We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel Service I've EVER experienced.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel Service I've EVER experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Okay, first of all, I'm a Four Seasons kind of girl. But I had a bunch of Ritz-Carlton points and there was no Ritz or Four Seasons in Melbourne so I decided to stay here instead. I am very happy I did. From check-in to check-out, this was the best service I've ever had. And I've stayed at five star hotels all over the world. For me, that is what makes my trips. And I've never seen a hotel staff this friendly, not just courteous, but downright FRIENDLY and really invested in making sure you get the best directions, information, reservations...everything. I'd like to especially commend Richard, Fabrizio and Daniel for their exceptional concierge and executive lounge service. The service was truly amazing.

The hotel restaurant and bar are very luxurious and great as well.

I will say that the rooms themselves aren't going to be Four Seasons/Ritz comparable in terms of sheer luxury, but they are nice, large, and very clean and you will be treated like royalty, so for me it's worth it. Also, I didn't have a room with a city view, so those might be a little more "glam."

But regardless, I'll stay here whenever I'm in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Shalf2014,
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed staying with us at the Melbourne Marriott recently.
Your appreciation will be passed on to our team - especially Richard, Fabrizio and Daniel. Our people do try very hard and it is a terrific boost for morale when their efforts are individually acknowledged.
Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in this part of the world.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    467
    99
    34
    14
See reviews for
314
429
84
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Clean room, comfortable bed, best buffet breakfast with plenty of selection. Just a few minutes walk from China Town for all delicious food, Professional staff are welcoming and quick check in / out, recommended for business trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Sunny W,
Thank you for your review. It's so good to know that everything seemed to work so well for you.
Come back again.

Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

After I couldn't get through to the front desk by phone, I received a call back immediately from the manager with an excellant offer. On arrival, the service was first class and sincere from the check in desk staff to the valet. I was very impressed! After a quick check in the valet arrived at my door with a complimentary drink after hearing of some of my troubles. Relaxed and happy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattiedbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mattiedbrown,
I was concerned to hear of your difficulties getting through to the Front Desk, but was pleased that your booking was sorted out. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.
After the "rocky" start, I'm delighted that all went well and you enjoyed your visit.
Look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Service was superb right from when you enter the hotel, offered a drink while waiting to check in and was asked twice while checking out if I could be helped with bags and taxis. Was sent free water at 1 am as a Marriott rewards member. Very impressed at how every single staff interaction was very positive and pleasant. Location was excellent, beds and rooms huge!
Carpets slightly dated. Highly recommend this hotel based on the staff!!!
I'm now spending 2 nights at the grand hyatt melbourne and while the property is more impressive, the service is subpar - see my review on hyatt. Would recommend the Marriott over the hyatt.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sydjetsetter86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear sydjetsetter86,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We place great importance on training so it's great to hear that it is working and that our team really does try hard to look after our guests as best they can.
Glad you liked your room and enjoyed your visit.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

A very comfortable hotel , the welcome was nice , i was checked in very quickly , the staffs are very proffessional , my roomwas really good , great furniture and ameneties , and large . breakfast was buffet , very good selection .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear rafael c,
Thank you so much for your review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of the city close to everything needed. But with comes city noises. It would be perfect with better glazing to deaden the noise. But I still got a good night's sleep. Rooms spacious and well equipped, even a power adaptor is in the room ready… All the staff are welcoming, courteous and helpful. Slightly expensive but a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear overseas_engineer,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, but I was surprised you found your room a little noisy. All rooms which face Exhibition Street are double-glazed, and the other side of the building faces the pool area, well away from any street noise. I was pleased to hear however that you managed to get a good night's sleep.
Many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a lovely hotel in a very handy part of town. The rooms are large with very comfotable beds and the biggest TV I have ever had in a hotel room. There are no views as it is in the depth of downtown but the quality of the room decor makes up for it. The in room breakfast was a little disappointing as the scrambled eggs were a little tasteless and for $40 I expected more. The bar downstairs had some character for a hotel bar and had a great range. All the staff where very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel. The front side is above Exhibition St so may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ozrower,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor following your recent visit.
You would be pleased to know that our rooms which face Exhibition Street are double glazed and the hotel is not in a noisy part of the city (no trams or trains immediately outside). There is more of an outlook facing this way and we don't receive any comments about disturbance from the street.
Your comments regarding the scrambled eggs have been passed on to our Chef to follow up. I am very sorry for your disappointment and thank you for your feedback.
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and hope to welcome you back again.

With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,168 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel and Marriott so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing