We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Size Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #82 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Reasonable Size Rooms”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Traveled to Melbourne for a business trip and wanted a central room so we could easily get to most addresses in the city. This hotel was in a great location and even though in the middle of the city the rooms were really quiet, we read that it was only a 3 star hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised.

We ended up with a family room, which was massive with two queen beds. The bathroom was a little tired, but very functional and we had no issues at all. It had all the amenities required for our trip including a good size desk to work from.

There was a really nice bar area in the hotel, with a good meal selection as well as a cafe on the ground floor with good coffee.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The family rooms were big with 2 queens and room for at least another trundle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear AustraliaPaz,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Contributor.
We're pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

WE look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    1,151
    491
    110
    61
See reviews for
639
816
241
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel is clean and room comes with two double bed. Just nice and spacious with two children.
I can walk to china town for tim sum and Target for shopping easily. To wlak to Federation Sq is abt 15min.

My kids loved the breakfast buffet too though selection is not wide but food is tasty. will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloyt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, General Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you and your family found our rooms both comfortable and well appointed for your needs.
With our location amongst the new retail hub of Melbourne, we certainly do enjoy a great base in order to experience everything the city has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, John Dickson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times because of the great location. Shopping and great cafés are just round the corner, restaurants and theatres are within walking distance and the Victoria Market an easy tram ride away. The rooms are clean and comfortable but we found price is a factor. Our last stay was from a mystery deal on Wotif and the room was on a lower floor and a little noisy. Previously we paid more and were on a higher floor in a nicer room. We found driving to this hotel difficult as you cannot pull up out the front and have to find your way up a very small lane.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mandy P,

Thank you for your review and indeed for your continuous patronage.
It's great you manage to explore the local neighbourhood when you stay with us.
I am sorry that read that you were having trouble in accessing the hotel. Yes it could be a little confusing for our guests, especially ones from interstate or overseas, in the future, please give our Porter department a call on 03 8662 1324 and we would be able to direct you accordingly.

I apologise for any inconveniences caused. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location right next to Bourke Street Mall, however the hotel itself is anything but 'grand'. The reception area is nothing fancy, and the rooms themselves, especially the bathroom, are in great need of a makeover. The bathrooms are disgraceful, and should be updated to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Rick L,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion and I apologise for any inconveniences caused.
We are certainly in process of planning a refurbishment in 2015.

Hopefully we can look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing