We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute GEM”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute GEM”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Adlephi is an absolute gem in a perfect city location. The service was impeccable without being over the top and smothering. We stayed on a rare quiet night and were fortunate enough to be upgraded to Flinders Plush room. which was a lovely birthday treat. The rooms I can best describe as " quirky sophisication", the free wifi was a bonus and the bathrooms were spacious with luxurous Appelles ammenities. Maybe the views are not as great as the big 5star hotels around the city and The Adelphi's uniqeness well and truley makes up for that. We also had the pleasure of dining in On Nom which was absolutely delightful. The desserts were stunning visual creations and of course absolutely delicious (worth every cent). We come from a hotel background and are very fussy with our hotels......we would definitely stay at The Adelphi again! In the words of one of our dinner guests; "This place is a ripper!"

Room Tip: Flinders Plush rooms have a lot more natural light and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leesoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Dear leesoc,

"Your review is a ripper"
Thank you so much. It is great to hear such kind words, especially from fellow hoteliers.I may use 'quirky sophistication' myself in describing the Adelphi experience. It seems quite apt and is certainly what we are striving for.

Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    183
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
119
529
49
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. The Adelphi went beyond what most hotels do in terms offering an experience that was all for me, the customer!
From the moment we walked into the trendy reception greeted by a lovely and very professional receptionist; Hailey, who made us feel at ease straight away. This was a last minute booking through wotif and sometimes there is a little attitude from reception staff when bookings come through from a 'discount website'. Hailey was friendly and personable, after we were given a welcome drink (prem wine & beer) she guided us up to our room and took us through all the features which included a free mini bar and candy station.
After shopping in the city we came back to our room to find a beautiful hand written note on the mirror and macaroons by the bed...it's in the detail!
The shower amenities were beautiful Australian made quality products that left the skin feeling fresh, free new release films were on offer and the breakfast along with the breakfast staff were exceptional. This is definitely a new discovery for us with the location in the best part of the CBD we will be returning on a regular basis.
Thank you Adelphi for a memorable & wonderful stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wingsonmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Dear wingsonmyfeet,

Thank you for your great review and I am so proud that the team made you feel so special and provided you with such a unique experience. The only real opportunity you have in this hotel game to set yourself apart is the service you deliver and the whole team make a real effort at delivering something memorable. Small hotels present you with a great opportunity to personalise things and executing this is the most important part of the Adelphi experience.

We are looking forward to seeing you regularly,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I love everything about this hotel, staff, atmosphere in the reception and restaurant, the fact that the restaurant is actually popular with locals and not over priced, rooms are recently renovated and are large, well thought out and beautifully furnished. Oh and the separate large bathroom with super smooth stainless steel fit out. Love it. And all the little touches just make it a great experience... Complimentary wine on arrival, internet, everything in the minibar and gourmet sweets jar are complimentary too (not the alcohol you booze hounds!!). Even a little note on the mirror to welcome you was a nice touch.

All the staff including the hotel manager could make you feel more welcome and accommodated whatever you need.

And here's the but... You're in the middle of a busy Melbourne CBD and the noise throughout the night can be a bit annoying. Bring your earplugs and woosh, noise be gone. This is only a real problem if you're working and need a full night's sleep. For the holiday party makers this won't be such a problem!

I'll be back for sure next time in Melbs. Thanks, Adelphi.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank whenareyoucominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Hi whenareyoucomi...,

Thanks for the wonderful review of your stay at Adelphi. Our uniqueness seems to have hit the spot with you. Our central location does present a few challenges in regards to noise but we are working all the time at managing this.

It's great to know that we have the other boxes ticked.

See you again soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Came back to stay here after a few months ago not getting much sleep due to noise issues. The manager of the hotel kindly contacted me to inform me of works they had undertakend to rectify this.
Once agan the staff are fantastic, they are always there when you need them, never incroaching and provide fantastic service. I am allso happy to report that the works they have undertaken have taken nothing away from the feel of the hotel, and have recitified the noise issue. This is an inner city hoterl so close to everything....I will definitely be back to the Adelphi..Thankyou

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJungleCat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Hi BigJungleCat C,

Sorry for my delayed reply and thank you so much for returning to Adelphi and sharing your experience. Fantastic to read that our noise improvements have made a difference and that the hotel hasn't lost any of it's charm.

Please be sure to contact me direct when you are next in town. You will always have a place at our little hotel.

Thanks again,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There are a number of small hotels in Melbourne tucked into corners off the little lanes in the CBD and we have now stayed at two of them. This one is on Flinders Lane, narrow entrance door up a few steps and into a long narrow but beautifully lit reception area with small bar and snacks area at the rear. Check out the life-size wire horse and cart! No big hotel lobby feel and rather quirky, delightful little place. Looks as if it might have been originally an office block, but extremely well converted. Very friendly staff, lovely rooms, a mite cold perhaps, even with central heating on full blast, lap pool on the roof (too cold in August), restaurant down below the road accessed from the entrance. Not sure it is part of the hotel, but very handy. Non-alcoholic bar in the room and container of delicious candies, all free. Coffee and tea trays available on request. Free WiFi. The hotel describes itself as the world's first dessert-inspired hotel and the treats and friandises available in the room and at the bar are enticing. Altogether a really lucky find.

Room Tip: Rooms face old commercial building that seems unoccupied, across a service lane, but that hardly mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Dear Rocmimi,

So glad you found us. It is easy to miss the little guys in amongst the big CBD hotels but we are there if you look hard enough :). Sound like you are due for a summer visit so you can jump in the pool. Would be great to see you all back.

Thanks for sharing,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a girls weekend away, the staff were fantastic and made us feel very welcome. The location was perfect for our shopping extravaganza, also loved the special sweet treats too. I will definitely recommend the hotel and will come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Dear Caroline W,

It is great to read that yourself and the girls had a great time at Adelphi and in Melbourne. Thank you for sharing the word and come back soon,

Take care,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I found the Adelphi Hotel a wonderful experience Staff are very attentive and delightful. Food mini list and very tasty All u can eat sweets in the mini bar not great 4 the waist but a wonderful treat at the end of the day. close to restaurants and CBD shopping High recommend except for the elderly the stairs at the entrance are steep and there appears to be not alternative

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side exposed to noise from garbage pickup
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Hi Elle045,

Thank you for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,473 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,649 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#4 of 160 in Melbourne
441 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar. Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing