We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit and so close for those visiting Life Instyle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed at this property twice before 2011 - 2014 and will be staying there again next weekend whilst attending the Life Instyle Trade Fair. Simply put this hotel hasn't wavered from its style, service and the little extras over the years. The rooms are fresh, stylish and large. The location is perfect if your visiting the Exhibition Centre, China Town or Lygon Street and is a 5 minute walk and you're in the centre of the city. Concierge are great with Restaurant suggestions , the glass of bubbles on arrival is a nice touch and whilst they always seem to be busy , you always feel like they are watching over you to make sure you have everything you need. Cant fault it. Its a no brainer to choose the Melbourne Marriott when I visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Whether you are overlooking the city or Exhibition Street its still a great outlook - aim for a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandDreamer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear IslandDreamer8,

Great to have you back with us recently ........ and we look forward to welcoming you again this weekend.
I'm delighted you've enjoyed your previous visits with us. The hotel is located in a very central location - ideal if you're attending exhibitions etc.
Wishing you a great stay on this occasion.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked three nights at the Melbourne Marriott and were very pleased with our stay. The location is perfect for seeing all of the sights of the CBD. We walked to the Queen Victoria Markets, the Arts Centre at Southbank and all around the center of town. The hotel was in a particularly good location, as we were only a block from Her Majesty's Theatre, and a wonderful production of Les Miserables. The room was small but comfortable and included a small refrigerator, toaster and kettle. The Executive Lounge was fine, serving a nice breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Melbourne is a lovely city, and the Marriott is a good choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nznorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear nznorm,

Great to receive your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Glad you managed to walk around our lovely city - and see the production of Les Mis!
Our Executive Lounge is a good escape for both breakfast and evening drinks.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne again soon.
With kindest regards

George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Check in was the best check in ever done. The whole process took 2 minutes, and we were given a glass of bubbles and a beer to take to our room. What a great way to welcome guests. The staff were all extremely friendly. The room was very quiet, no noise from outside or from other rooms. The elevators were always prompt and empty.
The room was a good size, and had everything we could have wanted. The only problem for us was the bed, i know that some may love soft beds, but we are used to a medium / firm bed. Our sleep was not good. The feather pillows were also not great on the soft bed. Other than this small problem we had a fabulous night.
Breakfast is great, there is a buffet or you can have a cooked dish to order. Coffee is unlimited and is not from a hotpot like many buffets can do. It was proper espresso. Newspapers were readily available, and a lovely long breakfast was enjoyed.
This is the perfect place to stay if seeing a show.
Valet parking was reasonably priced. Will definitely be back next time we see a show. Thank you to the excellent staff at the Marriot.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Marsy007,

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us.
I was however upset to hear of your disappointment with the bed. It is difficult to please everyone's individual preference, but on any future visits please let us know that you prefer a firmer bed. Our mattresses are fairly firm but have a soft 'topper' which can make the bed feel too soft for some. We also have alternative pillows available so please don't hesitate to let us know and we will do our best to ensure you are as comfortable as possible during your stay.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The staff here is remarkable in their ability to remember and anticipate your needs! Always a great stay. The Marriott is in a great location, just minutes from theatre, great restaurants, shopping and beautiful parks & gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Fred C,

I did enjoy reading your comments and will pass on your appreciation to our staff. Our people do try very hard and it is a terrific boost for morale when their efforts are acknowledged.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 12 days here and had a lovely time. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the staff at this hotel were great. We had many meals at the hotel and the food was very good and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: It's not a tall hotel and in the middle of the CBD there is not an amazing view, so any room sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert-RRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Good to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Melbourne ...... and the Melbourne Marriott!
12 days is a good length of time to get the feel of our city, and being in the middle of the CBD would have given you lots of options of things to do and see.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the meals you had here with us and hope you also got to sample some of the other cuisines in our city.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Unforgettable experience.Best experience till date.Will refer my friends and family.Nice location not very far from China Town and Best Restaurants of Melbourne on Bourke Street........................................:-)))))

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Harjinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This smaller Marriott was our home base for a week's get away in Melbourne. First, it was in a very good location, near the circle (free) tram, several excellent restaurants, museums, etc. The room was wonderful - a junior suite with city view. Nice modern decor and very comfy bed. Breakfast and parking were included in the package. The breakfast buffet was extensive and good quality, loved the omelets. Staff was attentive and friendly, the concierge gave us good advice on nearby restaurants too. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeoCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,782 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,821 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,413 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,434 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £133 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing