We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #65 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 December 2008

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Downtowner on Lygon. We have an annual Xmas party that we attend in Lygon St and this is an ideal city crash pad. The bed is huge and truly the best hotel bed I've ever slept in - it even beats the bed at home!
I love the decor which has cleverly updated what would have been a very standard 60's hotel/ motel. The use of wood and glass is contemporary but retro and feels like a cool inner city apartment without trying too hard. If you have mobility issues watch the bathrooms as most have a step up into a shower over the bath which can be tricky. The water pressure and shower are a bit of a let down but not enough of an issue to stop us staying here. The location is great, the rooms are comfy and it has car parking for $10 - a fantastic city fringe option at an excellent price!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in June 2008 based on the tripadvisor reviews.

The reviews were spot on. Great hotel!!!

The room was large, clean with a king sized bed. Staff were friendly and the hotels location is a stones throw from the centre of Melbourne. Also being on Lygon Street meant we were able to try some of the local restaurants. The rpioce of the room was more than fair!

Highly recommend this hotel for price, location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

My girlfriend and I were looking for a relatively budget hotel in the Carlton area for a one night stay (visiting for the football) and the Quality Downtowner was exactly what we were looking for.

The reception staff were friendly and the hotel is pleasantly furnished throughout. The rooms, while small, have a large and VERY comfortable King size bed and appear to have recently been renovated. There is a nice plasma tv and the bathroom was quite well sized. One criticism would be the strange bath/shower set-up that made getting in and out quite an involved process.

The location is the big winner with this hotel though. Right on the corner of Lygon st and Queensberry road you are a stones throw from Lygon st restaurants and walking distance from the city, the Yarra river and the MCG.

I would highly recommend the Quality Downtowner and will no doubt be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SamJackson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

The Lonely Planet travel guides have been a great resource for our family on both business and pleasure trips, and its recommendation led me to check out Downtowner on Lygon. We needed to book two rooms and found rates reasonable, considering the location, cleanliness, bright room, and spacious bathroom. Very friendly, helpful staff and free Internet access in lobby were immediate welcomes upon arriving. We loved being able to walk just a few blocks in one direction to the free trams around the city's grid of attractions, and walking in the other direction to enjoy many wonderful Italian cafes during our 5-day visit. Would definitely stay here again -- and wish the Brunetti's and Jimmy Watson's cafes were close to home!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buzz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

This is a great hotel, decor is contempory, very clean and spacious, the beds are enormous and we had our own spa bath which was big enought to fit the whole family in, they also provided us with a toaster which came in quiet handy. They also had free internet in the lobby which was useful.

my sister and her family booked 1 off the apartments which was superb, they even had there own kitchen.

the location is great, you are right on the doorstep off lygon street which has some of the best restaurants in Melbourne and is within easy walking distance the tram or Bourke street.

the rate was really reasonable, we paid $159 for a family room. definatley stay at this hotle again

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SopranoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

I have stayed in this hotel for business a few times now and I highly recommend it especially if you are looking for quality and clean accommodation around Carlton area.

It is about a 10-minute walk to the CBD (Bourke St.) and only a couple of blocks from Melbourne Central. Great restaurants on Lygon right on your doorstep which all come alive at night. I also highly recommend a cup of gelato ice cream just a few doors up the next block on Lygon.

What I like the most is that guests of the hotel have free access to Melbourne City Baths (gym, pools, aerobics, etc). They also serve a good buffet breakfast at the restaurant so it is worth booking the room with brekky.

I found the rooms fairly quite. The hotel is only a four story building - so the higher the floor the better when it comes to not getting too much of the street noise.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Scorpio711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Serena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#54 of 161 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#88 of 161 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#71 of 161 in Melbourne
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,456 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £180 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing