We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at the Downtowner on New Year's Eve - staff at reception were excellent and helpful.
Position of hotel is great as no noise from the city crowds but a lovely walk from the city. Breakfast was very good and once again service was fantastic. Bed very comfortable - overall we enjoyed our one night stay at the Downtowner very much. Frank and Lucy F.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear RelaxerSeaford,

Thank you for your comments about both the reception and breakfast teams.

I am pleased you enjoyed being close to all Melbourne has to offer without the hassle of dealing with the crowds and noise.

I hope you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

My recent stay was excellent and staff, including cleaning staff, were very helpful. Will definitely stay there again. Close to Melb city, trams & eating places. Even though they did not charge for car parking previously, the fee of $5.00 per night is very reasonable

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Christine W,

Thank you for your review on hotel.

I appreciate your comments on the $5 car parking, but as you point out it is very good value for the added security of being off the street and the convenience of parking close to your room.

Please come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel was clean and adequately appointed more like a motel than a hotel but very well priced. Staff very helpful. The crowning glory however is the location - literally within walking distance of everywhere. Very happy and we keep going back there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Tony M,

I was pleased to read your comments on our team and that you enjoyed our location. Also really pleased to hear you will be a returning customer- don't leave it too long though and come and see us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked on line and not disappointed. One night stay before flying out, great room, great helpful reservation staff. Quiet, little traffic noise, metres from Lygon Street restaurants, what more could we want. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear mamiab,

Thanks for the perfect score- really pleased we were able to look after you on your last stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent room with all facilities - comfortable bed. Handy location for sight seeing (museum, old gaol, tourist bus, metro station) and restaurants. Excellent cooked breakfast. Covered walkway/balcony for smoking. Air conditioning appreciated on 40 degree C. day! Great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shewry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear shewry26,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you found us well located for all the top Melbourne attractions. Also pleased to read you enjoyed our renowned breakfast and the room was comfortable.

Please stay with us again on your next visit to our fantastic city.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I attended a conference that was held at the Downtowner in December 2013. Check in was smooth, and friendly, and the room was quite large, clean and tidy, although a little dated. Bed was very comfy, and everything in the room worked well. The bathroom is able to be closed off by a sliding door, which blocked most of the noise that was coming from Lygon Street. The conference facilities were good, with everything we needed, lunch, morning and afternoon teas were also good. Hot breakfast is cooked to order, which is so much better than the usual buffet.
Location is fantastic, easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and the Lygon Street night life.
I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't have a room facing Lygon Street, which is busy 24/7 with traffic and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppcp19792015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear pp1979,

Thank you for your comments about your conference at the hotel and our suitability for business travelers. We have many corporate guests who stay with us regularly for exactly what you mention as well as the on site car parking and Free WIFI.

All our conference rooms have lots of natural and include modern audio visual equipment as standard, as well as a range of catering packages which you mention.

Please use us again for your next conference or event in Melbourne, and please contact me directly if you would like to arrange discounted corporate rates for your company.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for 3-4 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and very helpful and the hotel including the rooms were of a very good standard. To get to the CBD involves approx a 10-15 min walk. Buffet breakfast was decent, can't remember the price though although I remember it not being too pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear dotbd,

Thank you for your kind words about our team.

Our breakfast is only $20 if booked as part of your stay and includes a wide slection of continental dishes including charcuterie; cheese selection; fresh fruits and juices and bakers corner...in addition it also includes all hot food cooked to order from our a la carte menu- a good value proposition.

Please try our a la carte dinner menu as well on your next visit to our shores

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#70 of 161 in Melbourne
2,347 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#65 of 161 in Melbourne
467 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £198 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing