We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #81 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Central”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights for my Son's 10th Birthday, went to the Australian Open and saw Greace the Musical at Her Majesty's Theatre. Great Location, thought being so central it would be noisy but it wasn't. Checking in was easy and fast, because it was my son's bday we were given chocolates, biscuits and a bottle of wine (for the adults not the 10yr old), thankyou Nikita for making my son feel very special, very friendly girl! Checking out was also very quick and the concierge were so helpful with my bags. We parked our car at the Wilson Parking in Russell st, and with the hotel scanning our parking ticket it only cost $15 per 24 hours.The room was not very big (with 2 double size beds) but comfortable enough. A little old, especially the bathroom (could do with an update). Would choose to stay again ..... BTW didn't use the pool due to running out of time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Elle2461,

Thank you for your review & delighted to hear that you and uyour family enjoyed your stay with us.

Nikita is indeed one of our star performers and I am glad to hear that Nikita made your son feel very special on her birthday.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    1,145
    482
    108
    60
See reviews for
634
806
240
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Excellent central location , reception was very efficient on arrival but went downhill from there. Maybe not their fault that they were left to give out information because concierge was regularly absent. It is however better to give no information than erroneous information.
Room on 13th floor and whilst it was a little tired it was adequate and very quiet. Housekeeping was spot on. Breakfast was always very busy, cooked left a bit to be desired but there are plenty of alternatives. Cocoon was a wonderful oasis of peace and quiet in a very busy hotel.
The only downside to this hotel is the exceptionally poor quality of Wi Fi. The cost is $15 per day but it is so slow you need a day to download a few emails.
This appears to have been regular omission at all the hotels that we have visited in Australia on this trip. A lot of catching up to here.

Room Tip: Only stayed this one time for three nights. Had a room on the 13th floor that was adequate and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas44_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Thomas44_14,

It is always pleasing to read reviews from Top Contributors such as yourself.

Like you said, it is a very busy and unfrotunately there are times where our Concierge has to leave the desk unattended while looking after our guests, however our Reception & Porters should be able to assist you with any queries in their absence.

I have forwarded your concerns & compliments to relevant Department Heads for their perusal.

Thank you again for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Swanston Hotel for three nights. The check in, and concierge service, as well as all of the front desk people were top notch. The room was a little old, the bathroom door would not stay open, and the walls were very thin. We could hear our neighbors conversations. The street noise from our room was a little obnoxious, especially the evening when we had to check out early and there was a street band.
This hotel is centrally located and in walking distance of most of the sights of Melbourne. The trolley and tram are located close as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldederer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Idederer,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I have passed on your feedback to our Maintenance Manager for his attention. Regarding the busker's noise from the street, should you have advised our Duty Manager, we would have been able to ask them to move further away from the hotel.

Indeed, the location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay, with all the major tourist attractions, transports & shopping at your doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have stayed here several times on business due to the central location and easy access to public transport. While staff are pleasant and helpful it would be nice to acknowledge return visitors. Every visit is treated as though it is my first, which is disappointing. While the rooms have been refurbished in recent times, the last room I stayed in had what looked like the original plumbing from the 1980s when the building was constructed. However, if you don't mind standing in a yellowing bath tub to shower this won't be a problem. Breakfast is good value at $18 for a buffet. Not sure whether I will stay here again as the hotel appears to be unable to match some of the bargains that are often offered by high quality hotels in the city. The other disincentive is the lack of free wifi. Hotels need to realise that this is an essential service that is highly valued by this traveller.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear ParaBill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent expereinece with us. Your valid feedbacks have been addressed to both our Reservations and Front Office Managers for their perusal. We are in the process of negotiating the possibility of providing complimentary WiFi to our guests with our supplier, and hopefully this can be done in the near future.

Once again, our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused & hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
4,108 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing