We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Tourists not for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great for Tourists not for Business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a 2 day meeting and the room size was great the food in the breaks was great however the temperature of the room could not be adjusted no matter how often we requested. The coktail party was adequate however all the foods appeared to be deep fried and unhealthy.

The gym is basic and not quite adequate, the pool is over chlorinated.

The room however was a pleasant surprise with everything I needed and it was clean. I would not stay there again unless I needed to attend a meeting there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Kruiza,
I was sorry to hear that you had problems with the temperature in your meeting room here at the Melbourne Marriott. Our system does not have an instant response when adjusted but we normally have few concerns. Your comments have been discussed with our Engineer in some length and better training of our Banquet team will be undertaken. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort on this occasion and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We offer a huge range of menu items for cocktail functions available for selection by the conference organizers (actually more fresh items than fried). It would therefore be best to mention your preference to the organizer.

I was pleased to hear that you were happy with your room and do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    476
    101
    34
    14
See reviews for
319
451
85
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for a work conference and was blown away by the service. I had reason to celebrate and mentioned this upon check in as I was handed a glass of bubbly. A chilled bottle of sparkling subsequently arrived in my room with a personalized card. Gotta love that!! Great staff, great food, excellent location snd comfy rooms. What's not to love?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinny549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Skinny549,

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us earlier in the month.

We do try very hard and it's great to hear that it's appreciated.

Come back soon!

Kindest regards,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

hotel room was great, a little dated but clean and tidy.
Hotel showing its age though.

Main let down was elements bar where ordering 2 *$18 drinks were just dropped at the table. No napkins provided with drinks, No plate for discarding fruit pips and skins from drink, left on table, No nuts to enjoy with drink.
Served in plastic glass ware. Mcdonlad service for so called 5 star bar.
Bar not very professionally presented for 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmmMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear jjmmMelbourne,

I was most upset to hear of your disappointment with the serving of your drinks in our Elements Bar. Please be assured this is not our usual standard and I am very sorry for your concerns on this occasion. Thank you sincerely for bringing it to my attention to follow up.

I do hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay with the family.

With kindest regards,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Everything about this Marriott was exemplary, from the quality of the room, the amenities in the Executive lounge ( including complementary beer and wine), the welcoming staff, and the excellent location in the CBD. The entire staff was warm and courteous. The hotel is also located on the airport shuttle bus route.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Madmaxwell48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Madmaxwell48,

Thanks so much for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit!

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I spent six night at the Melbourne Marriott Hotel during our trip trhoughout Australia.

We didn't actually chose this hotel specifically, since we booked it using the "Name your own price" feature on Priceline, so we ended up here by chance.
Initially, I was quite skeptical, because I managed to get a great price that seemed too good to be true. But, in the end, we were lucky to get a luxury hotel for very little money.

The Melbourne Marriott is conveniently located in the Melbourne CBD, where you have many things in walking distance. Public transportation is also very well accessible from this location.

The building is nice and clean. The staff courteous and helpful and they greeted us with a glass of sparkling wine, which is always very appreciated.

The room was on a lower level, overlooking the indoor pool. There wasn't a lot of natural light, but, it wasn't a big deal.

The room was big and clean and it had a nice living area with a desk and a bar equipped with a refrigerator, a toaster and a kettle.

The bathroom is roomy and the shower is also big and comfortable.

All in all, my wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Marriott and we honestly couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Simone,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us back in December. So pleased to hear that you "lucked" on to us!

We are conveniently located in the CBD, which is very handy - particularly when you are on holidays.

I do hope you enjoyed your trip around Australia and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne one day.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton - UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 17 nights whilst on a 2 week business trip from the UK. We really liked the hotel, as always it had the standard incredible quality of a Marriott hotel. The staff were great too and really made us feel welcome. The location is good and near to lots of great restaurants and parks to visit. The business lounge served up great breakfast and dinner each evening - was really good quality. The breakfast in the main restaurant was something special as well, and must be given a go! Don't forget to check out the pool, we left this too late which was a real shame!

Room Tip: Dont forget to go to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiePryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Jamie,

I was delighted you both enjoyed your 'rather lengthy' visit here with us in Melbourne last year.

Everything we do is aimed at providing an excellent hotel experience and feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts.

Hope you get to visit Australia and the Melbourne Marriott again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Johns, Fla
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas and had a nice visit. The hotel lived up to it's rating, for the property, the room and the staff/service. The location is good also, being in the CBD. We were able to walk most places, and caught the free trolley and the hop-on hop-off bus nearby.

Our room was on a low floor, which was quick for getting in/out, and there was a nice patio out back. However, we were near the gym facility, and had to hear the constant hum and thumping of the treadmills and other machines. If we could do this over, we would request a room higher up on the 5+ floors.

The room and bathroom were in good condition, clean, and modern. Good beds also. Lighting in the room was a little odd, and I had to get up on a chair to re-direct some of the little halogen spots.

All in all, a good visit.

Room Tip: Stay mid level. Lower room had noise from the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeerRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear DeerRun,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your visit over Christmas.

The hotel is very well located in the CBD - which is great when you are here on holiday. Our Courtyard rooms are close to the pool and gym areas, and I am very sorry you were disturbed by noise from the gym. This is not normally a concern but over the holiday period this area was getting a "good workout" itself!

I am sorry that some lights in your room needed re-directing. This should have been noticed when the room was serviced, but thank you for helping us on this occasion. On any future visits please do not hesitate to let us know of any similar issues and we will arrange to have them corrected.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,940 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,356 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing