We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence +++” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellence +++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A wonderful stay at this Hotel. Nothing can be faulted. The service was wonderful and the staff caring, welcoming, professional and courteous. Breakfast was perfect and extras were no trouble. HOPEFULLY YOU WILL ENJOY THIS HOTEL TOO.
About 30 second from Her Majesty's Theatre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jenny M,

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and will pass on your appreciation to our team.
Being located so very close to both Her Majesty's and Comedy Theatres is a great advantage.
Look forward to having you stay with us again.

With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    467
    99
    34
    14
See reviews for
314
428
84
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Basically the room-cleaning service didnt leave me alone throughout my 1week staying and kept knocking my door everyday in order to clean even without me requesting and,in one occasion, i found that they entered my room without my permission when i was out. Another thing, the reciptionist asked me to leave the hotel 1day before the date i was supposed to check out. why u ask? simply cuz he decided not to look at the dates carefully and put me in an awkward situation. Hated it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MȇȩƦâ Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear MeeRa Z,
Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor following your visit with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.
It is standard practice to service rooms daily and I am very sorry if this was carried out at inconvenient times for you. On any future visits please don't hesitate to let us know and we will be delighted to fit in with you. All rooms are serviced, whether guests are present or not. You will find this is standard procedure worldwide.
Please accept our apologies for the confusion at Reception regarding your departure date and the manner in which the situation was handled.
Sincerely,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed at this property twice before 2011 - 2014 and will be staying there again next weekend whilst attending the Life Instyle Trade Fair. Simply put this hotel hasn't wavered from its style, service and the little extras over the years. The rooms are fresh, stylish and large. The location is perfect if your visiting the Exhibition Centre, China Town or Lygon Street and is a 5 minute walk and you're in the centre of the city. Concierge are great with Restaurant suggestions , the glass of bubbles on arrival is a nice touch and whilst they always seem to be busy , you always feel like they are watching over you to make sure you have everything you need. Cant fault it. Its a no brainer to choose the Melbourne Marriott when I visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Whether you are overlooking the city or Exhibition Street its still a great outlook - aim for a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandDreamer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear IslandDreamer8,

Great to have you back with us recently ........ and we look forward to welcoming you again this weekend.
I'm delighted you've enjoyed your previous visits with us. The hotel is located in a very central location - ideal if you're attending exhibitions etc.
Wishing you a great stay on this occasion.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
far away
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked three nights at the Melbourne Marriott and were very pleased with our stay. The location is perfect for seeing all of the sights of the CBD. We walked to the Queen Victoria Markets, the Arts Centre at Southbank and all around the center of town. The hotel was in a particularly good location, as we were only a block from Her Majesty's Theatre, and a wonderful production of Les Miserables. The room was small but comfortable and included a small refrigerator, toaster and kettle. The Executive Lounge was fine, serving a nice breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Melbourne is a lovely city, and the Marriott is a good choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nznorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear nznorm,

Great to receive your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Glad you managed to walk around our lovely city - and see the production of Les Mis!
Our Executive Lounge is a good escape for both breakfast and evening drinks.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne again soon.
With kindest regards

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Check in was the best check in ever done. The whole process took 2 minutes, and we were given a glass of bubbles and a beer to take to our room. What a great way to welcome guests. The staff were all extremely friendly. The room was very quiet, no noise from outside or from other rooms. The elevators were always prompt and empty.
The room was a good size, and had everything we could have wanted. The only problem for us was the bed, i know that some may love soft beds, but we are used to a medium / firm bed. Our sleep was not good. The feather pillows were also not great on the soft bed. Other than this small problem we had a fabulous night.
Breakfast is great, there is a buffet or you can have a cooked dish to order. Coffee is unlimited and is not from a hotpot like many buffets can do. It was proper espresso. Newspapers were readily available, and a lovely long breakfast was enjoyed.
This is the perfect place to stay if seeing a show.
Valet parking was reasonably priced. Will definitely be back next time we see a show. Thank you to the excellent staff at the Marriot.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Marsy007,

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us.
I was however upset to hear of your disappointment with the bed. It is difficult to please everyone's individual preference, but on any future visits please let us know that you prefer a firmer bed. Our mattresses are fairly firm but have a soft 'topper' which can make the bed feel too soft for some. We also have alternative pillows available so please don't hesitate to let us know and we will do our best to ensure you are as comfortable as possible during your stay.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The staff here is remarkable in their ability to remember and anticipate your needs! Always a great stay. The Marriott is in a great location, just minutes from theatre, great restaurants, shopping and beautiful parks & gardens.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Fred C,

I did enjoy reading your comments and will pass on your appreciation to our staff. Our people do try very hard and it is a terrific boost for morale when their efforts are acknowledged.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 12 days here and had a lovely time. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the staff at this hotel were great. We had many meals at the hotel and the food was very good and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: It's not a tall hotel and in the middle of the CBD there is not an amazing view, so any room sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRSATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Good to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Melbourne ...... and the Melbourne Marriott!
12 days is a good length of time to get the feel of our city, and being in the middle of the CBD would have given you lots of options of things to do and see.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the meals you had here with us and hope you also got to sample some of the other cuisines in our city.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing