We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Southern CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very good location for exploring CBD and beyond. Helpful front desk. Good value from what we compared. Nice to have the mini refrigerator and coffee/tea water jug plus the daily "gum nut" biscuits provided. Had dinner in the bar/restaurant one night- lots of good options

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travtips4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Travtip4us,

Thank you for your positive review.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.
We do hope to see you again on your next visit.


Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    1,664
    1,260
    404
    218
See reviews for
714
1,515
563
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently, and although in a great central location, the hotel itself is tired and is in need of a long overdue renovation, staff were polite and attentive, but hotel itself very average

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sblucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sblucher,

Thank you for your review.

We are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel and it is being done in stages.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our convenient location & found our team member to be polite & attentive.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully we can look forward to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
260 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Normally I always stay at Crowne plaza but this time I had to chose this hotel other major hotels were fully sold out. I made a mistake. I will never go back to this hotel again. Location is very good but that is the only thing. Everything else is below average. I asked for a king size bedroom but they gave gave me a room with there beds. No space to walk in the room. I told them also that I am alone and here for work so I don't need three beds in the room. They won't listen. Just kept insisting that the room is very good and higher category and they are giving me at a cheaper price, although I don't even need. However, the other thing, wifi is not free which is another minus point. When you go to your room, the walking passage is so small that two persons can not even pass each other. It looks like a one star guest house. Does not look like a Mercure standard hotel. Made a mistake by going there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your constructive review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we were not able to accommodate your requirements.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to relevant Department Heads for their perusal.

David, just to be fair, the Crowne Plaza is a 4.5 star hotel, and totally on a different level to Mercure Welcome Melbourne, being a 3.5 star property.

I know you have indicated that you will not stay again and for this I am sorry. If you wish to give us another opportunity, please do not hesitate to contact myself on H3028-GM02@accor.com if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing