We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, we loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great stay, we loved it!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Was great to get away for a few nights with my wife.
We stayed in a club room, awesome having the lounge there for access.
Upon arrival we were upgraded to breakfast at the restaurant which was swell. And the service was outstanding. A guy named Jason was so helpful. A few things stood out. In the club lounge, I was asking if he knew how to make a martini, he didn't, but he figured it out and it tasted great! Then when we were leaving, we needed a maxitaxi, there wasn't one within hauling distance so he walked to one he saw a block and a half away... All the staff were great, but this guy was above and beyond. Thanks marriott.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benopeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Benopeters,

Thank you very much for such an amazing review!

So glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, Jason is one of our long serving employees he has been at the hotel for 7 years and is a great asset to the team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to him and the team.

I do hope that we get to welcome you and your wife back to the hotel soon!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    486
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
337
477
87
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the lead up to Christmas. The Marriott is a $10 taxi fare from Southern Cross station where we caught the Skybus from the airport.
The staff were superb, sparkling wine on arrival at the check in desk and daily Xmas chocolates. All the staff we encountered were friendly and attentive. We requested a quiet room away from the lifts and this was accommodated. The rooms are a little dated but a good size with extra room for a small table and an arm chair with foot stool.
Well located for city shopping, Chinatown as well as a short walk to the trendy Gertrude Street in Fitzroy. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: quieter away from the lifts as is usual anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkippyTravellerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear SkippyTravellerChick,

Thank you so much for your detailed contribution to tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at the hotel.

It sounds like you and your partner had an amazing time exploring some of the many attractions that surround the hotel!

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encounter Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a mystery deal through Wotif. The room was lovely. It was spacious and clean. However, we chose to stay in the executive suite and so I guess I expected more. Our Television was broken, the volume wouldn't go up past 30. We had purchased an in-house movie for $17.95 and could hardly hear it. The other issue I had was with the executive lounge. We have stayed in other executive suites before and this lounge was nowhere near the level of other hotels we have visited before.
I don't like giving bad reviews, however it is not a place I would rush back to.
On the plus side however, we ordered room service (salmon and Kilpatrick oysters) and they were outstanding. The staff at reception were lovely also.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee9x9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Renee9x9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor to share your experience on the Melbourne Marriott Hotel. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. Please know that we have taken note of your comments and have since had engineering look at your TV.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Marriot over New Years. Found all staff, check-in, concierge and cleaning staff very friendly and happy to provide some suggestions when they knew what we were planning that day.

Room was comfortable and perfect for our needs.

Only improvement could be the pool & gym. Pool designed more for use by kids than adults, pool toys everywhere even though pool not used. It would be nice if we did not have to remove these before our swim. Gym is very small.

Lots of small restaurants and cafes nearby so did not eat at hotel, and it is close to Melbourne free trams, so transport very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleraust03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Arnaud, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I travelled with two children. On arrival at the hotel we were made to feel like royalty, the staff were very attentive and extremely friendly. The children were given activity packs by the concierge and I was handed a glass of bubbly while checking in. The reception staff changed our room allocation so that the children had a courtyard room to 'stretch their legs'.
The room itself was fantastic and spacious. I booked directly with the hotel and requested 2 double beds - which was happily accommodated.
The buffet breakfast was delicious (although the $17.50/child is a little rich I feel, considering their small appetites).
I am a little surprised at some of the negative reviews - I would highly recommend this hotel to others and will definitely stay again.
Fantastic staff!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chev39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Just return from an amazing 4 night stay over Christmas period @ Marriott Melbourne.Travelled as a family of 4 (2 adults + 2 kids- 6 & 4yrs) greeted with smiles by friendly staff throughout our stay.Free complimentary WIFI.Room clean & comfortable beds.Great selection of tasty food.Wonderful staff particularly Brian (in dining) he was exceptional,kept my kids entertained & they loved the high 5's he gave them after breakfast.5 star service.Thank you Marriott.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thabani4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and i spent last night at The Marriott for hubby's bday. We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff and a glass of champagne. I instantly knew that this hotel would be different to other 5 stars we have stayed in Melbourne.

The rooms are neat and tidy. Although a little more old school than some of the newer Melbourne 5 stars it doesn't matter. It adds to the charm of the hotel. We had booked an executive lounge room and highly recommend it. We attend the evening canapes and drinks and i could have sat there all night at my window seat overlooking Melbourne sky scrapers whilst eating from the good selection of food on offer and drinking endless glasses of wine!

Its the little touches that make this hotel unique. The staff are some friendly and make it personal. They remembered it was hubby's bday and would ask how his day/evening was going. Special shout out to Ben on the Conceirge. Check in/check out was effortless and fast. Later check out of 11am. We came back from canapes to find our bed turned back and chocolates on our pillows. These are the little things we have not experienced before at other 5 stars in Melbourne.

Tip: Get to canape time either right on 5.30 or a little later like 7 as it can get busy and hard to get a seat. Same goes for breakfast in the executive lounge. Leave it a little later to secure a seat.

We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RissyJonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,476 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,651 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,187 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing