We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff make such a difference ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent staff make such a difference ”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel reception area and restaurant are all suitably comfortable / welcoming. Our room was slightly tired and another room we saw was the same. The room was comfortable enough although AC wasn't great. However the staff were brilliant at breakfast. Great with kids, including chefs. Better than we would expect, but from speaking to others it seems the hotel is well known for its service.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercedes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mercedes1970,

Thank you very much for such a flattering review!

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the service we provided, and I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties with your air conditioning our engineering team do aim to fix any issues like these if they occur very promptly.

I do hope that you chose to stay with us again when you next visit Melbourne.

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    486
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
337
478
87
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Took family of 4 with 2 young boys on Marriott reward points stay for 5 nights. Great location in downtown Melbourne, next Chinatown and great parks near by. Service was amazing, staff went out if their way to make sure we had great time. Strongly recommend it and will be staying at more Marriott properties due to this stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Jesse A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent experience with us!

I am so pleased to hear that you and your family had a fantastic stay with us here at the hotel. All of our operations staff certainly do make it a priority to please all of our guests.. so I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team!

I do hope that we get to welcome you all back to the hotel during your next visit to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in numerous hotels in Melbourne while travelling on business and continue to return to the Marriott. The staff are friendly and courteous, the rooms spacious and the beds comfortable. It is well located around the corner from great food in Chinatown and well placed to access most parts of the CBD.

My only complaint ... I can't always get a booking because of popularity. Probably the outcome of a great job by George and the management team in building a great delivery model.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bulldogandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear BulldogandBear,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Melbourne.

It is very flattering to hear such kind words from a regular guest.

Please do get in contact with our reservations team directly if you have trouble finding availability in the future.

Look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon!

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent one Sunday night at this hotel and were very impressed by everything that it offered. It is in an interesting part of the city- just a short walk to China Town and lots of bars and cheap places to eat. The Exhibition Gardens are just a short stroll away. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The service at the front desk was extremely friendly and welcoming. We were even offered a drink as we checked in and a free bottle of wine and buffet breakfast were included in the particularly good deal that was offered on WOTIF. The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed the late checkout as it allowed us to have another walk around the gardens. The gym facilities were also great. Overall, we would definitely recommend this very good chain hotel to any visitor to Melbourne. The service was particularly good!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor and we overlooked a rather nice courtyard. It was quiet, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear McKinnon2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!!

I am so happy to hear that you and your partner had a pleasant stay during your stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our front office team!

We look forward to seeing you both back at the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

One of the best Marriotts I ever used. Stayed four nights while exploring Melbourne and surrounding area. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. In central business district across street from China Town and one block from free tram. Great Executive Lounge with hot/cold snacks. Clean and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Jim G,

WOW!! Thank you so much for such a flattering review following your recent experience with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive level rooms.

I have passed your positive feedback onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean room
Everything needed for a business trip
Good selection of tea and coffee
Good table to work from
Good lighting
Huge tv
Very clean bathroom
Nice pool and hot tub
No complaints at all
Great location - easy to walk everywhere and a taxi rank across the road
Only down side was the wifi was a bit slow in one of the meeting rooms as was in the centre of the hotel
Great food too

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelsmithtorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear TravelfromBrisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent experience with us.

All your comments have been taken on board and shared with the team.

We do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Melbourne Marriott in late February and had a wonderful experience! Celia at the Front Desk and Concierge Ben Foster were both extremely nice and helpful - they gave us great suggestions for things to do, transportation and restaurants. I felt they really took an interest in us and helped make our first trip to Melbourne memorable! Our room was spotless, quiet and comfortable and the breakfast and snacks in the Executive Lounge were a perfect start and end to our busy days of sightseeing! The hotel is in a great location - especially if you like jazz - we found two awesome little jazz clubs around the corner from the hotel! We loved the hotel and Melbourne!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Wandergirl55,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent trip to Melbourne.

I am so pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, and got to experience some of the jazz bars that surround the hotel!

The executive lounge is always a great way to finish the day whilst traveling with a few drinks and canapes in the afternoon.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future!

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,654 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,192 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing