We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #58 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

It doesn't look like much from the outside and as other reviewers have pointed out it's more motel than hotel but the place is nicely furnished, clean and comfortable.

Where this hotel really wins is with its service. Everyone on reception was cheery and helpful with my requests (taxi bookings/early check-in). Really a lot better than at some of the more up market places.

Also I was given free chocolates shortly after checking-in. I am always up for that.

It's in a good location - walking distance to CBD and also next to the famous restaurants on Lygon Street.

I usually like to have a workout, particularly if I am away from home for a couple of days and there wasn't a gym on site but that really is a minor qualm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashreign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Ashreign,

Thank you for your feedback, and I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and our team so friendly - personalized service is something that we really aspire to and too often in large hotels formality is used as a guise for genuine hospitality.

On your next stay, we offer complimentary use of the MCB which is one of the top gyms in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    395
    100
    15
    10
See reviews for
137
272
57
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Downtowner for our honeymoon. The rooms were much nicer than I expected - very tidy, comfortable and modern. The location was fantastic - close walking distance to most central attractions. My only criticism is occasionally the mini bar wasn't restocked and it took several calls to get some milk for our coffees, but asides from that the stay was very pleasant. I would definitely return and recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 233MarieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear 233MariaC,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, and thank you for choosing us to stay with on your honeymoon. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and apologise for the oversight with your minibar.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in a spa room (free upgrade thanks to checking in with Facebook!) while attending a weekend convention nearby. The location was perfect, the room basic but clean and modern. Where this place really shines is in the amazing staff, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome, comfortable and looked after. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Louise65,

I am really pleased that our team went the extra mile for you and that you also took advantage of the FB promotion.

Come and visit us again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were used to travelling for business for many years and always stayed in 5 star hotels. These days with our own business and not the same budget, we're still looking for a hotel that meets our business and comfort needs but is more of a value option - the Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon certainly fits the bill. It's certainly not a 5 star hotel as it's more like a motel, but don't be put off as it's miles better than most hotels!

It looks like this building was the old style motel however the refurbishment has been carried out from top to bottom and it works very well. There is parking inside the central courtyard (although we didn't need it this trip) and a very welcoming team at check in. Our room was on Level 1 and we were surprised it was so good. It was a decent size although just a standard King Room and with everything you needed - including a desk as well as a round dining table - so enough space if there are two of you and you both need space for computers etc.

The bed was extremely comfortable with bedside lights either side. What I really liked was the bathroom. It was an excellent size including a really good sized shower. Also there was enough bench space to put our both sets of toiletries. It had everything we needed and one of the best laid out bathrooms we've seen.

Also, wifi was free at the hotel! I wish all hotels did this! And being on Lygon St Carlton is the perfect spot! It's very close to the city yet walking distance to cafes.

Compared to many other hotels we've stayed in during our Melbourne visits, this one was the best and is great value for money. We booked using Wotif - it's always worth checking the various online booking engines to find the best price (we use hotel.com as well as agoda but mainly for Australia use Wotif). I think we paid under AU$160 a night for a King Room.

The pictures of the rooms on the hotels' own website are very accurate so look there if you want to check on the place. http://www.downtowner.com.au/sleep.html

We will be back. It's the perfect business hotel for us in Melbourne.

Room Tip: I think the standard King rooms are great - no need to take a more expensive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear MIWSing,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

I appreciate your thoughts on the building which from the exterior does not have as much appeal and standards on the interior- as the analogy goes " it whats on the inside that counts!"

Our rooms are well designed with the space and amenities to make a business stay very comfortable and the free WIFI is something we feel adds a lot of value to our offering- i am pleased both were to your liking.

For your next stay, please call us directly or go on to our website as we often have specials that you may find attractive.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
252 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were a bit worried about staying in a seemingly budget hotel near Melbourne City but it had been recommended and it reviewed well. The layout is not impressive. It is sort of motel looking with the parking courtyard in the middle and rooms around the balconies. However it turned out to be perfect for what we needed. The service was great. There was no hesitation in allowing early check-in as long as there was a room ready. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Internet was included and was a fast connection – a standard a few other hotels should follow. The location was really convenient and while it is close to some nightlife areas it was quiet. I would say it is one of the better value hotels we've used for business stays in Melbourne, and is on the airport side of the city making it easy access for arrival and departure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Anwil51,

I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations of us. We aspire to be the best at what we do and our focus is always on good service and a high standard of genuine hospitality- in which respect few large hotels can match us.

I am pleased you were able to make use of our free high speed WIFI and I agree that this service should be available in all hotels.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were serviced everyday which was great as we were given clean towels everyday we were there. It's close to the CBD - walking distance. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raviwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Raviwan,

Thanks for review and kind comments about our housekeeping team.
Come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed for two nights and could notice why it is Quality Downtowner. Great quality of service from the beginning to the end. Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, comfy beds and well cooked breakfast. I will definitely come back with family and friends.Thank you all guys!.

Room Tip: A bit of noise from Lygon St, but it could be expected due to the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Albert L,

Thanks for the perfect score!

I really appreciate your feedback on our comfy beds and our breakfast offering. Both are things we consider pillars of a good hotel stay.

Be our guest again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#49 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#74 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Property: Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing