We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!! Highly recommend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!! Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We usually stay at Marriott properties and normally wouldn't bother with a review but the service here was so outstanding wanted to give them a big thank you. What made it so special? We received a personal note from the front desk along with a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates. EVERY employee we met (in the halls, elevator, car attendant, etc.) were pleasant and went out of their way to say hello. Concierge helped with directions, maps, etc. When we were leaving and stepping out of the elevator 3 people helped with our luggage and loaded our waiting car. The doorman asked where we were going and then gave us a great map of the Great Ocean Road. We are from the USA and were impressed that they gave this wonderful service and not one asked for or even expected a tip! They just have great pride in what they do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear byedlin,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. All feedback is most appreciated, but great feedback is wonderful to receive and makes us feel that what we are trying so hard to do is being appreciated. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Australia.
Kindest regards
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    467
    99
    34
    14
See reviews for
314
429
84
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The staff at this hotel is exceptional - friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The hotel is conveniently located for lots of Melbourne activities, and our room was well-appointed; we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Suzanne H,
What a great recommendation! Great to know you enjoyed your visit here with us at the Melbourne Marriott.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at the Melbourne Marriott on Saturday night, wow we had a thoroughly
enjoyable stay, customer service and friendly staff made the difference in our
stay. Chocolates on our pillow, bottled water in our car on the way home, comfortable
Bedding, we have stayed other quality hotels but there was no customer service, they
Treated my family warmly and we were very happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Anna l,
Thanks so much for your review. It's so pleasing to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again!
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I am a business traveller (engineer) from California that has stayed in many quality hotels across the US for work and vacation. I choose to stay in Marriott hotels where possible because of the reliable service in unfamiliar places. For my family vacation (wife, me + our 2 teenage boys) The Marriott in Melbourne is one of the best I've ever experienced. The staff (particularly Bromwyn, Jason and Colin) were a huge part of our wonderful experience and hence this very positive reference. No hesitation in recommending this hotel to all. A highlight was walking to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) to watch an Aussie Rules football match.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Andy F,
Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay ...... and the Aussie Rules football at the MCG! Your appreciation will be passed on to our team, especially Bronwyn, Jason and Colin in Front Office.
Come back again soon.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family and I stayed for 2 nights and from the minute we walked in we were treated with the most friendly service. A glass of sparkling on arrival and a lolly pop for our son delivered with a smile that lasted our entire stay. We received a card and a bottle of wine from Bronwyn on front desk. She remembered we were there for the football and which team we were going for! All of these little touches made our weekend away a very happy one.Thank you, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again :).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theaveragetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Theaveragetraveller,
I was delighted to hear that you and the family enjoyed your weekend here with us.
Our people do try very hard and I will pass on your appreciation to Bronwyn who took an interest in your excursion to the football.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very disappointing. The hotel is shabby and run down. The rooms were really old and not overly comfortable. This might be a 5 star hotel but it is a low end 5 star.

The concierge service was excellent and overall the service was good. The food from room service was dreadful and very expensive and the hot chocolate I had in the cafe on the ground floor was the worst I have ever had.

It's close to the theatres and China town but that's the only benefit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuesdayjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Tuesdayjones,
I was most concerned to read your TripAdvisor posting and I am very sorry that we did not come up to your expectations.
On a brighter note however I will pass on your appreciation to our team, especially concierge.
With kind regards,
George Varughese
General Manage
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Arrived on a Friday afternoon and was greeted by a most delightful member of staff, she organised our bags and led us to the reception. Check in was smooth.We had a short wait till our room was ready, in this time the staff were so attentive offering wine and soft drink. Our beds were comfortable and the room itself had all that we required. Couple of negatives with regards to the room were when you walked in and opened the blind the windows were extremely dirty not good for a first glimse into the city. The second which has been complained about here previously was the air conditioner and yep it was NOISY. The gym, pool, and spa were great, maybe in need of a little makeover but we enjoyed the soak at the end of a busy day. The main reason for our trip to Melb was for a footy game at the MCG, (which our team won) when we arrived back to our room we were suprised with a note from a staff member saying he hoped we enjoyed seeing our team, couple of boutique beers in an ice bucket and some chocolates.As I have said before the staff are this hotels assets. Only problem we encountered was on check in I was told breakfast was included for the three of us, we did have breakfast each morning but was suprised to see the charge on our account. We did question staff on departure and they advised it was in fact not included and at $90 plus each morning it was expensive. I might add they did come to the party in some way and only charged us for breakfast one day. All in all we had an amazing couple of days. A huge "Thank You" to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Deb W,

Thank you so much for your review. It was very informative and I really appreciated your feedback.
Please be assured that we do have the windows cleaned regularly but it just takes dusty wind then the odd shower and they look just as bad. Heavy rain however does help! I agree ..... it's not a great first impression. You'd be pleased to know that we are looking at upgrading the level 1 fitness area and the tender process has begun. I was most concerned to hear of the incorrect advice you received regarding the inclusion of breakfast. I was pleased however that one day's charge was removed and do apologise for the mix-up.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and will pass on your appreciation to our team.
Hope your team won at the footy!
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,167 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing