We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and convenient .”
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #95 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic but clean and convenient .”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here recently. For what we paid we found the room to be fine. It was clean and quiet. No view. We were able to enjoy walks to all the places we wanted to go. Close to a Coles. Close to station. Close to Circle tram. Disappointed that we couldn't use our Best Western card as we had booked through a third party. Best Western needs to make that clearer. You only get points if you book direct! Strange. Probably won't go there again. We love visiting Melbourne and next time think we will try Mantra.

Room Tip: We asked for a non smoking on a lower floor. Though no view we weren't bothered by noise or ciga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    860
    389
    129
    79
See reviews for
202
773
273
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Good 3.5 star hotel
24hr desk and close to trams , sky bus etc
It's a bit of a walk to decent shops so best to take the circle free tram to Elizabeth street and walk
I enjoyed a meal at the Italian restaurant just next door and docklands is tram accessible too
Did not find there was traffic noise however I was on the 14th floor
Seemed popular for younger people however I stayed on a Friday night so could be that
Has a pool and gym neither used by me.
The overall street area is a bit dark so if you are nervous it's probably not for you

Room Tip: Did not seem to have room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked this place as they had 3 nights for AUD $366 thru Booking. com. So at $122 per room per night the price was ok. Would have been even better value if I had a travel partner on this trip at $61 pp. I would not have probably paid anymore though.

GOOD FEATURES: Friendly reception staff, free bag holding service once you have checked out, nice indoor pool, gym and sauna. (the pool and the sauna were cold though and I ended up not using them which seemed like a waste). Bfast while basic was fresh and readily restocked and very good price at $12 pp. Convenient location for the Southern Cross Station which is good when you have just arrived in town on the Sky Bus from the airport or train.
The bed was a little soft but I had good sleeps on it.

PROBLEMS: I had the top floor (18th) and above is residential. This meant I was subject to cigarette smoke pouring thru the bathroom vent every time the resident had a smoke. There is nothing the hotel can do about it. Also there was a very strong overpowering curry cooking smell coming thru. So I would recommend if you ask for a higher floor to go maybe 17 or below to get away from the apartments above. By the way the view is not much due to surrounding buildings and narrow windows so wouldnt get hung up on obtaining a view.

OTHER THINGS: Just little things that you wouldnt worry about but were noticeable...There was dirty grout in the shower, long hairs in the bathroom (not mine as I have little hair these days), smashed skirting boards, crooked pictures and you have to shower with tiny little hand soap unless you bring your own. There was a big old graffiti in the mens room in the lobby which I told them about one morning at 7am and it was still there at 4pm the next day. Surprising that it would be there at all and that it wasnt removed asap. The guy that I told seemed more worried about finishing his shift and going home. However there seems to be a significant amount of graffiti in Melbourne CBD anyway so whats one more?. Location is far from the Federation Square for tours but there is a pick up from the tour cos which was helpful.

Overall fine hotel if you are not going to stand around assessing it much or be there much as after all you should be out and about. Rooms tidy but basic and good service overall, just a few silly blemishes I guess. If returning to Melbourne would probably try another place for variety.

Room Tip: Dont take top floor (18th) as you are subject to the smells and lifestyles of private residents abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in early. Room was ready. Good start. They wouldn't accept flybuys. Said they don't accept if booked through a third party. The room was average but you get what you pay for. Fridge didn't work. Replaced with a new one. Safe wouldn't lock. They fixed it. Bathroom scales didn't work. I got over it. Late the next evening the door card wouldn't work. Had to go down to reception to get it swiped. Oh hum. Saw a brochure in room inviting me to join Best Western Rewards Programme. Fill in the form and return it to the reception. Guess what? Sorry we don't know what it's about. You will have to do it on line. Waited for a pickup un the foyer. Would love a dollar for the number of times I heard the word sorry said to other guests by reception staff. My advice to the management. Get professional, these problems are avoidable. You guessed it. We won't be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night in a 'city view' room on the 18th floor so there was no traffic noise and we had a lovely view of Central Melbourne. The hotel is in an ideal location and it was good that breakfast was included in the price and secure parking was available at a reasonable cost by Melbourne standards.The room was of a good size and had a large comfortable bed. It was clean and modern and had all the facilities one would expect. It was rather surprising though that there was no free Wi-fi available as one would expect in a hotel of this standard. The bathroom was spacious and meticulously clean as was the room. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Will certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HOK_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Don't bother staying here I payed for a city view room the windows are so dirty you don't even want to lift the blinds.
The breakfast is terrible waited 10 minutes for them to refill the scrambled eggs and it would have been ok if there was other things to eat but all there is are scrambled eggs baked beans and cereal so we left.
Now for the pool the entry card to let you in doesn't work so we had to go down to the lobby area where people are waiting to get into lifts and checking in, in our bathers to access the area so embarrising and the pools not even warm all up not worth the money I spent would have rather stayed home.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I had stayed here 4 years ago and had a pleasant experience. So, decided to try this hotel again; however, I was disappointed...
GOOD:
- price for the quality of the room and facilities offered is not bad when compared to other hotels closer to the CBD (6 nights for $809)
- location not bad; close to Southern Cross station, which has the Skybus to the airport; also close to the free City Circle Tram
BAD:
- the view of Docklands is hit-and-miss; just depends what room you get, even if you request a view
- the room smelt real bad, quite obnoxious; I had booked two rooms, so I had to stay in the 2nd room as the 1st (smelly) one could not be cancelled
- amenities and cleanliness was an issue: long black hairs were consistently left in between the towels and toilet paper was not replaced until 2 days later

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,841 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Property: Atlantis Hotel
Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Best Western Atlantis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing