We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #98 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is located just behind Lygon street which means that all your culinary needs are just a short stroll away. It is also a short cab ride into the city ($10-15 AUD, depending on traffic conditions of course) so it is a viable solution for a cheaper city alternative.

The rooms are pretty small, however, they are clean and have all the amenities required for a comfortable stay.

The service was great. Couldn't figure out how to get the heater working and a staff member was up in no time to have a look at it and got it working.

There is free on site parking, but beware that this is on first come first served basis. There is also a car park next door for $15 per day and also on street parking as signed (most of the ones I saw were 1/2 or 1 hour).

The breakfast was simple and there was not much for choice, considering it was only $10 per adult you can't really expect a 5 star spread anyway. My word of advice would be to utilise the area and take a walk down to a local cafe. This way you won't need to wake up early to make it in time for breakfast (finished at 9:30am on the Sunday morning) and you will get a wider variety and most likely much better quality.

All up it was a good value hotel, and I would stay there again if I was looking for a budget alternative in the city area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, close to restaurants in Lygon Street, walking distance to University of Melbourne, and Royal Melbourne Hospital, and to Melbourne Museum and Imax Theatre. Good place to stay for families with children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Elizabeth C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed at the Best Western Travel Inn for a girly weekend break in Melbourne.
We had a deluxe double room to share and were very happy with our stay. No complaints.
The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful! The hotel was clean, modern and comfortable! Massive, huge king size bed, clean modern bathroom, fridge, ironing facilities, great adjustable heating for the room also.
Only 2 blocks walk to jump on a tram to city centre (10 mins on tram from centre) and only $10-14 for taxis from city centre to hotel.
Lots and lots of cafés and restaurants nearby ( strong Italian influence).
Overall we were very happy with our stay, we found it good value. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel once so can't comment on that. Our only slight complaint is that wifi access comes at a charge of $7.50 an hour! In this day and age wifi should be provided to all hotel guests for free considering we have chosen to stay here over other choices.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Haggis-Lady26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had a wonderful time while staying at the Best Western in Carlton, it's close proximity to the CBD, access to public transport and local shops/restaurants. It was perfect for us as we were there for Oz Comic-Con. I found the room very comfortable and clean. The one downside was that on the Sunday evening , we experienced some disturbances from across the hall with other patrons being incredible loud, however, this was not the fault of staff. One of the best things was being able to get the Starbus shuttle to the airport which was only $20 per person.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Holidayer3994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here recently and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money this hotel offered for its location. The room decor, whilst a bit dated, was certainly clean and tidy and housekeeping was regular and efficient. We had gone over for a football weekend and could not have had a better place, so close to Swanston Street and the trams and Lygon Street for before game breakfast and after game dinner. Supermarket just around the corner for refreshments and supplies. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren_Buzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The room was spacious but badly laid out. There was a huge shower in the bathroom but very little storage space to put toiletries. There was no wifi in the rooms as they said they were updating the system, so any internet activities had to be carried out in the noisy and freezing cold reception. Housekeeping was hit and miss - we had to ask for towels, one day there was a dirty wet towel left in the shower tray and there was on one occasion no creamer for the morning tea, a bit of a pain!Breakfast was vastly overpriced at 14 dollars for coffee and a pastry. The coffee was dreadful too. Although the overall cleanliness in the rooms was fine the basket for used paper towels in the downstairs toilet was always overflowing and on my last morning the tables and the floor in reception were covered with muffin crumbs. Not a great welcome for new visitors. I would not stay here again despite the reasonable location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philippa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed three nights hear, we got the King deluxe room was totally disappointed I couldnt even use the basin in the bathroom as it was so small my head hit the wall I paid for a buffet breakfast and was told that I had to order from the menu anf the wait staff was so rude !!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nikos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#60 of 161 in Melbourne
465 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#155 of 161 in Melbourne
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
441 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#92 of 161 in Melbourne
1,957 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
#100 of 161 in Melbourne
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel

Address: 225 Drummond Street, Carlton | Cnr Grattan And Drummond Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £81 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions including Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Buildings, Imax, University of Melbourne, Royal Melbourne Hospital to name a few. We welcome our guests to take advantage of our location while enjoying our well-appointed rooms and services. Our hotel restaurant and bar is a relaxing area where guests can reflect and enjoy our seasonal menu with a refreshing beverage. We have easy access to trams, buses, trains and major highways, hotel car parking available if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing