We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adelphi Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveller rating
968
227
71
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
968
227
71
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflinders lanefree moviesrooftop poolcomplimentary mini bardessert barcomfy kingwelcome messagefree lollieslolly jarwelcome drinkgreat boutiquefunky hotelon arrivalchin chinlittle touchesturn down serviceperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,133 - 1,138 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I found the Adelphi Hotel a wonderful experience Staff are very attentive and delightful. Food mini list and very tasty All u can eat sweets in the mini bar not great 4 the waist but a wonderful treat at the end of the day. close to restaurants and CBD shopping High recommend except for the elderly the stairs at the entrance are steep and there appears to be not alternative

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side exposed to noise from garbage pickup
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elle045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2015

Hi Elle045,

Thank you for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our first stay at Adelphi Hotel and very happy with the overall experience. Great value for money, excellent service that is personal and a quirky hotel on top of all that!

The best part is you don't feel like one of the mass crowd at a large hotel and the little things they include (snacks in room and soft drinks) make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wingz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Hi Wingz64,

Thanks for choosing to stay at Adelphi and it is great to hear you had an enjoyable experience. We strive to do the little things well in our little hotel and it great that these were appreciated.

Hope to see to again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a girls weekend away and stayed for 2 nights, the staff where so friendly, helpful! Such a funky place to stay, and its all the little surprises and comforts they provide for you that makes Adelphi such a wonderful place. Can't recommend it highly enough :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nikkiq83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Hi nikkiq83,

Wow. Best hotel you've ever stayed at! That is some amazing praise and I can't say thank you enough. Hotels can be a tough game at times but it is words such as yours that make it all worthwhile.

See you again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night weekend stay at the Adelphi. The hotel has a modern funky vibe and the young staff are very friendly, capable, professional and willing to help. The attention to detail was great...Someone has clearly thought a lot about the finer details that make for a hotel experience that is just that little bit different from a normal hotel. I particularly liked the option to forego a daily change of linen. In most hotels the claim that we'll be helping the environment comes across as cynical when it's clear that their motivation is to save on costs. At the Adelphi you're given the option of choosing a charity to receive at least part of the savings benefit. A really nice touch. As are the free welcome cocktails, the lolly jar, and the included movies.

The location is great. Close to Swanston St and Flinders St Station, A short walk to the theatres (we were there to see Les Mis at Her Majestys) and great restaurants such as Prix Fixe, MoVida, Coda and Chin Chin are very close. It's an ideal location for a walking tour of all that the Melbourne CBD has to offer.

The downside of the location is that the hotel is noisy especially on Saturday nights. This didn't worry us particularly, but those who like peace and quiet should look elsewhere. Also the hotel plumbing is a bit noisy. On Sunday morning I woke to the sound of what sounded like someone in another room having a long shower, I eventually worked out that it was the sound of the rooftop pool being refilled 6 levels above us.

Which leads me to the pool which was a particular treat for me and probably the reason I chose the hotel. I have wanted to swim in this pool, the end of which is cantilevered over Flinders Lane with a glass bottom, ever since I heard of it many years ago. So it was a thrill to finally get the chance to swim a few laps in it even though it was the middle of winter. The pool is heated thankfully.

Unfortunately, we didn't get to try the deserts at Om Nom but the breakfast was terrific. Would happily return. I

Room Tip: To reduce the impact of street noise I'd ask for a room on one of the upper levels and further back from the street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Dear pahSydney,

Thank you for your review and I particularly like your mention of us being 'that little bit different from a normal hotel'. It is a very big part of our thinking. We are also aware of the responsibility we have to look after the city and the world around us. As a 24hour operation we need to be particularly vigilant in regards to our environmental impact. One little change in process can make a big difference. And we like to involve our guests in this.

I'm glad the inner city location was both a big plus for you and also that it did not impact on your rest. It is a bit of a catch 22 but we certainly look to do what we can to minimize the noise and are always looking for ways to improve the impact this has on very important guests.

Thanks again and come back soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We got married in Melbourne on a beautiful weekend in May and stayed in the Adelphi, along with many of our international guests. The team did a great job of dealing with all our requests - from storing rented morning suits, handing out welcome packs to all and sundry (including some people that weren't even staying in the hotel!), giving access to tailors and the random procession of family that trooped past and even helping the florist putting the bridesmaids' bouquets back together 5 mins before we were due to get to the church!

We stayed in the suite and it was both a fantastic space to get ready for the wedding and a great place to hang out in the days before and after. Bathroom products are great and it's nice to be in a hotel that's so centrally located but not too corporate. The pool area wasn't looking in great shape but I understand this is being renovated soon so I imagine this problem will soon go away.

Thanks to Lance and the team - we had a magical weekend and would definitely recommend to people needing a "home base" for a CBD wedding with lots of guests from out of town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Dear SuzanneCu,

Being such a small and intimate little property we love wedding groups as it feels at times like you have the whole hotel and that we really are part of your special day. It's hard not to get caught up in the excitement at times. It was a lot of fun in the planning before your stay and was great having you all (and there was a lot of you :)) here.

See you again for that anniversary number one if you are able to make it home for the special occasion.

Thanks for sharing,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews