We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the experience”
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #35 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy with the experience”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I booked a superior room and were happy with our choice.The location was conveniently close to the CBD and Chinatown,service was friendly and helpful at all times.The huge king size bed could do with a firmer base,which is our personal preference.We would consider a return visit when next in Melbourne.If I was to suggest one improvement it would be to add some kind of ramp at the front steps for less nimble guests and their luggage.

Room Tip: The Superior room has kitchen facilities which we always find useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khkunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear khkunkel,

Thank you for your review on the Crossley Hotel.

It’s wonderful to read you and your wife were happy with the location and service you received during your stay. I appreciate your comments in regards to a ramp at the front of the hotel, we will certainly keep this in mind when we plan a refurbishment, however I do hope our staff were able to assist you with your bags.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    758
    186
    40
    21
See reviews for
356
617
154
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Halloran Hill/Adelaide
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Crossley from February 18th to 20th in one of their triple share rooms. We were on the sixth floor sadly a view of the wall next door. The room and bathroom was very clean, small but well appointed. The staff were all friendly and willing to help.The hotel is probably looking a little tired especially reception, But it's centrally located to most things in the city centre,trams and close to Chinatown where we had some great meals. Would highly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandBeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear BillandBeryl,

Thank you for reviewing the Crossley Hotel.

The Crossley team and I are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to read that you enjoyed not only the central location of the hotel but found our team to be friendly and willing to help with any requests.

I appreciate your comments in regards to the hotel looking tired, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and have taken your comments into consideration.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I booked an overnight stay for business through hotels.com and paid in full. I arrived to checkin just after midnight and the night manager was unfriendly. I had to provide a credit card (which is usual practice) but what they do is process a $100 payment on the spot and then refund it 4 days later!! Most hotels take an imprint of the credit card and won't process any payment unless you've ripped off the minibar or trashed the room.

This is a bit much! Potentially you have to pay $100 if you receive your statement before the refund. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear GirlTwin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I apologise if the pre-authorisation procedure was not explained to you clearly upon your check-in. It is normal Hotel practice to take a security deposit in the form of a pre-authorisation, at no time does the money actually leave your account, the money is simply frozen within your account. Your credit card provider will reserve this amount under guarantee to the hotel, which can some times take several working days for them to release, unfortunately the hotel has no control over the timing of this matter. I do hope this clarifies any concerns you have in regards to our pre-authorisation procedure.

Thank you again for writing a review.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband and I just stayed at this facility which is very centrally located, clean and the room
we had was very self facilitated.
The staff were very helpful, friendly and most of all Sheri was so accomodating
in finding a room suitable to our needs.

Room Tip: If you are going on an off peak period, the superior king room with self contained facilities highl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpsteinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear EpsteinAustralia,

Thank you for your recent review on the Crossley Hotel.

It’s wonderful to read reviews such as yours. Thank you for highlighting our lovely clean rooms and the central location of the hotel. It’s great to read Sherri was able to assist you in accommodating to your needs during your stay, I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to Sherri and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Being at the top of Little Bourke Street The Crossley is ideally located for Theatre goers. Dining choices abound with Gingerboy in the lane next door & China town just down the street. Rooms are spacious & tastefully decorated & beautifully appointed with convenient kitchen/dining area, bright, clean bathroom, cosy lounge & very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Loveindo,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review.

I am so pleased to read you enjoyed the spectacular location; our location is most suitable for theater goers, convenient for public transport and the lovely eateries Melbourne has to offer.
Thank you for highlighting our lovely spacious clean rooms, I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel or your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Crossley, it is in a great location for looking round the city. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, the bathroom was looking a bit old but clean. Big screen tv with free movies. We did not sleep very well, bed was rock hard, also very early in morning the sound of bins being emptied and truck pulling up. The morning we left it was raining we had to pick up a hire car from city. We asked them to call a taxi for us which they did but was told it would not come, so we had to walk to a taxi ramp down the street and round the corner which is not to far but a bit of a pain with your luggage and the rain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Simcart,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at the Crossley Hotel.

It’s pleasing to read you found our team friendly and helpful and I’m glad you made use of the free WIFI and free in-house movies.

Apologies for any disturbance to your sleep, we are in the process of discussing the waste removal issue with the local council. I was also disappointed to read you did not find the mattress on the bed comfortable, as we regularly receive reviews highlighting how comfortable our beds are. I do hope you advised Reception of this issue, so we could have our Housekeeping team look into this immediately.

Thank you again for writing a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Crossley for two nights. I've been to Melbourne many times and think this is a well priced option in a good location, but there are a few things that need attention.

The hotel is at the quiet end of Little Bourke St (Chinatown) and a short walk to Parliament Station and the main shops on Bourke St. It is a small hotel, which I like. The staff were helpful too.

Our room was a good size and was a corner room overlooking the street. The decor is modern, with the exception of the bathrooms, which are a little dated. Also the bed was on its last legs and could do with replacing (noisy springs). There are all the usual amenities in the bathroom, snack boxes and mini bar.

My one big gripe is the standard of the house keeping. We used the cups to make tea on the first morning and returned to find none of our towels had been replaced and most unusually, the tea cups had apparently been washed and were laid out on a used hand towel to dry! We've never experienced anything like it. I realise that a lot of hotels now provide an "eco-clean" option, where the towels are not replaced, but this is always optional. If this is standard practice at the Crossley, there should be a sign advising this and proper towel rails should be provided to hang the towels to dry.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaqueDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear RaqueDD,

Thank you for your recent review on the Crossley hotel.

It’s fantastic to read you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, found the staff to be helpful and the accommodation well priced. I appreciate your comments in regards to the housekeeping standards, rest assured your comments have already been passed on to the housekeeping manager; he will brief his staff on standards at their next training session.

Thank you again for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#76 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Property: The Crossley Hotel
Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing