We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and good value location”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Recently refurbished, a bit of Art Deco softening whilst retaining elements of the edgy 90's DCM design, Adelphi is still a great value place to stay if you want an urban location close to the Paris end of Collins Street. The service was exceptional, the team very responsive to my requests. No tea coffee in the room, not a problem, they sent a well stocked tray up straight away, as you do need to ask for this, although complimentary, it's not part of the standard kit.Room service was good for a Sunday night. TV was having issues and the team swiftly attended to it. Definitely will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank happydaysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear happydaysSydney,

Thank you for the great review of your stay and your promise to return. It is all about our guests coming back and for this to happen you need the right 'softened' product and the right service. I'm glad you appreciate that these are where we have certainly focused our efforts.

And the more we get to know you, the more likely that tea & coffee tray will already be in the room when you arrive.

See you again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Adelphi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Quite refreshing to get some nice friendly service in Melbourne.
Staff are more than happy to let you store you bags and register for check-in early in the day - even happy to hold a suit jacket on an warm day. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Nice to have a complimentary mini-bar and wifi as well as a free drink. A complimentary Peroni at the end ofthe day goes down a treat

Breakfast is great too - baked eggs are fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iain l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi iain I,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent Adelphi visit and in particular your kind words regarding the service you received from the team. We are very aware that the only real way to set ourselves apart is through the individuals delivering our product and I firmly believe we have the best team in Melbourne.

Couldn't agree more on the baked eggs and Peroni either. Two of my favourite things. Like yourself though, I don't have them together at breakfast :)

Thanks again,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just one night on a recent business trip. The place was busy yet we felt like we were the only guests they had. To greet you by name when you came out of the lift was amazing. Some hotels make you feel like you are bothering them when you need assistance, not these guy.
We left luggage there while we had a meeting, there was no need for tags and all that other BS you get in most hotels. The staff took them off us , stowed them and immediately retrieved our luggage when we entered the lobby.
These are just a few examples of how this hotel goes that extra bit to make you feel special.
You would have read on other reviews about all the freebies, so I wont repeat it.

Whether its business or pleasure, the Adelphi is the place to stay. when in Melbourne.
Its my new home in this town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear justcruizen,

Let me firstly say that the stay you experienced is precisely what we are striving to deliver here at Adelphi. Small hotels such as ours present you with a unique opportunity to do things differently and deliver on a more personable level and it's great to read that you experienced this first hand. We very much feel that if we get to know you then a lot of the procedural things can be flexed to make you more comfortable in your new home in Melbourne.

Thank you so much for passing on this very specific feedback and we look forward to welcoming you 'home' again soon.

Kind regards,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We just had a three day break in Melbourne, which we do on a regular basis. Have tried a variety of hotels in CBD but on a recent trip saw the Adelphi from the outside and loved what we saw. Location great, rooms great, service great ...and the desserts greaaaat....

Room Tip: our room was perfect, any floor and any room will be a pleasant experience. Don't worry about th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi Russell C,

Thank you for your short but very sweet review. Looks as though you had a 'great' stay :)

See you again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed at the Adelphi Hotel for two nights. The staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help, the message on the mirror in the room and jar of suits, were all very welcoming.

The sugary theme might felt a bit too much as one of the other comments said, with the [amazing!] desert bar, free candy treats in the room, and a macaroon treat to finish the day. On the other hand, these are luxuries to choose from and no one is forced to have them.

The room was very spacious and the design of the room/shower was very modern. Although there is no dining room there is a restaurant that operates for the most parts of the day (7am to midnight) with superior food quality, what’s better than that?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zrizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Zrizi,

Thank you for your review. While I agree that no one is forced to have the candy I also know that no one is forced to jump on line and share there stay. For this we are very appreciative.

It's great to see that we are appealing to both the leisure and the business traveller. The little touches such as the personal greetings on the mirror are often appreciated by all types and is just one example of how we are trying to do things differently here at Adelphi.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and I will be sure to pass them onto the team.

Kind regards,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for one night recently whilst attending Good Food & Wine festival. Great experience. Staff and customer service excellent and all enquiries quickly sorted. Loved the dinner Saturday night especially the masterfully created desserts. Roof top pool was lovely. Took the sweets etc home for grandchildren. They could not believe you could stay somewhere and have a sweet jar!. Only issue was a dispute from laneway which woke us late in evening. Adelphi was a great experience for us "oldies" and a good location to access Melbourne. Also appreciated parking next door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Heather & Nick,

Thank you for sharing your enjoyable stay with those on this site and also us here at Adelphi. We love hearing how much our guests enjoy visiting. Good Food & Wine is a great time of year in Melbourne and ties in very well with our dessert themed hotel.

Hopefully you got to enjoy some sweets yourself and they didn't all go to the grand kids.

See you again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at the Adelphi - the rooftop pool hanging over Flinders Lane is pretty iconic in Melbourne so we were thrilled to finally have a swim and see cars driving by underneath us. Very cool!
The hotel looks brand new with its refurbishment, the rooms are quirky and fun - super comfortable beds, a mini-bar stocked with free soft drink, water and juice, and free lollies everywhere.
The staff went out of their way to help us and were really really lovely - we felt very spoilt.
For anyone not from Melbourne, the location is perfect on Flinders Lane, close to many of the top restaurants and in walking distance to most of the CBD, Southbank and sports arenas.
The dessert bar is awesome too - especially the cocktails.

Room Tip: Ask about quieter rooms - laneway can be a bit noisy early in the morning.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Stu_Melb,

Great to read that you absolutely loved your stay at Adelphi. The pool is pretty special and will only improve with the upcoming renovation. The mini-bar will be improving also with us about to switch over to an exclusive Happy Lab collection. As if we couldn't get any sweeter :)

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team also. Although they tend to read the reviews before I get a chance. They are a very eager bunch.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and thank you for sharing your stay,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,368 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,731 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £144 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel is a small hotel that presents an enticing palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and Liquorice All-Sort stools are merely the entree. Discover 34 sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, an intimate & striking lobby space and a magnificent 12 seater private dining/ Boardroom space. Adelphi is (literally) topped off by it's iconic rooftop Pool and Deck area - with it's over-hanging glass bottomed pool. And guests can be wowed by all on offer at famous Om Nom Kitchen. Attached to Adelphi, you'll find Mon Bijou event space and the award winning Ezard restaurant, located in the basement level. A step away from bustling city streets, enjoy the sensation of escape. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Taste the unique offerings. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing