We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #93 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great price ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a week ago, the location is great! The prices on hotel rooms are excellent!.. Across the road is coles,subway, southern cross station and dfo!! The hotel rooms are decent sizes just small pillows!? The bigger pillows are in the cupboards. The only problem I had with best western is the receptionists I found them rude and stuck up. Very bad at instructions. Just tells you what room you are in and shoo you off for the next customers . If you ask a questions where something is, or ask if they can order a taxi .. dont bother the women will just roll their eyes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    833
    376
    126
    73
See reviews for
193
743
265
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackmans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The young lady who checked us in was verging on rude. She did not look at us once, she was curt and gave the impression that we were a really nasty inconvenience to her day.

The rooms are functional rather than welcoming. They are clean and the bed was good. It was quiet on the 9th floor. If you are looking for a bath, you are out of luck as there is not a single room in the entire building with a bath.

As a small annoying point, the air conditioning control panel emits a fairly bright light into the room all night. Some creativity with newspaper was required before retiring each night, to darken the room for sleep.

They accommodate a 12pm checkout which was greatly appreciated. I reiterate my first point, the whole weekend stay would have been so greatly improved by a friendly, welcoming checkin. How hard is that to achieve???

Room Tip: We were on level 9 and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We like to stay at the Best Western Atlantis when we go to Melbourne for the weekend. The hotel is located close to Southern Cross station and you can catch a tram out the front of the hote. The staff are friendly and the rooms and clean and quiet. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sharoncM1566GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here with a friend last weekend because I was in town for a concernt and my usual hotel close to Rod Laver arena lost my booking (yes Mantra on Jollimont I am looking at you!!). Whilst we were a bit away from where we ideally wanted to be the hotel itself was comfortable enough and was close to the station so we didnt have to travel far. Room was ready early which was great. Staff seemed friendly enough although it was a flying visit. Bed was only a double which was small for two grown adults to share but again, last minute so was happy to have a room. No views out of our window even though we were on the top floor (10th). All other amenities were suitable. Perfect for a one off or short stay being close the the station etc..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

stayed here for over a week, and it was quite pleasant. The staff are always nice and helpful.

It's near to pretty much anywhere in Melbourne. Close to Southern Cross station, which is a big plus. Tram stop is just outside. If you need a cab best to hail one from just outside the hotel, there is plenty driving past at all hours.

The room was not bad. Working desk, double seater couch. small table above the fridge. No kitchen, so no cooking hobs or microwave. Kettle provided. Not sure if the hotel offers studio or one bedroom apartments. Bathroom was respectable.

There is a gym and pool, didn't use them on this visit. But remember using the gym on a previous stay and it had treadmills and weights.

Just need to flag-up the fact that the guidebook in the room was out-of-date on each of my stays. On the most recent visit, when I asked a staff member for a sewing kit (self-explanatory what it does, so not going to explain it here), he said I must have read it in the guidebook in the room and just said go to Coles across the road. Supermarket (Coles) across the road, is convenient.

Laundry is an overnight service. $15 per bag, and they are really "strict" with putting too many cloths in the laundry bag. I was told to take two items out, even when the bag closed without any issues. Internet is quite expensive to get through the hotel.

There is a Italian restaurant just next door, but couldn't visit it. May be next time.

Room Tip: City View has some nice views. Grand View is overlooking the Stadium/spencer Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during August and was overly pleased with my experience. Bed was comfy although an extra doona couldn't hurt. A sheet and bed cover wasn't quite enough for me. The bathroom was clean and quite modern, fresh bath towels, washers, soap, shampoo and conditioner each day, no hand towels I thought was a little strange. Bathroom didn't have towel rails to hang towels before or after use, has to be left on sink bench top and the little soap dish in the shower wasn't nearly big enough for soap, shampoo razor etc. Walls between rooms are thin so can hear a majority of things outside room but residents in hotel were quiet anyway so not a major issue. Continental breakfast was good, a good variety of cereals, tea and coffee, scrambled eggs and baked beans with toast and a variety of spreads. Maybe have bacon, tomato, hash browns etc as an option as well. Just a bit more variety in that sense could be an idea but definitely more variety overall than some places I've seen. The pool looked clean but didn't get the chance for a swim and the gym looked clean but maybe some air freshener to wipe out the smell of people's B-O, that wasn't very pleasant. I know it's a gym and people sweat but we don't need to smell it, other gyms I've been into never have that smell. Car parking is good, definitely enough spaces for residents, just be sure to book a spot upon booking a room to guarantee a park and if you have a long car, I'd recommend NOT taking that car, it is a bit tight around corners and to get into a few spots, smaller cars are better for this but we managed with a crewman. Atlantis is walking distance to the city so great for those without a car and just wanting something close to CBD and basically across the road from Southern Cross Station. Overall a nice place to stay, I would come back again as it was good value for money and I did enjoy my stay, staff were nice but just a few minor details could make it that little bit more better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The beds ere so comfortable and rooms were of a good size, modern and clean. The only downfall was the customer service from reception was so so. but even still i recommend this hotel for a great nights sleep

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing