decor and furniture was a bit 80'ish but happy that the beds were reasonably comfy and the air-con worked. Family run business, nothing 5 star about the service and front office is a bit disorganised (but no hold-ups checking in or out). Free parking makes it better value, will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank inky353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I really don't like saying bad things about businesses because I am not the kind of person that wants to damage anyones reputation.But..I also really like using this site as I value peoples honest opinion so I have to be honest myself..Here goes, I'll keep it short and to the point. This hotel was really the worst I've ever stayed in, the only reason I was here was to visit a family member at the Royal Melbourne Hospital which was literally a 4-5min walk.
The bed linen was dirty, dirty, dirty. The kitchenette had mould upon mould growing everywhere.The bed was crooked! Yes crooked, It leant to the left which you could literally fall off if you weren't careful. Also this was the smallest bed I've slept in since I was 5 years old. I am 5ft nothing,,so I'm not exactly tall, and my feet touched the end of the bed...Bizarre,... they looked like little mini beds. I did take photos because I think photos speak louder than words. Look I could go on and on at how terrible this place was but I think your best bet is to just look at the photos as they speak for themselves. I wouldn't stay here even if they paid me to. I would rather walk around the streets of Melbourne aimlessly. Check the photos out guys.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I've stayed at the Arden every December for the past 5 years and have absolutely no hesitation recommending it to anyone. As Tassie said, it's a budget motel and no more than 3 stars, but it's fantastic value for money for anyone driving to Melbourne. I've NEVER encountered a problem with the cleanliness of the rooms and it's perfectly located - walking distance to the city (20 mins to Bourke St), local shops/restaurants and even the Zoo. Don't be put off by the overly critical or hard-to-please overseas tourists.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed at The Arden for 2 nights while I was in Melbourne. I have stayed here on & off over the last 20 years if down for a quick business trip or to see someone in hospital. The decor and building hasn't changed much in the last 20 years (except the TV) and yes some things are getting a bit ragged around the edges but at the end of the day i was just sleeping there. It is well located to the major hospitals and is only a 25 minute walk into the city for shopping or business.
The staff appear friendly and for $88 you get the room, parking, contintenal breakfast and a newspaper. obviously for that price don't expect the Taj Mahal. You can leave your car in the carpark during the day of check out which is also a bonus especially if you are travelling out of the city to the north. My room was quite and down the back and I had a good nights sleep.
For a good meal go the the Castle Hotel just accross from the motel ($17 all meals on Menu on Tuesdays)

Room Tip: Try and get back room as Arden St can get quite busy early mornings and peak hour in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at The Arden for 1 night. It was in a quiet location (we requested a back room) , the staff were very friendly. The building is dated, and so is the decore, however, it is a budget motel, and we didn't expect anything more. It would certainly be convenient for people with their own vehicle. There are some nice sunny tables and chairs for sitting outside, a bit public, but still pleasant. A bbq is available, but check that there is gas before going out to purchase your food.

Room Tip: Some of the side street rooms have a small 'atriam' which lets in some more light, and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TassieGrammia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We, as a family, lodged there for only a few days and found it to be a grotty, noisy, dirty, cold and unfriendly place to stay. Not to mention the price - too high for the service. Never again! I think hell would be more welcoming!
Jojo

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank josiec100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Motel

Property: Arden Motel
Address: 15 Arden St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on the leafy green fringe of the City of Melbourne. Arden Motel provides an unequalled combination of personal service, position, and price. There is real quality in every detail from the new luxury suite to the smiling staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing