We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely first class service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

After driving all day , it was lovely to pull up , luggage and car taken care of in minutes , front of house excellent . Room , bed , very comfy , excellent location to the city . Breakfast was excellent ,car packed and sorted by concierge ready to go ., with two coffees for the journey As I was ready to get in car , a young gentleman from the breakfast staff appeared with some bubbly and orange for the journey and wished me happy Mother's Day !!!!!!!!!!! How lovely is that , they went that extra mile . Everything about this hotel is first class , and above all the staff make you feel welcome and are extremely friendly . So if the manager is reading this comment , your staff are doing an excellent job

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Aristo99,
We always appreciate receiving great feedback! Thank you for your review.
Training is a priority and it's terrific to hear that we seem to be doing it right! Our people do try very hard and your appreciation will be passed on. When you are doing your best it's so rewarding to know that it is being appreciated.
We were delighted to have you with us on the Mother's Day weekend and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    467
    99
    34
    14
See reviews for
314
429
84
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everything about our experience at this hotel was first rate. We were made feel special from the moment we pulled up out the front in our car. Check in was swift and once they found out it was our 20th wedding anniversary they gave us a bottle of bubbly and chocolates to take up to our room. We opted for the executive package which included access to the lounge area and beautiful foods and unlimited mixed drinks as well as a beautiful breakfast selection the next morning. We will return again and recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaffa1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jaffa1971

We were so pleased you chose you stay with us to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary. What a milestone!
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay ......... and the Executive Lounge. It is a comfortable place to relax.
Thank you for recommending us to your friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great staff, you feel welcome in every corner around the hotel, i stayed there few times for business, very friendly staff, every one was trying to make you happy and comfortable, great and central location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mghattas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear mghattas,

Thank you SO MUCH for your review. I was delighted to hear that you feel comfortable and welcome at the Melbourne Marriott hotel.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Sincerely,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Melbourne Marriott over the Easter period 2014. We have stayed at a lot of hotels in Australia and overseas and I have to stay that the service was second to none. From the time we walked in the door to the time we left we felt so welcome. Champagne on arrival for us and activity bags for the kids. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Staff member Brian was fabulous at breakfast and made the kids feel so welcome. I was particularly impressed that even our lovely housekeeper made use feel welcome, bringing Easter Eggs for the kids and engaging with them so wonderfully. An Easter Egg hunt was put on for the kids on Easter Sunday and my kids are still talking about that special hunt! The concierge were also fantastic, they also made us feel welcome from beginning to end. The hotel is close to transport and restaurants and everything was in easy walking distance. The rooms were gorgeous and very clean. I could go on & on but I just have to say it is the best hotel we have stayed at in a very long time. We will definitely come back to this hotel when we come back to Melbourne. My 5 year old daughter summed it up perfectly - "They are looking after us because we are their special guests".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacovos_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jacovos_Family,
Thank you for taking the time to respond to TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your family's stay over Easter was so enjoyable and your appreciation will be passed on to our team - particularly Brian in our restaurant. Easter is a special time and we were delighted that you chose to spend it with us. The Easter egg hunt was fun and I hope the children didn't "OD" on too much chocolate!
Your family were our "special guests" and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attadale, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

First time visit to this hotel. Prompt check in. Large comfortable room and bed. Good breakfast in a relaxed and peaceful environment. Courteous staff. No material complaints. Shame I could not stay longer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Peter B,
Thank you for your review. Good feedback is great to receive!
We're so pleased you enjoyed your first visit with us - and hope you can stay longer next time.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Melbourne Marriott is located at prime location in Melbourne, walking distance from many key tourists attractions. The hotel staff members are excellent, very helpful. Hotel room was very nice, spacious, neat & tidy. I would definitely look forward to stay gain at Melbourne Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subhasish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Subhasish N,
The Melbourne Marriott is ideally located in the CBD and we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We always enjoy our stay at the Melbourne Marriott. The staff are very friendly and also give us advice on places to go and things to see while we are there. Looking forward to our next time. D. Newman

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieleenewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Debbie N,
Hi Debbie,
Thank you for your posting. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your recent visit with us.

With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott and Southall Travel so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing