We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in the CBD”
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #37 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable stay in the CBD”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at Crossley Hotel as a pre-selected hotel as part of a promotion. Staff were very accommodating, no problems at all when checking in. Quite a walk from the bus terminal, but once you're settled in the hotel, its easy to roam around the CBD. Very accessible for public transport. The area felt safe and we didn't have any problems in terms of noise at night. We always joke around the lift being super fast when you press the button to call it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySeuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sallyseuss,

Thank you for writing a review on the Crossley Hotel.

I’m exceptionally pleased that you found the staff accommodating and you had no difficulties during your stay.

You’re undoubtedly right the hotel is in an accessible location close to all major public transport in Melbourne.

Thank you again for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    790
    192
    40
    21
See reviews for
383
643
160
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Great spot, on the edge of Chinatown and very handy to most things including the free city circle tram. Staff were great, always friendly and smiling. Free wifi which was a real bonus, and rooms comfy and modern. A surprise because it was so well priced.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear TheCorms,

Thank you for your recent review on the Crossley Hotel.

I truly appreciate your feedback regarding our staff, location and style of rooms.

It’s also rewarding to read that you found the hotel well priced, we try our hardest to offer the best competitive rates available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great location on the edge of Chinatown, relatively close to everything in Melbourne's CBD. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was fine, a little aged, but clean and functional. We had a great stay here and would recommend it considering the reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boonski55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Boonski,

Thank you for reviewing the Crossley Hotel.

We really appreciate your positive comments about our great location and service.
We appreciate that our rooms are a little aged, however we are currently undergoing a refurbishment, so maybe next time you stay with us, you might like to put in a request for one of our refurbished rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on you next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good hotel. Large rooms: even our standard room was huge with 2 double beds. The only downside was that the window of our room looked straight into the apartment opposite but I guess that is to be expected when staying in the city!. Helpful staff on reception. Rooms were clean with good bathrooms. We had free Wifi in our room. Situated in China town just off main shopping street. I would definitely stay here again. Good value for such a central location.

Room Tip: Even the standard room that we stayed in was huge with 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Cat S,

Thank you for your recent review.

It’s great to read you enjoyed the central location of the Crossley hotel and found it good value.

It also gives me tremendous satisfaction to read that the staff were friendly and that the rooms were clean, two important factors in a great hotel stay.

Thank you again for writing a review, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just back from a weekend in Melbourne and really enjoyed our stay here at the Crossley.

The reception staff are particularly helpful and we were able to check in early as our room was ready. The room we had (214) was lovely, spacious and comfortable with crisp white bedding and a spotless bathroom with lovely soft towels and plenty of toiletries. The room looked out onto Liverpool Street which we found a little noisy on a Saturday night, though not enough to spoil our stay.

We had an early breakfast on Sunday and we had been given a voucher upon check in which upgraded our breakfast from continental to full cooked. Nice, thanks.

Centrally located the Crossley is a hotel I can heartily recommend. Only one complaint, we could have done with another few days, there's so much to see and do in Melbourne!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayveecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Jayveecee,

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

It’s very rewarding to read that the staff were helpful and able to assist with an early check in on your arrival, and that you found the hotel centrally located.

I will also be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team in regards to the cleanliness of the room as they take a lot of pride in their work to ensure the highest standard of cleanliness is offered to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were a group of four ladies on a girls weekend. The hotel is very convenient to everything. We had two twin rooms and it was all very adequate for our needs, plenty of storage space for our suitcases, drawers and wardrobe. The bathroom was stocked with products and tea, coffee etc. Found it very noisy as there were lots of bars/restaurants in the vicinity - so there was no double glazing on the windows. Apparently we were on the quiet side so I would hate to be on the other side.

Staff were friendly and rooms were very clean. The only downside was on our very last day we had got reception to book our shuttle to the airport - door to door. Unfortunately they booked a different shuttle which took us to the depot where we had to get on another bus. This all took much longer and we were literally running for the plane - not good for the nerves!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Joanne1201,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Crossley hotel.

It’s wonderful to read that the rooms were clean and very adequate for your needs during your stay, and that you found the hotel staff friendly.

I do apologise that you found the room noisy I hope this did not cause too much disruption during your stay. It’s also disappointing to read about the issues you had with your airport shuttle, I will certainly share your email with the team to ensure this kind of confusion does not happen again.

Thank you again for writing a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Two children and two adults in a great room at the top level of the hotel. We had a great time!
Had everything we needed. The staff were so pleasant and even managed to keep us in the same room for another night as I had miscalculated our dates :-)
Close to shops, restaurants, trams...
We will certainly return and hopefully soon.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anaestasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Anaestasia,

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay.

I'm glad the location of the Crossley Hotel was ideal for your needs. It is certainly well placed for shopping, public transport and close proximity to many of Melbourne's iconic eating establishments.

We undoubtedly look forward to your return to the Crossley Hotel.

Thank you again for writing a review.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,071 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#76 of 160 in Melbourne
2,187 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Property: The Crossley Hotel
Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing