We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value”
Review of Vibe Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Ranked #88 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 23 December 2006

I stayed here back in May for one night. I found it for $95 on Jetstars website, and grabbed it while I could.
Luckily we decided to hire a car, as it would have been difficult getting around, even though the tram goes directly pass the hotel.
We were given a room on the 2nd floor, but when we walked in, it was a Queen bed, after booking a twin room.
Went back down to the front desk, and the Receptionist apologised, and gave us a room on the 3rd floor. This room faced the main road, but was quiet enough.
The room had been done up recently, and was fantastic value for money.
I would stay here again if the price was right,

  • Liked — The Rooms were fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed May 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Front Office Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Dear Jazzamcc,

Thank you for your review of Vibe Hotel Carlton.

Kind regards,
Amanda Carswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    425
    175
    78
    31
See reviews for
225
239
107
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

Vibe is terrific small hotel located close to public transport and lovely parklands.
We regularly visit Melbourne to see family and friends and always stay here as it is convenient to the city (15 minutes by tram that passes outside the front door), has ample free parking and a fresh stylish feel to it. It has a small pool (great for those hot summer days) and a newly built gym, spa and sauna.
The staff have always been very accomodating and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grubduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Front Office Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Dear grubduck,

Thank you for your review of Vibe Hotel Carlton.

We are so pleased to hear you had such a fantastic stay.

Kind regards,
Amanda Carswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2005

Stayed here for 3 nights in the summer. Was recently refurbished at the time, got a great deal off the web for $80 King room. Room was very clean and large, decor was relativley new and looked as though was just purchased from Ikea. The pool was large and basic, nice and cool form the 30+ temps at the time. The Melbourne zoo is 10 mins walk away, as is a golf course. The tram stops 50 metres either side of the hotel, which is only 15 mins into the city and 5 mins to the Queen Victoria Market. Brillant little hotel ideally located and no noise from traffic or other guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dickfos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Front Office Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Dear Dan Gale,

Thank you for your review at Vibe Hotel Carlton.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards,
Amanda Carswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2005

We stayed at The Vibe rather than our usual hotel, for 5 days mainly for its location. We booked a 'king room' and were given a room very close to the main reception area. After 30 minutes in the room, listening to every phone conversation word for word emanating from the front desk, we asked to change rooms. The male manager couldn't have cared less and just said "to close the service door in between". It was disappointing that someone staying for 5 nights wasnt shown more interest. Luckily one friendly reception staff girl showed us 2 other rooms on the first floor. This had a king bed (2 singles pushed together) and a balcony. The springs in the bed could be felt and heard everytime you moved and I am not a heavy person. This hotel has a large Chinese clientele. Every morning we would hear people spitting loudly over the balcony into the unfinished pool area below. The hot breakfast buffet, included in the rate, was always floating in grease and one day was completely cold. Lukewarm grey srambled eggs, fruit brought out and then instantly devoured by the Chinese groups and not replaced. Yoghurt always empty. One morning a chef actually appeared and restocked the hot food. Others there also complained about the cold 'hot' food. The staff didnt seem to care. I could go on but this hotel is obviously tailored for tour groups and not individual bookings-beware!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank huddoshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Front Office Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 20 April 2016
Dear Amanda Hudson,

Thank you for your review at Vibe Hotel Carlton.

Kind regards,
Amanda Carswell
Vibe Hotel Cartlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 September 2004

Stayed there twice, both were pleasant experience. Rooms are good and with balcony too ....
Excellent parking area and can get a tram to the CBD pretty easily, the stop is just 5 meters across the road.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Front Office Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Dear Morgan Lee,

Thank you for your review at Vibe Hotel Carlton. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay.

Kind regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,469 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Carlton

Property: Vibe Hotel Carlton
Address: 441 Royal Pde | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Parkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vibe Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing