We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too cool for school”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too cool for school”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I've wanted to stay at the Adelphi for a long time now and luckily was treated for my birthday this year.
The decor and food was excellent. The bed was about the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We had a quiet stay for three nights, and saw few other guests. The staff were helpful although the woman on reception when we arrived seemed as though she was new and forgot to tell us about room service and the facilities at the hotel and didn't really seem to know how the computer worked... but we got it all figured out.
It will be great to see again when the pool and day spa have been refurbished too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi almulcahy,

It is great to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed spending your birthday at the new Adelphi. A quiet nights sleep in the centre of the city is great to be able to enjoy and can be a tough thing to achieve at times :). I will pass on your feedback to the Om Nom team as they will be thrilled to hear more great things about their creations. My apologies for you arrival experience. Being a new hotel all of the team are relatively new and are constantly presented with new scenarios. Most encouraging is that everyday we are a little better.

We hope to see you back for a swim when the pool deck gets it's full renovation in Winter 2014 but I regrettably must inform you that the new Adelphi will no longer have a day spa.

Thanks again,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    159
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
100
465
44
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

From the moment we were welcomed to when we left (and beyond!) this was a fantastic hotel to stay in, in the city.
With a function just down Flinders lane, we decided to spoil ourselves to a special treat by staying in our own city for the night. The Adelphi has it all. Funky décor, super-comfortable bed, welcoming and competent staff, nice toiletries and complimentary snacks and drinks - they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
My husband mistakenly left his suit behind in the wardrobe. Later that morning they called us to let us know and it was a quick trip back to the hotel to collect. It was very thoughtful of them.
I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for visitors to Melbourne who want a personal touch with their accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hula-girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear hula-girl2011,

It is fantastic to read reviews such as yours. The experience you enjoyed is exactly what we are striving to deliver so thank you so much for sharing. Your Adelphi experience starts when you make your reservation and continues well after you have departed. Little things such as the suit you left behind and collected are very much a part of your stay not an addition. If I'm not mistaken I recall the suit and may have in fact called you myself.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here for business as we had a function onsite. The room was spotless, with excellent amenities and really funky decor. The bed was extremely comfortable. The ONLY small challenge was the service at breakfast, it was pretty slow, but everything from check-in to check-out was efficient and smooth.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi sachaontheroad,
There are not many things we like hearing more than 'I'd stay here again in a heartbeat'. Thank you for your great feedback. My apologies for the 'pretty slow' service at breakfast. As a new hotel we are constantly improving and evolving and I can assure you that an efficient friendly breakfast delivery has been identified as an area where we can grow. Particularly with business travellers like yourself in mind.
Once again thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adelphi soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we wanted something special for our wedding anniversary, initially we found the staff fantastic, and this continued throughout our stay, the hotel itself was fantastically presented albeit some of the furniture was chipped and looking tired for a newly opened property. Our biggest disappointment came with the lack of sleep, the noise from exiting patrons of the night club below (May or May not be linked to the hotel) followed by staff emptying bottle bins then the contractor collecting the bottles etc etc meant that despite paying premium we could not wait to get home to get some sleep.
We did email the property on the day we left but have never received a response, disappointing really.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BigJungleCat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback BigJungleCat C,
Firstly, please except my sincerest apologies for your poor nights sleep. Whilst we are an inner city property the noise you experienced is not the type that is acceptable in any environment. We will be renewing our waste removal procedures as this is a very manageable way to reduce noise for our guests. We have already been in contact with our neighbouring businesses in an effort to reduce the impact on our guests. If something affects you, it is our problem to resolve, regardless of the origin. It is great to hear your kind words regarding the staff and I will pass this on yet anything less than a perfect stay is not a pass mark for the new Adelphi.
I will also be replying directly to your email which was sent through to the team as mentioned in your post.
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and I will be in touch again soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed here years ago and loved it, but this time was only here for a wedding party.The funky mon bijou and the pool deck venues on the top 2 floors are perfect with good atmosphere and great decor. The cocktails were perfect - especially the unlikely passion fruit and white chocolate vodka martini . Food was fabulous and the staff really friendly and fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you Gabby b,
I will be sure to pass on your great feedback to the team at Mon Bijou. We are very proud of our close working relationship with the upstairs team and between our beautiful little hotel and the funky Mon Bijou we believe we are very much the place to be in the Melbourne CBD.
Is there anything better than a rooftop pool and a lovely cocktail?
See you again soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I really loved spending a night at the Adelphi. The decor is uber stylish, the food is mouth watering and the staff are extremely helpful and attentive. Located in the heart of the CBD, you are a hop, skip & a jump away from great shops, eateries and bars. I would definatelty reccomend the Adelphi to all my family & friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Noor-El-Ain E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Noor-El-Ain E,
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to spend your recent visit with us. Like many you have been impressed by the new design and it is wonderful that you have chosen to share your experience. Most encouraging are your kind words regarding the team and I will be sure to pass this on. Hopefully we will see you back at Adelphi again soon.
Kind regards and thanks again,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Adelphi was once the groovy boutique hotel experience of Melbourne...the hotel with the roof top lap pool that went over Flinders Lane. It lost its mojo over the years, went into receivership and has only reopened in late 2013. The new improved Adelphi has been given some love and attention, fixtures and fittings that were worn and tired have been jettisoned, and replaced with tasteful interesting items that walk the line between functionality and beauty. Staff are friendly, without being cloyingly so. The kitchen has been given an overhaul with a desert restaurant at night creating items of artistic beauty that also taste great. The Adelphi is worth rediscovering - a great boutique Melbourne hotel with exceptional location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Frank V,
It is great to hear from guests that have experienced both the old and the new Adelphi. It has been quite a change that we have gone through but like yourself we are very happy with what we have achieved. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
(and if you think we have got our mojo back now just wait for the pool renovation in winter 2014 :))
Thank you for posting,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar. Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing