We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #103 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location but average stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel staff were quite friendly, however the biggest annoyance was the fact that you had to take a slow elevator from the lobby to the second level, only to get out and walk across the level to a different elevator on the other end to take a you up to your floor. Hence, this made leaving your hotel room quite an effort and really took away from the convenient of the hotels location.

However, everything else was good with clean and tidy rooms. Depending on price I'd consider returning.

Room Tip: I'd recommend rooms further from the Burke Street Mall as it can get quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    274
    154
    43
    16
See reviews for
79
266
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I keep returning to the Causeway In on the Mall as it is great value and a fantastic central location in the middle of Burke street mall

in this occasion I was there for 9 nights and was given a room with two single beds, asked for a double bed but due to the season, the hotel was too booked to accommodate, but was ok

This hotel is consistently good and las slightly improved since last time i went there with small things like the individualised yogurt tubs for breakfast and a bottle of water in the fridge every day for my stay there

The only thing i would recommend for the hotel is better lighting in the alleyway that goes to the hotel, and free wifi would be a great bonus too

I keep going to this hotel, and will most likely go back again in the future

if you a looking for good value, great location plus a nice breakfast and a basic and very clean place to stay, i would recommend this hotel

The rooms have a small fridge, kettle, coffee and tea and the usual soaps and shampoos in the shower replenished daily

As it is walking distance to most attractions in the city and in a very safe location, and right next to the Melbourne information booth too.

I hope the review and pictures are helpful :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaidesurflifesavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Rooms are very basic but clean and tidy. We had a room with 2 single beds. Not a lot of space for two people to place suitcases however we were only there to shop and eat so it served us well. Reception staff really helpful at all times. We spent 5 nights here. Central to all shopping. Walking distance to Federation Square etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel was booked by my sister-in-law who has stayed here previously. We stayed here for 5 nights and needed something that was central and easy to get around. Breakfast was included in the cost. It was basic toast, cereal, fruit, etc but was a nice start to the day before sightseeing.

The room we had was a superior double on the 3rd floor. It was fairly small, but then we did have an extra single bed in here to accommodate our son as well as the double bed. There was air con, a fridge, a kettle, tea, coffee and sugar and a safe. Also a bedside cabinet either side of the bed and a phone. There were little cartons of milk in the fridge, along with a couple of bottles of water.

There were big windows in the room, one looking out to the side alley and the other out onto the mall but they were absolutely filthy. The room wasn't super clean, but it was acceptable.

You have to take the lift from the ground floor to the 2nd floor and can only do this by using your room card. This lift can be very slow. From there you have to walk through the dining area in order to access the lift up to further floors.

This hotel has no free wifi. It costs $8 an hour, so we didn't bother. The staff were friendly and helpful. You can book trips through the reception even late at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukdarrenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

3rd - 10th April we spent 8 nights in a superior room 8th floor. A good experience, with city center right on the doorstep. Helpful, friendly meet and greet staff. Hotel was very clean, sheets and towels changed regularly. Large double windowed room overlooking Myers with very comfortable king bed, settee, decent size wardrobe with a safe, small TV, small table and 2 chairs, fridge, tea/coffee facilities and a free bottle of water everyday. Continental breakfast of cereal, fresh fruit, various fruit juices, beautiful fresh warm croissants, toast and spreads more than adequate with friendly efficient staff.
Some good cafe's right outside in the lane that are open all day but not evenings. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would stay again, good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not very expensive compared to other options.
Staff is really not nice, the room is ok (super small, with very very basic shower, but ok), breakfast is ok (nothing particular....) and the location is very good.
The building is weird you have to take several elevators to get to your room, but well....

Overall we had a good time because the location was perfect. Since the price was low, we thought it was ok. but apart from that, it's true that the rest is not great !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueshuaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After booking our break through a travel agent, we were disgusted in the size of the room and the state of the retro bathroom. The carpet between the bedroom and bathroom is totally worn away, the bathroom door is badly water damaged at the bottom, the ceiling is dirty and damaged in the toilet/shower area. We could not close the curtains in our room completely as many of the curtain hooks were broken, thus restricting movement. The windows on the second floor bedroom where we were are closed and sealed in the shut position, thus no fresh air. Aircon only. While having breakfast on our second day we spotted a mouse running about in the dining area, and the gentleman serving there was not in the least bothered when we told him about it. The evening before departing we spoke to the nightshift person at the front desk and we were assured that there is a 24 hour service and that we had to settle our account the next morning. Next morning 5.20, NOBODY at reception. Exit door locked, No way to get out to our shuttle and no means of contacting any hotel staff. Unable to book out.....5.45 an employee arrives at the hotel and unlocks the door from the outside. He was unable to explain the absence of the night staff and unable to help us settle our bill. He the turned around and left. We ended up leaving the hotel premises just before 6, leaving the 2 electronic keys on the counter. Unfortunately we had booked and pre-paid through a travel agent. What a rip-off.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on Little Collins, very noisy..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibothas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 158 in Melbourne
1,031 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#125 of 158 in Melbourne
339 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
1,121 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#106 of 158 in Melbourne
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Property: Causeway Inn On The Mall
Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing