We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #114 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay here ,This was the 1st time in Melbourne.
Staff were helpful,price was cheap,Room was small but clean ,compy, and everything I needed.Breakfast was always fresh and topped up.
Location was right where I needed to be walking distance to eveything.
Would recomend to all,and would go back
Thanks very much

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaylee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Yes the hotel is very central but that is about the best of it. I read other peoples reviews so was expecting a small room, but not a shoe box. Small is an understatement. We had no where to put our suit cases - they were either on the bed or on the floor (so we fell over them). The TV was smaller than my computer monitor and had crap reception, I had to move the single chair to get to the bed and the toilet was mounted so close to the wall I had to stand up to wipe!! I'm sure ther are better places out there for the money - I know there are, I've stayed in some. Wont be staying here again - EVER.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigpetesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked this for one night while in Melbourne for the football and were very happy and pleasantly surprised. The location is unbeatable - off a small arcade right on Bourke St Mall. You couldn't get more central. Lots of lovely cafes right outside the front door and the area felt safe even at 1am when we arrived back at our room.

Staff were lovely and friendly in all interactions. Emailed a few days before to ask about nearby parking and a reply came almost instantly with a couple of different parking options and discounts offered by the hotel.

Check in was quick and easy, friendly staff, offered free newspaper for the following morning.

To get to the rooms you first go up two floors and walk through the lovely breakfast area before taking another lift up to the room levels.

Room was small but perfectly formed, toiletries offered in the bathrooms, clean newish linen, ironing board and iron in the cupboard, proper hairdryer in the draw, small flat screen TV and a comfortable queen bed. Pillows were a little flat but there were spares in the cupboard.

Rooms and all communal areas were simply decorated and were clean and modern. Breakfast was included in the price and was a basic but good continental buffet, cereal, toast, croissants, juice, tea and coffee.

It is a budget hotel but for $130 per night on a football saturday night including continental breakfast and all taxes it definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesslikesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I choose this Hotel because I had stayed there in 2000 and knew it was so central. The only change is in 2000 it was tired and in 2012 it has been totally refurbished. Yes the rooms are on the small side and yes the bathrooms are on the small too, but they are very comfortable and very clean and have everything you need. Found the bed to be very comfortable. Checking in and out was easy and everyone was so nice and helpful. Breakfast is was it is, Continental. There was a variety of Cereal, different Juices, Variety of Bread to be toasted, Crossaints, Fruit, tea and Coffee. Sufficient to keep you going. The location is absolutely the best. Would stay there again no hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in room 503 which looked out to the tops of other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is one of the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed!But if size does not matter,I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.Rooms are well kept and serviced, toilets are clean and the staff are friendly....It is located in front of Myers and David Jones and many shops and malls!Can be noisy at night but otherwise all is well

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Wan Azlina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed in a fantastic Mall View room for 5 night
Room was comfortable & clean. Basic & not large but these things weren;t an issue for us.
Our package included a continental breakfast creating even more value to an already great price point!
A few steps from the door are cafes, shope and public transport.
The amazing food in Chinatown is only 5 minutes walk away.
This hotel is a winner and we would defintiely stay again

Room Tip: Go for a mall view room for great airflow, sonlight and people watching
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ChonyBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very central to all the shops & restaurants. Trams stop close by so getting around is easy. Breakfast is basic but good & as the hotel is full length from front to the back along a small alleyway most rooms are not too noisy. We had a basic room on the front & enjoyed the christmas window dispaly with lights & music that was switched on in the store opposite during our stay.
Not possible to access with a car due to location

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#86 of 162 in Melbourne
1,083 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#134 of 162 in Melbourne
357 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#101 of 162 in Melbourne
852 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 162 in Melbourne
4,265 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £48 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing