We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay at the Vibe”
Review of Vibe Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Ranked #88 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay at the Vibe”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed her for a night while doing business with our Melbourne office which is just down the road.
The hotel itself looks very old from the outside, but has a fresh modern interior and appears to have been only recently renovated. The room was large clean and modern in its presentation, bed was comfortable. Bathroom had a spa bath, but as other have mention could do with a deep clean, and definitely get rid of the half glass shower screens.
Staff were great, friendly, polite and happy to be there.
Hotel is in a great spot, very handy for the Melbourne Zoo!
All in all a good stay, will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Warrens_of_Conder,

On behalf of the team at Vibe Carlton I thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and for the kind words. The hotel is a 10960's build and looks deceiving from the front however we have, and continue to update and modernise to ensure our guests comfort. Our team are always striving to offer friendly and personalised service and always with a smile. We actually partner with the Zoo and have tickets available at reception. I will be sure to pass the review around and our housekeeping team will definitely investigate the spa baths throughout the hotel. Again thank you for the valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton or one of our Toga Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    428
    178
    79
    31
See reviews for
228
241
108
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yarrawonga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

great location close to town and hospitals. Friendly staff and very reasonably priced. Parking a plus at 10 dollars a night. Restaurant lacked atmosphere and service was pretty ordinary but the food was quite good and the convenience after spending days at hospital made it worthwhile. Pool was sparkling clean but unfortunately the weather wasn't warm enough for swimming. Overall a great place to stay especially for country people with someone in hospital.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trscey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Trscey,

The team and I at Vibe Hotel Carlton would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton. Glad you found the location handy to the hospitals and city with tram access just outside the hotel making it easy to get to and from the hotel and places such as the hospitals and City. We always ensure that our rates reflect our product and are always value for money. I will pass on the review to our housekeeping team who will be glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable. With the weather warming up our guests will be spoilt with our large outdoor swimming pool. Again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton or one of our Toga Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here when we last went to Melbourne. It was central to where we had to go. The staff were extremely friendly and polite, the rooms were clean and bright and reasonably priced. Great value for money. Close to public transport. We will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylene1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Kaylene1959,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton. I will be sure to share your review with the team who will be glad that you found their service to be friendly. Our housekeeping team are always striving to ensure that our product is always clean and comfortable. We are always trying to ensure that we offer value for money and that our rates reflect our product and location. Again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton when you next visit Melbourne or one of our Toga Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The tram stops 20 meters from the hotel, which gave me the mobility I needed, as a solo traveller. The room was very clean in all respects. Nothing flash but for the price, value for money.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Kat W,

Thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Hotel Carlton. We thank you for the kind words and positive review. We always try to ensure that our rates are very competitive and reflect our product. Glad to hear you found the Hotel value for money and clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton or one of our Toga Hotels in the future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

First time staying at the Vibe, very reasonable price for a fantastic location. Jump on the tram to get down town and a stones throw from the Melbourne Zoo and Sydney Road. Clean large rooms.
Situated across from the Princess Gardens short walk to Royal Park. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Megan W,

On behalf of the team at Vibe Hotel Carlton I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always try to ensure that our rates are very competitive and offer great value for money. The Hotel is in a fantastic location on the City fringe just a short tram ride from the City and a stones’ throw away from amazing shopping along Sydney Road and cafes' and restaurants of Lygon street. For the fitness fanatic Princess Park is opposite which offers a great 3.5 km running or walking track. I will be sure to pass your review onto our wonderful housekeeping team to ensure that they continue to keep our rooms looking sparkling and clean. Again thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton or one of our Toga Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The location and price of this hotel was perfect for us. We needed one night accommodation in Melbourne before travelling back to Tassie on the Spirit. We needed somewhere to park our car and didn't want to fight with Melbourne traffic which is unfamiliar to us.
The booking process was simple, with all of the options explained clearly. Check-in was fast and simple - thank you Abhi. All questions were answered re tram lines, tram tickets, zoo access, parking issues and shopping centre locations - thank you Abhi. The lift still isn't working but Abhi insisted someone would bring our bags to our room. The room was very fresh and clean and appeared just as they did on the 'net. The rooms are a little bit tired, with wall scuffing but nothing of concern. The beds were very comfortable and the room lovely and warm. The pool area and gym looked amazing but not warm enough to use; even by someone from the South. We would definitely stay here again, especially if we had a car with us. The tram trip into and out of the city was cramped and slow during peak times, but not of concern if you plan ahead. The buffet breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Kim F,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Hotel Carlton and for the kind words. I will be sure to share this with our team especially Abhi. It is always our aim to offer a clean, comfortable hotel at a competitive rate. Our team always strive to offer personal and attentive service at all times. Again thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton or one of our Toga Hotels in the future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Recently stayed for the 5th time at Vibe Carlton. The hotel is looking and feeling very tired. Mold all over the bathroom ceiling and ingrained in the tile grout is never an encouraging look.
Ordered room service food which I would be overstating how good it was if I described it as average. Breakfast is not good either, stodgy eggs and undercooked bacon. You certainly won't come here for the food.
Beds are comfortable and apart from carpet stains it appears clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Neil S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Hotel Carlton. Sorry to hear your experience was not the best and I can ensure you this review has been passed onto our team. We are currently undergoing a new refurbishment program to replace our carpets, Blinds and sheers and update all of our bathrooms. These works should be complete by early next year. Glad you found our new beds to be comfortable. We do hope that we can welcome you back once our refurbishment is complete.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 160 in Melbourne
3,553 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Carlton

Property: Vibe Hotel Carlton
Address: 441 Royal Pde | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Parkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vibe Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing