We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation”
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #37 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Benalla, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Everything met our expectations. Staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Facilities were great and rooms were very clean and lacked nothing. Perfect location for theatre and restaurants.
Will definitely stay here again on next trip to Melbourne.

Ros & Graham

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Ros & Graham,

Thank you for your fantastic 5/5 review.

It’s great to read that the Crossley team were extremely helpful and able to assist on your recent stay whilst in Melbourne.

Thank you for also highlighting the cleanliness of our rooms I will be sure to pass on your kind comments onto our front desk and housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    792
    194
    40
    23
See reviews for
386
647
160
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very happy with standard of hotel, very good value for money, very central to all restaurants bars
transport and shopping.
Staff very helpful and friendly, my room had been recently renovated as was the general appearance of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Facebook962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Facebook962,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Crossley Hotel.

You’re certainly right the hotel is in a central location, close by to all that Melbourne has to offer. Thank you for highlighting the refurbished décor of the hotel and our friendly and helpful team, I will be sure to pass on your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst in Melbourne for business. Staff were very friendly ad helpful. Special room rate included valet parking and breakfast - very good value all up. Room was very clean and facilities well kept. Great location! Decent heating in the room that was easy to use was much appreciated! There was a little bit of noise from the street at night (at times), but not much, and not enough to disturb sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amongstthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear amongstthehills,

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

We are delighted to hear of your experience at The Crossley Hotel and thank you for your kind comments in relation to our friendly team, cleanliness of the hotel and our great facilities.

We hope to welcome you back to the Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Crossley Hotel for a few days to experience Melbourne. We had a room on the third floor. No balcony, which I personally think is a minus. The room, however, was in great condition. Clean. Great beds! Good air con. A classic hotel room, basically. It's definitely worth the money. Friendly staff. I have no complaints. We didn't have breakfast included so I can't comment on the food. Very good location in Melbourne for holidays and sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesterdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Jesterdej,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Crossley Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your recent visit to Melbourne.Thank you for your comments in regards to our great beds, cleanliness of the rooms and finding the hotel value for money. Unfortunately we don’t have balconies in our standard or superior rooms; however our 1 & 2 bedroom apartments do have balconies, perhaps next time you might like to stay in one of our apartments.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at the Crossley Hotel on Sunday night, great service at the Reception Desk when I added an extra person to the booking prior to checking in, no trouble at all for the staff, checked in later that day with no issues, room was spacious for 3 people, everything we required was available in the room, staff were prompt when an issue with a desk lamp was mentioned and fixed immediately, beds comfy, breakfast was value for money, highly recommend, check out was completed with no issues. Overall a great hotel to stay, will certainly stay here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Kim W,

Thank you for your glowing 5/5 review.

It’s always satisfying to read reviews such as yours, we are delighted to hear of your experience at the Crossley Hotel and thank you for your kind words in relation to our team.
I’m also pleased you found our extensive continental breakfast value for money.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, WA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

You can walk to just about anywhere from this hotel. It's comfortable but be prepared: the rooms are very small. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. I would go there again, but my husband and daughter thought the rooms were way too small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Bbwink,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Crossley Hotel.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with our location, being in the heart of the CBD, close to everything Melbourne City has to offer. Perhaps next time you stay, you may like to request one of our spacious superior rooms or 2 bedroom apartments.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane,
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days and were very happy with our stay.
We stayed in a superior room and I had seen on Tripadvisor that some rooms had been recently refurbished and I believe we did get one.
It was a very spacious room with everything you would need. Including a mini fridge, microwave, kitchen sink, cuterly and crockery.
As people have previously mentioned, the bathroom isn't the best looking but there is heaps of bench space, it's not too cramped, it's clean and everything works fine so no complaints from me!
We were on the 5th floor so we weren't bothered by any noise at all. Although, I could hear everything outside in the hallway when there was someone there.... made me wonder if it was the other way around too....

Oh and they were renovating the restaurant during our stay (but still served continental breakfast) so unfortunatley, I can't comment on that part of the hotel.

One thing that was slightly bothersome; no cable TV. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed in in my life that didn't have cable. All they had was 4x movie channels...which I guess is ok if you plan to stay in between 10am-5pm (the only times that the movies are on) but we were always out between those times so we just had free to air TV. I mean, to be honest, it wasn't a huge problem, we were always so tuckered out after a long day of exploring Melbourne that we only ever watched a tiny bit of tv before bed but you know, it's always an extra bonus I look forward to when styaing in a hotel that I get to watch a little cable tv haha

But really, that was my only gripe with the place (if you can even call it a gripe) but everything else about our stay was perfect! No problems with service and it's within walking distance of almost everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room (while these renos are happening) and if you're a light sleeper, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mello_Rowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Mello_ Rowe,

Thank you for your great review.

I am pleased to read that you found our rooms perfectly equipped and spacious during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we do not have Foxtel available, but as you mentioned we do offer free in house movies that run 24 / 7 as well as all the free to air channels. We have now completed our Breakfast room renovations; perhaps next time you stay you might like to try our new continental buffet breakfast.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next stay in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,072 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
2,194 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Property: The Crossley Hotel
Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing