We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seafood platter yum yum”

Rubiras at Swallows
Ranked #298 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Port Melbourne
Victoria Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“seafood platter yum yum”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We went here Thursday Night with a groupon deal The staff where excellent and super welcoming food was delicious and wine was good. I would recommend this restaurant. As we had a deal the prices of the meal was irrelevant to us . I checked out the menu board prices where not cheap high 30s for mains but food was amazing and venue beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denise000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    22
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Order the scallops”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

If you love seafood then thus is the place to go. Seafood never tasted so good, food is fresh tasty and inventive. I have visited this restaurant six times and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly_Flakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mordialloc, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top Nosh in a Top Spot”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was our first visit to Rubira's at Swallows in Port Melbourne; we went last Saturday on the suggestion of the "birthday girl" in our group of four. To say we surprised (pleasantly so) would be an understatement. In a word sensational, the food, the service, the surroundings, the whole experience was exceptional. The blackboard menu caters for all tastes, the entree's are great for sharing, the fish choices are of the highest quality and the cooking is superb. The waiter was informative, friendly, efficient and made our evening by his suggestions and advice on what to pick and what to combine. The atmosphere is friendly and warm, and the surroundings very comfortable especially on a cold night where the open fire was welcome. You must try the Rubira's original chilli prawns, to this chilli prawn fan they were the best ever, anywhere. Fiery but with a lingering taste that did not burn at all just left you well and truly satisfied - but begging for more. Rubira's is not cheap but delivers full value for money and a dining experience that you will remember for a long time to come!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I went to Rubieras upon the recommendation of a concierge at our hotel. We had specified we wanted to eat Italian food that evening, our first in Melbourne. Our cabbie had difficulty finding it, as it is not a tourist hangout and is not on top of downtown Melbourne. We loved it! It was warm, inviting, and unpretentious. The service and the food spoke volumes about how fine this restaurant is! The seafood was superb - our waiter recommended Moreton Bay Bugs, which was something I hadn't encountered previously - (being an American - what do we know?) The lamb was seasoned beautifully,as tender as it could possibly have been . The waiter also recommended a good wine. He was never wrong! By the way, I ordered the Moreton Bay Bugs at another restaurant several days later and it didn't compare to the dish at Rubieras!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NonniefromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“top quality, one of the best”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have been to Rubiras a number of times, both business and personal. John is a great passionate guy, cares about the food that is presented in his establishment and never fails to deliver.
I have invited business colleagues to impress, friends to have a good nosh and on my own when on various trips - I have never been let down.
It does not matter how you like you fish, it will be done the way you like - I had a steak last time - it was one of the best I have had - beating a tophotel I went to the next day who promoted thier steak offering as one of the best in Melbourne.
Book if you do not want to be disappointed (even in the week)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davethepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubiras at Swallows also viewed

 

Been to Rubiras at Swallows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing