We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad chinese experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Waterside Oriental Bistro
Ranked #2,976 of 4,067 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad chinese experience”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have eaten at Chinese restaurants around the world including Shanghai this would have to rate as my worst Chinese experience-the waiter who we assume was the manager or owner was very unfriendly and unhelpful .The food was over priced and tasteless plus my wife is a vegetarian she expressly asked whether her meal would have any oyster sauce in it he said no , no- it did!
Given its location we would have expected much better

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DickF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were looking for a takeaway restaurant that was close by as it was chucking it down, and this was our only option. It was brilliant! Fresh, tasty and with lots of veggies. We had the chicken curry & rice, beef satay & rice, with vegetarian singapore noodles. A real surprise to have such a good quality meal. We will be back!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow great chinese food and great service”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I ve been working in Melbourne lately and have found this great place.
Frank and his wife Julie treat you like family and nothing is a problem.
The food is fresh and great value and you definately walk out with a smile, full tummy and money in your wallet.
They even did my favourite dish of chicken and ham roll like my restaurant in Sydney does and it was awesome. It wasnt on the menu but he made it regardless.
So dont forget to ask for it.
Drop in and say Ian from Sydney recommended it.
Oh by the way its BYO wine only if you want to save some extra $$$$.
Enjoy it I did

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious Yum Cha by the water.”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We went on a Sunday afternoon and had an eight course set menu yum-cha. The food was hot and delicious and served in the typically efficient unobtrusive chinese manner.

The decor, comfort and view of the restaurant was outstanding.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterside Oriental Bistro also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Waterside Oriental Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing