We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little funky hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little funky hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here for work and was very impressed. I stay alot in Melbourne for work and mostly at the big hotels - this was a great experience. LOVED the lollies and the great decore. The service was impeccable and I thought it represented good value. Will definately try to stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear antenay,

Sounds as though you have found a new home when travelling for business. We would love to welcome you to Adelphi regularly as it seems our little hotel is a great fit for you.

Please call us direct when you are next visiting Melbourne and our team will ensure you are comfortable.

Thank you for sharing your 'first' visit. See you again soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    154
    56
    12
    10
See reviews for
93
434
41
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I needed a treat before facing major dental surgery the next day and the Adelphi came up trumps on all scores. The complimentary welcome drink in the bar with an antipasto started the evening off perfectly.The comfy king room was spacious and tres groovy, the breakfast delicious and the staff attentive and genuine. Special thanks to Ricky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scw1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi Scw1159,

Nothing like a sweet, dessert themed hotel just prior to major dental surgery. I hope you were able to somewhat resist the sugary treats. Thanks for great feedback on the service you received. I will be sure to recognize Ricky and the team for his efforts.

Hope the surgery went well and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This week I had my second stay at the Adelphi Hotel - the first in January for the tennis and this week for work. The service was great both times, friendly, helpful and professional. The room was perfect, beds great, only desire would be tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms for my first morning hit. The pool in January was a big hit with my son and so were all the lollies! It's like entering a magical world - a bit Alice in Wonderland… will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DionB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi DionB90,

It was great to see you at Adelphi again and thank you for choosing us as your home away from home when in Melbourne. We love seeing so many of our guests regularly. I know one particular member of the team was very happy to see you back in 'Wonderland' and you just may find those tea and coffee making facilities in your room next time you visit :)

Thanks for sharing your stay and have a great Easter,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on the reviews which are outstanding. However on checkin I was a bit dissapointed. I booked for 4 nights from wed to sunday. It is true to say that the staff are very very nice, very welcoming and very sweet, no pun intended. As you enter the lobby, there is quite a sweet smell revelation; which im sure it is meant to engage our sense, from the the dessert restaurant Om Nom, but this was too much for me. Im enering a hotel and not a chocolat and sweet factory! The rooms are ok, quite big which is nice vor a longer stay, but there is plenty of little details that made me lean to think that refirbishment should now be planned by the corporate body of this industrial contemporary little hotel. As an exemple, the air conditioning was 'way' to noisy to leave on during the night and the carpet; nice design but in real need for a deep dry clean!. The Adelphi Hotel has had a great idea, has a great service, and has a well worth a try fantastic restaurant but for the money there is better quality hotel closeby. y clean! t

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank eva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear eva b,

Thank you for sharing your views on your recent stay. While it is clear that we hit the mark in many ways it is also apparent that some of the unique qualities of the new Adelphi were not to your liking. As a newly opened hotel sites such as this are so important for making those little tweaks in our service delivery to find the right balance for both the business and leisure traveller. Your very constructive feedback will help us greatly in this regard. One of our very attentive Duty Managers can recall your visit and the air conditioning unit in your room is being assessed to help guarantee a peaceful nights sleep for future visitors (one of which we hope to be yourself :)). We spend a lot of time keeping our carpets clean but yes, they take a considerable amount of care.

I very much hope that the service you received whilst with us can sway you towards choosing Adelphi again in the future. It would be great to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A small hotel - but fantastic service, and the recent renovations are amazing. The pool area is great, and they encourage you to have guests to visit which is a nice change. The pool area is also going to be done up before the next summer. Great location - close to trendy restaurants, and bars!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesspo_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi jesspo_hall,

Your guests are our guests and we look to provide for you what best makes your stay enjoyable. I to have stayed at hotels that make it hard to see your friends at times and that is not what we are about here at Adelphi. We like to do things a bit different and with you in mind.

It's great that you appreciated the little differences.

Thanks for taking the time,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

we stayed at the Adelphi for three nights from March 31st , from the moment we arrived we had the most lovely welcome, and it just continued to delight!, such a lovely personal hotel, the staff were all exceptional and so very helpful and friendly. Adelphi is in a perfect location, in the nice end of town, the room was a great size and the amenities and sweets were a bonus, I would go back any time !!
Thanks to all the staff for a perfect few days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear judy5757,

What a joy is is to read your great feedback on a perfect few days driven by the service of the team here at Adelphi. They very much are our point of difference with other hotels and without them we don't succeed. Every hotel has comfortable beds and a nice hot breakfast but none have our team.

You would come back anytime and we will welcome you everytime.

Thanks for sharing your stay,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights last Sunday and we had a wonderful stay. The hotel is beautiful decorated and it's situated in a fantastic location. We were very lucky to have an upgrade to the Flinders king. I was a bit worry about the noise, but the room was very peaceful with plenty of natural light. The room is very spacious. You also can enjoy an exquisite selection of gourmet lollies. The lollies are all complimentary!

Also we tried the dessert bar and it was delicious.

Good food, good service and a beautiful place!
Thank you very much for having us we definitely will come back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Julian R,

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience here at Adelphi. The Flinders King really is a fantastic room. The extra space and the natural light are quite something and for a multiple night stay such as yours the room really is perfect. Many feel that with such a central location that noise may become any issue but even with a room such as the Flinders King with it's Flinders Lane exposure, the impact is minimal.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you when you return.

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing