We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two words - Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two words - Stay Here!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently stayed for business/ pleasure for two nights, experience was nothing short of exceptional from the moment the staff member opened my cab door to greet me with a smile until we got into our cab to leave.

Great location, close to everthing and rooms were great, perfectly clean and a very comfy bed, and nice little extras like a night light. We had a club room and made good use of it, including breakfast, not a great variety but certainly enough to start the day off well.

Special thanks also to Fabrizio, your service with a smile was very welcome and Italy's loss is Melbourne's gain.

Will stay here every time I visit Melbourne from now on, which is quite often.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THE4Griswalds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear THE4Griswalds2013,

I was delighted to read your posting ..... and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your appreciation will be passed on to Fabrizio at Concierge. It's a terrific boost for morale when efforts are individually acknowledged.

Hope to have you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    475
    101
    34
    14
See reviews for
319
450
85
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
201 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just stayed at the hotel for a quick business trip to Melbourne and the hotel worked very well. Centrally located within walking distance to the main streets. Lots of people at the hotel and a good busy vibe. General look and feel of the building and main areas are classic Marriott but the rooms were a bit above the normal Marriott room (at least the one I got - concierge floor). Here is a short summary:

- Service: nice and attentive
- Lobby: smallish but connected to restaurant and bar area so can be used for meetings etc
- Bar / restaurant: I didn't use it
- Rooms: spacious and modern. Very good bed and work desk. Great bathroom which was clean, big and modern.
- Concierge lounge: pretty small but a nice area. Easily gets busy but the food and drinks were good.

All in all a good hotel for a business trip if you are looking for a good hotel, central that works well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear RichardU71,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. I am sure it will be helpful to others deciding where to stay in Melbourne.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night and it was a nice stay. It's within walking distance to the main streets, the Vic (which is unfortunately closed on wednesday), and their china district for dining. Lots of business conferences going on in the attached conference center, so it feels busy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jmdidday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Jmdidday,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Sorry that the Victoria Market wasn't open on the day you were here. Hope to have you back again when you can do some shopping.

Regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a very nice Marriott and my wife and adult children stayed here in January 2014. I highly recommend it. The staff was first rate. There is a nice sidewalk cafe just up the street. The hotel is perhaps five minutes from the Queen Victoria Market and about that to the Melbourne Museum. I liked it.

Room Tip: King Suites are wonderful. The staff brought in two rollaway beds and we were good to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Bill M,

Thank you for your posting following your family's visit back in January.

We very much appreciate you recommending our hotel. We are located in a very central position in the city which is a great plus.

Hope to have you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family and I had a great Easter weekend stay at the Marriott in Melbourne. The staff were great and the service is everything we expected. Loved the games for the kids near the lifts, and the Easter eggs were a nice treat over the weekend. Thanks for making our stay in Melbourne that little bit more special!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkinggc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear rkinggc,

I was delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Easter weekend here at the Melbourne Marriott. Great to hear the children enjoyed the games and I hope they didn't OD on too much chocolate!

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Melbourne again soon.

Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Been at Marriott Chongqing in China and now Marriott Melbourne. I can't believe the extreme difference. The staff in Melbourne from door people, front desk, restaurant staff and cleaners are so friendly and hard working. This is how a five star hotel should run. Genuine friendly service to make you forget about everything and enjoy your break.

The room is very nice, large and comfortable. Very clean and attentive.

The buffet breakfast awesome and I'm so happy they remember my coffee orders just after one day.

All staff every time they see you greet you with a smile and hello and genuinely.

The staff here should come to China and improve the Mariott there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ollenpollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear ollenpollen,

Our team will be pleased to read your recent review. When you try your best it's terrific to know that your efforts are appreciated.
Thank you for your posting. Great to know you enjoyed your break here with us at the Melbourne Marriott.

With kind regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We love this hotel all staff are friendly and professional the room are very clean room service arrived quick and warm food I had the lamb rack which cooked perfectly nice breakfast comfortable bed again love the 6star service will come back again soon thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Kim L,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay ..... and the 6-Star service! Thank you for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,459 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,928 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing