We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service, room, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing service, room, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Been at Marriott Chongqing in China and now Marriott Melbourne. I can't believe the extreme difference. The staff in Melbourne from door people, front desk, restaurant staff and cleaners are so friendly and hard working. This is how a five star hotel should run. Genuine friendly service to make you forget about everything and enjoy your break.

The room is very nice, large and comfortable. Very clean and attentive.

The buffet breakfast awesome and I'm so happy they remember my coffee orders just after one day.

All staff every time they see you greet you with a smile and hello and genuinely.

The staff here should come to China and improve the Mariott there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ollenpollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear ollenpollen,

Our team will be pleased to read your recent review. When you try your best it's terrific to know that your efforts are appreciated.
Thank you for your posting. Great to know you enjoyed your break here with us at the Melbourne Marriott.

With kind regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    476
    101
    34
    14
See reviews for
319
452
85
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We love this hotel all staff are friendly and professional the room are very clean room service arrived quick and warm food I had the lamb rack which cooked perfectly nice breakfast comfortable bed again love the 6star service will come back again soon thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Kim L,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay ..... and the 6-Star service! Thank you for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a night away from the kids. We stayed on the Executive lounge level and that is something I'm very glad we did. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic, every one of them was fantastic. The quality of the Hotel is fantastic and as I said the executive lounge is like a home away from home without the kids!! Would have loved a view from the room and not looking at a wall but we probably should have asked for a view and I'm sure the staff here would have obliged. Awesome and we will be back for our next one night city getaway.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rod3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Rod3333,

I think we all need a break away occasionally and I'm so pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us.
On any future visits please do not hesitate to mention any preferences - whether it be room allocation in the building, firmer pillows or whatever. We will always do our very best to assist.
Hope to see you back again ........ for your next 'getaway'.

Kind regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights on business.

I arrived late after travelling for a couple of hours and working all day. Let's just say I was exhausted and really just wanted to crash out for the night. The reception personnel were very quick and efficient and I was in my room within minutes with a complimentary champagne in hand and an upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite with a king size bed!!!

This just set the tone for my stay; nothing was too much bother. The room service was great and needless to say the food ordered arrived hot and quickly......the breakfast was great too!!

Very comfortable suite: clean and spacious.

I am a bit of a history buff (particularly Australian history) and a nice touch are the old photos of both the hotel and Melbourne sprinkled all through out the hotel.

Would I stay here again? Yes!......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_Sydney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Jackie_Sydney2013,

Thank you for taking the time to place a posting on TripAdvisor.
Good feedback is always great to receive and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay.
We are very aware that after a busy day you need to be made welcome and "at home" and I am so pleased that we "fitted the bill".
Look forward to seeing you back in Melbourne again soon.

With warm regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My best friend & I stayed for three nights in March 2014.
Peter, the guest services manager greeted us with a glass of champagne & prompt service. No sooner were we in our room, & with a knock at our door, a bottle of champagne was delivered from front desk & concierge, it was a lovely touch to start our weekend off with.
Customer service was amazing from all the staff we had dealings with. The two Ben’s from concierge, Addie & Nicole at the espresso bar for breakfast, everyone was helpful & extremely nice.
Ben gave us great suggestions for things to do because the Hotel has a fantastic location, shops within walking distance, next to Chinatown, free tram close by.
Absolute best Hotel we have stayed at in Melbourne, 5 star accommodation with 5 star service! The room was quiet, spacious with a very comfortable bed, loved the sheets  I strongly recommend this Hotel, in fact, we are already planning our next trip… with the Melbourne Marriott in mind :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaxyTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear GalaxyTraveller22,

I was thrilled to receive your review!
We place great importance on training and our team works very hard to ensure our guests are well looked after. It's a terrific boost for morale when their efforts are individualy acknowledged and your appreciation will be passed on to them all.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Entrance, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Marriott this weekend with our two children and loved every minute. The staff were attentive, polite and helpful. On check-in we were given glasses of bubbly, and staff helped us with our luggage. Our room was spotless and spacious. Our kids loved the indoor pool, and when our son swallowed some water and felt sick, the lovely staff arranged for some vegemite toast for him. The buffet breakfast was also a highlight- great food and great service. This is definitely the only place we will stay in Melbourne in the future- the kids are already asking when we can go back. I highly recommend the Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodland_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Woodland_R,

I was delighted to hear that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us at the weekend. Children do love a change of scenery and I was pleased they enjoyed the pool (even after swallowing some water!)

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again during upcoming school holidays.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Melbourne Marriott on a Saturday night while going to the Melbourne comedy festival. Great room, and the service was amazing. Beautiful buffet breakfast. Took advantage of the valet parking, all our bags collected and taken to our room. Greeted at the front desk promptly and offered a glass of champagne and also given a bottle of wine as a gift for our stay. After returning from the comedy festival that evening a small box of chocolates and a card had been left in our room with a little message hoping we had enjoyed the comedy festival. After checkout the next morning and collecting our car, we found a small bag of lollies in the car thanking us for staying. It was these little gestures that really made our stay. Great location and easy to get too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezAKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear ChezAKO,

Thank you so much for your posting. It is always fantastic for us to receive positive feeback.

We really do try very hard to look after our guests as well as we can, and it is most gratifying to know our efforts are being appreciated.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,379 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing