We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So convienent to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Causeway Inn On The Mall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #98 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So convienent to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I choose this Hotel because I had stayed there in 2000 and knew it was so central. The only change is in 2000 it was tired and in 2012 it has been totally refurbished. Yes the rooms are on the small side and yes the bathrooms are on the small too, but they are very comfortable and very clean and have everything you need. Found the bed to be very comfortable. Checking in and out was easy and everyone was so nice and helpful. Breakfast is was it is, Continental. There was a variety of Cereal, different Juices, Variety of Bread to be toasted, Crossaints, Fruit, tea and Coffee. Sufficient to keep you going. The location is absolutely the best. Would stay there again no hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in room 503 which looked out to the tops of other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    271
    151
    42
    15
See reviews for
79
261
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

This is one of the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed!But if size does not matter,I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.Rooms are well kept and serviced, toilets are clean and the staff are friendly....It is located in front of Myers and David Jones and many shops and malls!Can be noisy at night but otherwise all is well

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wan Azlina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed in a fantastic Mall View room for 5 night
Room was comfortable & clean. Basic & not large but these things weren;t an issue for us.
Our package included a continental breakfast creating even more value to an already great price point!
A few steps from the door are cafes, shope and public transport.
The amazing food in Chinatown is only 5 minutes walk away.
This hotel is a winner and we would defintiely stay again

Room Tip: Go for a mall view room for great airflow, sonlight and people watching
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ChonyBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very central to all the shops & restaurants. Trams stop close by so getting around is easy. Breakfast is basic but good & as the hotel is full length from front to the back along a small alleyway most rooms are not too noisy. We had a basic room on the front & enjoyed the christmas window dispaly with lights & music that was switched on in the store opposite during our stay.
Not possible to access with a car due to location

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

You choose this hotel for its unbeatable location, just off Bourke Street Mall and opposite Myer and David Jones, the major department stores,with all the main tram routes within a blocks walk.
There is no parking and the rooms are small, so don't come expecting anything more. The rooms are clean, modern and supplied with irons/ironing boards, tea/coffee making items and refrigerators. Would say the place itself is more motel like, but for value it is unbeatable.
The buffet breakfast is optional but fine, however with so many cafes just outside and nearby (eg Laurent just down on the corner) it is better to skip it.
It is a great choice for a weekend stopover. The tiny entry off a side alley is unusual, but it as it is not on a main road, it is quiet. Strange access to room floors when you go to the first floor dining area and walk to the other end of the building to the higher level lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room _ fourth floor (400's) - on the south side, rooms have views over roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Affordable, simple, comfortable, clean, quiet!
Affordable- Worth every penny, so cheap, why bother staying in backpackers!
Simple stylish small rooms with bed, desk, tv, wardrobe, basic bathroom and amenities. Simple fresh breakfast- coffee, tea, cereal, croissants, toast, spreads, fruit! Gorgeous patisserie, and other cafes right at the door stop for something flashy!
Comfortable beds, doonas, extra pillows.
Clean, clean, clean!
Quiet cause its over the mall, so no loud night clubs banging in ur ears at night!

Way better than the Kingsgate... Don't even think about that place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kekkelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were booked into this Hotel by our travel agent who knew we were travelling by car. Using the GPS we could not locate the Hotel so i rang to understand how to get there only to be told that we needed to drive to a car park and then walk from there - 5 minutes away. The Hotel receptionist then mentioned we need to be in in the car park by 6pm. When asked what time it opede again we were told 7am. Given that we needed to be at the airport at 7am to catch our flight this was not an option for us. So we were directed to another car park - 10 minuets away and advised to walk. We did!
On arrival at the hotel the receptionist was cool but polite. A problem with the credit card machine - sorted by having to use a different credit card - they do not take credit cards without a PIN number. No WIFI and we were told no breakfast was available due to our check out time but normally they would put a continental breakfast in our room but none available that day. Sorry.
Room was clean and small. Bed OK. Bathroom was small - couldn't clean your teeth over the tiny basin without hitting your head on a glass shelf.
Check out took time - and we did not have the worst of it - the lady checking out behind us had no hot water so she was even more unhappy than us. And so to the trek back to the car park with our luggage!!! And yes the internal customer satisfaction survey asks you to rate their porter services!
Stay here again - despite the location - no way

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djembewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#122 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Property: Causeway Inn On The Mall
Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing