We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #83 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    1,151
    491
    110
    61
See reviews for
639
816
241
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Goondiwindi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for four nights. The room was more than adequate, clean and well appointed. The location is perfect with loads of brochures in the foyer with information about Melbourne. The only disappointment was the buffet breakfast on Saturday morning. Although it was very busy , it was very disorganised. The other mornings we ate out in one of the many cafes in the Melbourne laneways, which we intended to do anyway. We leave tomorrow and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot55Goondiwindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Margot55Goondiwindi,

Thank you for your time to provide a review.
I am very sorry to read that your what otherwise great stay is slightly marred due to your breakfast experience. Rest assured that I have personally addressed your feedback to both our Restaurant Manager & Executive Housekeeper for the ir perusal.

Enjoy the rest of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When visiting Melbourne and when not staying with family I always stay at this hotel, it's perfect for shopping with all the department stores just around the corner. Rooms are a very good size, restaurant very nice and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingin5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Gingin5356,

Thank you for always staying with us when travelling to town (when not staying with your family).

We are happy to read that it is not just our central location that keeps you coming back.
We certainly look forward to see you soon.

Kindest regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was a wonderful experience staying in this hotel. The staffs are very helpful. We arrived earlier and we were able to check in :) The location of this hotel is very strategic. It is very convenient. Restaurants and shopping malls are reachable within the walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Esther L,

Thank you for your kind words. I am absolutely thrilled to read that you had a wonderful experience in staying with us on your recent trip. Our location is fantastic and happy to learn that our team member was able to assist you with your early arrival.

WE look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The only reason I stay here is for its location. Its conveniently located to the Trams, taxis and all the Restaurants. Apart from its location, the hotel is pretty old. The toilet is getting worn out as well. Asking for anything in this hotel is a hassle. They charge for pretty much everything you ask for. WiFi in your room is a nightmare. Even after you purchase it for $20 their speed and usage is just so complicated. Asking for a late checkout is near to impossible. The most they give you is a noon check out which is a standard time around the world. However, their bed was really comfortable and thats what mattered alot !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahib A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sahib A,

Thank you for your recent patronage.
I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay but appreciate you mentioning our fantastic location and comfortable bed.
Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you for providing a review.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed in twin room with 2 double beds. It was clean and big enough for two comfortably. The shower/bath is a little old but still clean and big. The breakfast buffet was great and the bar was lovely. The staff were wonderful. Myer, Emporio, David Jones and H&M within a 3 minute walk. Trams in every direction at the front door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMarTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear KellyMarTown,

Thank you for your positive review and couldn't b ehappier to read that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us, and you made the most of our fantastic location to some of Melbourne's best shopping destinations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your your next shopping getaway.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the family room, the room was big with plenty of space for the kids. Room was clean, bath and walls could do with a revamp, but not a big deal.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Both The buffet breakfast and the room service for dinner were great.
We loved that the hotel is very central, right in the middle of town, very convenient. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bel131980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Bel131980,

Thanks for the great feedback.

We love having families in the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.

Our location is indeed fantastic, being right in the heart of the city with easy access to most attractions in & around Melbourne.

We look forward toi welcoming your family back to the hotel.

KInd regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing