We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Johnston Collection”

The Johnston Collection
Ranked #90 of 410 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The Johnston Collection”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's a lovely house to visit especially around Christmas time because the Christmas ornaments and trinkets come out on display. The house is a quiet space on the fringe of the city and well worth the visit. I have been numerous times and have enjoyed every visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneErena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
601 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Worth Visiting”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

David McAllister rearranged: Reservations are required and you’re required to take a shuttle from the Hilton nearby to visit this fantastic museum. The collection changes 3x a year and the upcoming projects can be found on their website. You enter the house with a tour guide and ~7 people. As stated in the will, the house itself is available in a condition where it looks like someone still lives there; meaning that there are no roped off areas where you can only see things from afar. Instead you are really able to enter each room and really see the fine details the beautiful collection has to offer. The rooms themselves are beautiful, with rich colors and great décor. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Little known treasure”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My brother invited me to go see this. He had been twice before and enjoyed it each time. Apparently they change things around so it is worth going back again. You need to book. You meet at the Hilton then board a mini bus for the short drive to the house. The woman guide was excellent

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly_the_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Do yourself a favour and book a tour to this amazing place to see the results of a man's obsession with beautiful furniture, crockery etc.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fiat957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Surprising Tour.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We visited the house, which was displaying the Christmas Collection, not knowing what to expect.
We were transported from the Hilton On The Park by minibus. We were shown into a room in the house and offered refreshments, and given a talk on the history of Mr Johnston and the history of the house. There are four collections per year,it is not a static exhibition.
Thank you to our guide who made the tour very interesting. Also thank you to all the artisans who contributed to the display of hand crafts that enhanced the beauty of the furniture, paintings and objects d'art.
Can't wait to return to Melbourne to see the new collection.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank petalpie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Johnston Collection also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Johnston Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing