We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #110 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth (Coogee)
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Arrived at hotel late afternoon to find a small deck in foyer, check in very easy then to 2nd floor with a small area where they have a continental breakfast in moring fresh apple& orange juice, toast & fruit. Room & bathroom very clean but on the small size bed linen and towels very clean can not fault . Need to use a key card to get into lift to 2nd floor so no strays can get into hotel. I would feel very safe if I was to stay by myself.

Room Tip: Room 609 was ours very quiet but don't expect a view. 2 x single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxysPerth_Coogee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    280
    155
    44
    16
See reviews for
80
268
69
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is an average place to say. I stayed for 3 nights the last time I was in Melbourne. When I arrived it wasn't 2pm yet, so I went for a walk/shop and came back at 3.30pm expecting to be checked in. When I went up to my room, I was accidentally sent to a room that was not made up. When I went back down to the reception to let them know, they upgraded me free of charge to the next room type, which was appropriate. I didn't receive my newspaper to my new room though. I didn't eat breakfast because I was in Melbourne and cafes down the alleyways are where you are meant to eat! On my last morning I had a room attendant knock on my door at 9.30am to remind me that I needed to check out at 10am - like I'd forgotten!

Room Tip: Don't get the basic - it will be too small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Girl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My friend and I were excited about staying at Causeway Inn on the Mall as we'd heard such great things about the location and we were not disappointed about the shops so close by. Right about the Mall with great access to all the shops of the CBD plus excellent tram and bus access this hotel was simple and clean. Unfortunately they had mixed up our booking so when we arrived off a late flight at almost midnight we had to change rooms and had to squeeze into a tiny one which was certainly not what we had booked. The staff were not apologetic for this blunder which was disappointing and annoying as we expected more from an inner city establishment. Overall it was good value but I'd stay somewhere a little nicer next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm room figuration with the hotel staff (not generic reservations number) prior t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

To perhaps add context to the previous comment from Anthony K, in the Cold War era, a lot of East Berlin apartments were actually constructed in separate blocks and then assembled on-site to form the finished building. I know exactly what he means. Tiny rooms, a pillow that compresses into nothingness when you rest your head on it, dreadful breakfast. But it's clean and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjadinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

For people who don't mind a small room and not such a great view, but use the room as a place to sleep, it is great. The location was perfect, just across from the Myer centre and within walking distance to trams and flinders st station. The room was clean and serviced daily, and as Melbourne being quite cold, the staff were happy to supply a extra blanket. Free newspaper was included daily and staff were great in offering a later checkout at no cost as well as holding onto our bags while my partner and i ventured the city. The breakfast was really nice and this place is great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAC0449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Rooms are not large but they are clean, quiet and have the basic necessities. However it is the location that is the real winner - a few steps from the hotel and you are in the Mall. We participated in the Melbourne Marathon so it was easy to get to the MCG early in the morning for the start. Staff were helpful in giving us a few minutes longer to check out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen551115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I chose this hotel for its price and location. The Causeway Inn On the Mall is in an alley directly opposite Myer and David Jones, so it suited our needs for a shopping trip to Melbourne CBD. The basic twin share room was very, very small and the bathroom though clean was a little tired. The beds and pillows were fantastic, firm yet soft and downy.
I would recommend this hotel for short stays only.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 160 in Melbourne
1,059 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#130 of 160 in Melbourne
348 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 160 in Melbourne
737 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Property: Causeway Inn On The Mall
Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing