We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel for practicalities and not for show” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins
Ranked #103 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hotel for practicalities and not for show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I've stayed here occasionally on business and have always been well looked after. Check-in is always quick and it's not unusual to get upgraded.
The hotel is well located close to the airport Skybus, Southern Cross station as well as many of the main tram routes. A number of supermarkets are nearby too. If you have a room facing the street, it can get a little noisy with the trams dinging as they go around the corner however that adds to the character of the area. Not everyone is looking for 5 star service so it's nice to find a hotel fridge not already cluttered with overpriced drinks. The breakfast was fine although I don't partake very often. Perhaps the only drawback is the lack of pay TV but that's not a big deal.
If I was travelling for pleasure and not for work, I would still quite happily stay here. Don't expect the world and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BatmansHillSales, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

We are pleased to read that you have had several pleasant stays with us, your right we don't have pay TV but we do offer free in house movies, next time you stay we hope you can enjoy these.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit your review, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    340
    214
    89
    51
See reviews for
161
271
80
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Location wise it was perfect. Lots of important stuff within walking distance e.g. supermarket, eateries, Southern Cross Station diagonally across the road from the hotel, walking distance to day tour pick ups, walking distance to free city tram stop.

For the hotel itself, actually booked a family room but given a one-bdrm apartment with a king and several singles for a 5-night stay which was appreciated. (Thank you) But that is as good as it gets. For a start, wifi is complimentary for only an hour a day. You know something is not quite right when you look at the phone and find that all requests go through reception. There isn't even a dedicated housekeeping line? Basic amenities that you really expect to have in hotel rooms it is not provided for here e.g. bath slippers, shower gel (yup, you are given only the tiny round soap here which most hotels provide as hand soaps) in room safe (I can't imagine an apartment without providing a safe. You have to deposit important stuff like your passports in a safe deposit box at front desk) And back to the housekeeping... called to request for assistance regarding the bathtub one night, was promised to send someone up to check, never came. (I actually expected this considering reception handles all calls)

But all in all I don't have too much of an issue. You wouldn't either if you spend little time in the hotel and mostly out on day tours or exploring the city. I would have given a rating of 3.5 if I could as average isn't quite fair and very good is too much to give.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TuckWeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BatmansHillSales, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins with your family.

It is great to read that our location was to your liking and that our Front desk staff were able to upgrade you to a 4 Star apartment free of charge from a 3.5 Star Standard Family room that was booked for the duration of your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

we loved it we had a suite of rooms and there was 4 of us two adults and two children. very friendly spacious suits very clean. it is ideal if you want to be in a place where it is easy to get to the attractions. we went back there 3 years later and still loved it. It is right by the railway which is brilliant.

Room Tip: best ones if you have a suite otherwise it can be noisy if you are in a bedroom as people get up al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BatmansHillSales, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed in a twin room on the third floor last weekend 31 May/1 June with a friend. No carpet in room so it was very sterile and noisy. The window seat had stains all over it, and there was a really unpleasant smell. There was also the added inconvenience of no direct lift access from the ground floor to the room - having to go up the staircase to the 1st floor, then down another set of stairs to lifts then up to the room, and on the way down the same in reverse. There are lifts on the ground floor but we were told they were for staff only. In all really disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHOCsales, at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear Javad,

thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. It's awesome to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that our location was perfect for your requirements.

We do hope you will have the chance to come back to Melbourne and to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in room 507, a standard double room which was more like a shoe box with hardly any space in the tiny wardrobe and 2 shallow drawers for clothes. The air conditioners outside the room were very noisy at night. Felt very disappointed.

Room Tip: Floor 5 was very noisy at night from A/C units and the standard double room we had (room 507) was ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BatmansHillSales, Rooms Division Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

We are sorry to hear your stay wasn't as expected and appreciate you informing us about the noise from the Air Conditioner outside Room 507, I have reported this to our Maintenance Department who will investigate and repair.

Thanks again for taking the time to submit your feedback, we can't fix problems we are not aware of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Lucky to have 3 stars. Good location. Rooms very small, cheaply done and lacked items such as spare blankets. Bar fridge only contained milk. Staff seemed to be unaware of level of assistance required by some guests. Staff polite but appeared disorganised and unapproachable. Restaurant average. Would only stay for an overnight if I had to.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank missy2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were so helpful, the location is ideal to reach so many places in Melbourne CBD on foot. We booked only the room as there are plenty of places to eat around as you walk out of the Hotel. Access to the hotel is so easy as it is almost opposite the Souther cross. So we had to only take the sky bus to get to Southern cross and then cross the road to get to the Hotel. This hotel is totally worth the money we spent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Imali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BatmansHillSales, Rooms Division Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

Your positive feedback is welcomed as we are proud of our Hotel, the staff are happy to help all our guests with any information they need to make their day easier and it is great you have taken the time to say you had a good stay.

Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Property: Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins
Address: 623 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#92 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Melbourne CBD, Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins is right opposite the Southern Cross Station and within walking distance of many of the city's best-known attractions. Our modern facilities include a range of 190 convenient and comfortable suites from 20 sq m economy rooms, 28 sq m premiere rooms and fully equipped apartment from 35 sq m studios to 50 sq m 2 bedrooms. A great choice whether it is for short trips or longer-term stays. Function rooms can cater up to 180 guests for either business conferences or private parties. Choose from a variety of wining and dining options at our restaurants and bars, including a $12 daily lunch that is popular with both local Melbournians as well as guests staying at our hotel. Free unlimited data web browsing Wi-Fi and multi-device hi-speed packages available at an extra cost will keep you connected while away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing