We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #101 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This property is just a hop skip and jump from the Bourke Street Mall, staff were great, room had everything except a view but spent very little time in it during the day. So much to see and do, trams made travelling around Melbourne so easy, entertainment in the Mall fantastic, food unbelievable. It was the best weekend ever and cheap as chips.

Room Tip: A great place to rest when on a short stay in Melbourne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    280
    155
    44
    16
See reviews for
80
268
68
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have given this Hotel and Excellent rating because of the following reasons--You get what you pay for, in this case the Hotel is quite cheap and is in the best location of the central area of Melbourne, you are steps away from the Melbourne Trams, Major shopping centre , restaurants abound, including China Town which about a block away and a fabulous French Laurent Boulangerie Patisserie , only steps away down the end of the lane from the Hotel.Our Room was comfortable and clean , a little on the old side ,and yes, you had to take 2 lifts to get to the rooms, but it is far better then walking up stairs when you are not that young. The staff were the best I have ever came accross, Genevieve , who greeted us was absolutely fantastic .I would definately stay here again, as its the best value Hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Was nervous to stay here after some of the reviews on here but got a great deal so thought would give it a go and I am glad I did. The location was great firstly, right in the middle of the town. The staff were so helpful and friendly. My room was perfectly clean (it was quite small but I stayed alone so had no issue with this). The breakfast was great, lots of choice. I see some comments about the double elevators which was a bit annoying but I usually took the stiars to bypass the first elevator which solved the issue. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Can recommend this hotel, so close to EVERYTHING.......Trams, just u[p the laneway, Hotel disabled room was large and beaut bedding !!!!!! Spent 17 days here !!
Would go here again, if I went back to Melbourne
regards
Audrey

Room Tip: Room faced a large dark wall, was a disabled room, but didn't matter, was out all day everyday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Causeway Inn on the Mall after a trip to the NRL. I had booked a queen room and we arrived early but were able to check in early. The room had three beds instead of just a queen and was a good size. The bathroom was tiny and difficult to dress in but this wasn't a problem - it could possibly be if staying with friends. The location was perfect with many cafes and shops just outside the door and trams very close by. Breakfast was included in our stay but we chose to have breakfast in one of the laneways instead of the continental buffet on offer at the motel. The bed was comfortable and shower pressure was good. Staff were fantastic. I would definitely stay again due to the great price and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a great option for a city break. The location can't be beaten, in a lane just off Bourke St Mall. The hotel is no-frills but very comfortable. The bed was supremely comfortable (the pillows less so, but two together were okay) and the room very quiet. A basic continental breakfast was included in the rate. There was a tram stop just outside so it was very easy to get the 96 to Southern Cross Station for the Skybus, go to St Kilda etc. It was 15 minutes' walk to the National Gallery and the same for Lygon St. The last place I stayed at in Melbourne was so basic it was practically like a backpackers and this was only $15 a night more. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night while visiting Melbourne for an AFL game at the MCG. Hotel seemed very busy at the time, but staff were welcoming and helpful from the beginning of my stay to the time I checked out. Rooms are small but enough for one or two people, value was great for the location of the hotel, and comfortable and clean. Only minutes from Flinders St station which made travel easy to and from the MCG, and shopping mecca Bourke St Mall only metres from the lobby of the hotel. Perfect for shopping trips! Rooms were quiet and comfortable, hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#127 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Property: Causeway Inn On The Mall
Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing